Insider's Guide to London

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 125 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Melissa M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

Gives a good overview of the sites of London. Good commentary and well organized.

Phatchara K Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

This tour was very good.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2006

Excellent tour guides. The guide at Westminster was fantastic. The setup for watching the Changing of the Guard was the best I have ever seen. This is a tour that should not be missed.

Astro

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

This tour started over an hour late due I think to bad weather. It was a bit haphazard. The guide was charming and witty but not very informative for someone interested in history and architecture as I am. We saw the changing of the guards from a distance and only just made it there on time. There was a lot of fast paced walking which was difficult for some members of the group. It gave me an idea of the proceedings but next time I would organise to get there myself and not bother joining a tour.

OON HIN G

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Action too fast so could not follow everything. Fortunately got good spot with the help of tour guide.Managed to see the main changing of the guard as the marching slowed down directly in front of us.

Jacqueline W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Unfortunately the tour information doesn't mention that the changing of the guard only happens every other day. We also had some terrible, typical English weather and it was bucketing rain so in and out of the bus was a little hit and miss. They did still do the horse guards change and we managed to catch some of that from a sheltered position.

Nuala G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Good day out. However, the changing of the guards did not take place that particular day and so we watched the horses. This rout is covered by the big bus tour which is a much cheaper way of seeing places included in this tour. Otherwise, a good tour.

stephanie t

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I was expecting to be up near the Palace, peering thru the bars whilst the bands and guards marched around as it was in 1970. Being on the edge of the Mall with elbows in front of my camera was not good. Plus it was so bloody hot !!! Not your fault.

Colette P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was good but not amazing, I'd done a walking tour before which I found much more informative. I felt that the guide for this wasn't very engaged, she was pointing stuff out but without much context which is what makes it interesting.

Vera S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Loved the pomp and circumstance. This was definitely a must do in London.Something could be added to this tour to make it a little more fun.

Phyllis K

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We were all disappointed that we were not closer to Buckingham Palace to
"""SEE THE CHANGE OF THE GUARDS"""". ........That is why we took
this Tour, thought you had "clout to get a good spot to watch the guards".

Gavan D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Good tour, except just dropped of about as far away from our Hotel as could be. Apart from that good

Vincent B

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

A good tour although we did not see the actual changing of the guards.

Sean H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Missed it due to the weather.

Petra W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

The departure from Victoria Coach Station was poorly organized. The tours departing from the same gate at the same time and no direction. Our bus got into an accident and we had to walk forever to get to the changing of the guards and had a really bad viewing spot and no compensation was offered. We ended up leaving the tour guide at the change of the guard because we did not want to walk all the way to where the new bus was gong to meet us. At that time we were already 45 minutes past the official end of the tour. The tour guise Debra was very knowledgeable and pleasant.

Fran I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was very surprised that I was disappointed with this tour because this was my sixth tour I booked through Viator but tour information was very misleading. We were on the bus most of the time, didn't go into Buckingham palace, no one informed us that the changing of the guards only happened every other day in the fall/winter months so we were not able to see them. We were all bored and we were all falling asleep on the bus.

mta94

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was ok but they took us to the wrong side and miss changing off the guards up front which was a dissapointment

Marilena G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Guide was okay could have been better, didn't really see the actual change of the guards. Just saw the new guards coming out a block away from the palace (this is were the guide asked us to stand). You need to be near the palace to see the actual change of the guards. Stopped at outside of Westminster Abbey but guide did not take us inside.

Linda H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Not much going on with this tour ...

Diane P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

We were a little disappointeed as we thought we would get to go in Buckingham Palace, however that was not the case. Also we did not see the changig of the guard ceremony due to a light shower falling. We were suppose to see something else incase that happened, but the tour guide bypassed that entirely.

gloria

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

No pudimos ver el cambio de guardia en buena posicion, nuestro guia nos llevo primero a ver la salida de la guardia con los caballos desde el autobus!! Despues nos bajamos para ver pasar la guardia con la banda como a unas dos cuadras del palacio y cuando llegamos al sitio mas cercano al palacio para ver el cambio de guardia ya estaba full de gente y no pudimos ver nada.!! Creo q lo mas importante era haber llegado primero para situarnos en buen lugar para ver el cambio de guardia, ademas creo que el guia estaba mas preocupado por llegar a buen tiempo al sitio que nos recomendo para almorzar que mostrarnos el cambio de guardia. Este tour solo nos sirvio para saber lo que no debemos hacer y volvimos nuevamente el miercoles por nuestra cuenta, es super facil!! Solo llegas a trafalgar square y caminas unas pocas cuadras hacia el castillo de kensington.

Veronica M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

My 7 year old daughter and I went on this tour and I was really disappointed. Often times, we were so far away from the point of interest, i.e. Kensington or Buckingham Palace that trying to get a good photo was difficult. We ended up getting off the bus at Buckingham Palace and not finishing the remainder of the tour. Also, the Changing of the Guard didn't take place that day. Honestly, I would not do this tour and I love to do tours. Put your money towards purchasing an entry ticket to Buckingham Palace or something else and skip this tour...you will thank me later :-)

Susan G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This is a drive by tour not a real tour. It would have been nice to see the inside of any of the historic buildings.

thehollandsinarabia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The trip wasn't as we expected and didn't really focus on the Royal Wedding. It was more of a general tour of London with a brief stop by Kensington and Buckingham Palaces. The guide wasn't very pleasant either

Patricia G USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Of all our tours we took in London, this one was disappointing. Had we been told that the changing of the guard is every other day, we could have switched plans and been able to see this. Instead we viewed the changing of the horse guard, which was nice, but not what we were expecting. Also we didn't enter any of the buildings, just saw them from the bus or walked by them. I would only recopmmend this tour for first time visitors to London who wanted only a quick view of the city.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 50.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message