4 star rating: Recommended 345 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Paris Rail Day Trip from London. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 345 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip! Sammy was the BEST guide ever and made the trip the great experience that it was!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

If you only have 1 day to spend in Paris, this is the way to do it. We were lucky to have Sammi as our guide. We didn't go up in the Eiffel tower, but we went to the Louvre instead and saw the Mona Lisa. Sammi was great and took it slow with us. I was 5 months pregnant and my mom has a bad knee. Tour group was nice and small, only 9 of us. So it was nice to get to know everyone and easy to stay in a group. I feel like this was definitely worth our money. We first boarded the bus and toured part of the city using the audio guide on the bus. After we dropped off the people doing the self guided day, we headed to the Eiffel tower and boarded the river cruise. River cruise was loud, but there were a lot of kids on board that day. After the cruise, we walked under the Eiffel tower to a restaurant a block over for lunch. Next we headed back to the bus and made our way to Notre Dame. We had about an hour inside to explore before we headed over to the lovers bridge for some pictures. From there, we walked to the Louvre and Sammi took the time to explain a lot about it. Once inside we had about an hour and 20 minutes. He showed us how to get to the Mona Lisa, if that's where we wanted to go. Or you could have gone anywhere you wanted. We stuck together as a group to see the Mona Lisa. Afterwards, we made our way on foot to the opera house where the bus would pick us up. We had a half hour or so to unwind in the Lindt chocolate shop and get a snack while we waited. Then the bus took us back to the train station. A few notes: we found our Evan Evans point of contact in St. Pancras station in front of the Group tours entrance at about 6:15 am London time. If you dno't see it, just ask an employee at the station. They can direct you there. Also, keep a water bottle on you and few snacks. You eat lunch in Paris, but you're likely to get hungry and thirsty again as the day goes on. But there was time to grab drinks and a snack before we boarded the train to head back to London.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I highly recommend this tour! It was fast paced and we saw a little of everything. Sammy was the best tour guide. He was very informative and very jovial.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to see our former tour guide, Sammy, greeting us again at the train terminal!
We booked this same tour two years ago and had a wonderful experience…Sammy did not disappoint !
He knew how to get us in without the long queue lines at the Eiffel Tower and never had to wait for a bus!
Our only disappointment was not knowing that the Louvre is closed on Tuesdays (when we happened to go)
Wish we knew that ahead of time. LOVE LOVE LOVE Sammy….ask for him!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was awesome! We were able to see a majority of Paris and all that we wanted to see in one day thanks to this trip and our amazing escort. Sammy was extremely accommodating and showed us all of the great Paris sites. He provided great info and insight on the history of Paris and recommendations on places to eat, see, etc. We always had a bus ready to take us to our next stop and very rarely had to wait in any lines. I would certainly recommend that anyone taking a day trip to Paris utilize the escorted tour and ask for Sammy!

Eleanor D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Well organised a great guide who knew what she was talking about at each of the attractions. Gave you a wonderful snapshot of Paris and only made you want to see more. I will definitely be back

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was much better than I expected. We got to see all of the things we really wanted to see, at least in the context of a quick one-day tour. Of course, we were fortunate that it was a "slow day" and there were only a few of us on our tour, so that probably made a difference - we probably would not have had the time to see all we did if the group had been large. Our tour guide, Sammy, was excellent - probably the only complaint is that he walked too fast (and I'm a very fast walker). So, we did the guided tour, and again it was great, but if I had it to do over again, I would probably do the self-paced unguided tour. I was afraid that doing the "hop-on, hop-off" bus would be too intimidating for a first visit to Paris, but in reality it isn't that complicated, and unless you are just someone that doesn't do well with that sort of thing, you can do the self-paced, hop-on, hop-off thing even on your first visit. One couple that was on the chunnel with us did the self-guided, and they actually walked the entire day from place to place - they never even rode the bus - and they saw almost everything we did - so things really aren't all that far apart in Paris. In any case, I would highly recommend Viator's tour. Oh - one last thing - we went during the week, and the instructions said departure was 6:15am and to arrive at St. Pancras at least 30 minutes before then (so, 5:45am). However, 6:15 is really about the time you should arrive at St. Pancras. The chunnel departure time was around 7:00am, so if you get to St. Pancras at 6:15am you will be there in plenty of time - our tour representative didn't even get there until probably 6:20. So we got up way too early!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful trip. But be prepared to stay on the move , by the end of the day we were pretty exhausted . We did get to see many of the major attractions in Paris , could never have done this in one day on our own !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Good way to see a lot in a little bit of time. Definitely worth the money. Our tour guide was good but our London guide was better. I would do the 2 day one at a minimum if I had it to do over again. All in all it was a good time and saw as did a lot. Got lucky with beautiful weather. Need a whole day to recover!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a great day. All went according to plan and very well organized.
Our guide was Sammy, who did an excellent job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour, most drivers very nice except a couple not so helpful. We enjoyed it nonetheless.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Sami was brilliant. If doing a short visit then would highly recommend it. Had family over from America who also thought it was wonderful. Everything is planned, the hop on buses just seem to arrive at the right time, we skipped the queues and Sami couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you Sami. Michele, daughters and American nieces.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was well-arranged. Great Rail trip - on-time. The tour guide was punctual and expected us to be punctual as well. As a result we were able to cover a lot in a day. It is a a day trip of course and from that perspective, we got the maximum out of it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A day to remember. The Eurostar train was great and the trip was enjoyable, comfortable and quick, so we arrived ready for a full day of sight seeing. We saw so much and our guide was informative and full of fun, and pointed us in the best direction. In one day we covered most main sights and it was great for my daughter who was having her first O/S experience. The return trip was relaxing and even though it was a long day, it was the best.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

If you have only 1 day to see Paris, this is the way to do it! Our guide packed so much into the short time we were there and that is what we were looking for. There is no way we could have seen and experienced everything that we did on our own.

From USD $ 264.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE034_037

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message