3.5 star rating: Worth doing 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Good tour, except just dropped of about as far away from our Hotel as could be. Apart from that good

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

A good tour although we did not see the actual changing of the guards.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Missed it due to the weather.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was very surprised that I was disappointed with this tour because this was my sixth tour I booked through Viator but tour information was very misleading. We were on the bus most of the time, didn't go into Buckingham palace, no one informed us that the changing of the guards only happened every other day in the fall/winter months so we were not able to see them. We were all bored and we were all falling asleep on the bus.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was ok but they took us to the wrong side and miss changing off the guards up front which was a dissapointment

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Guide was okay could have been better, didn't really see the actual change of the guards. Just saw the new guards coming out a block away from the palace (this is were the guide asked us to stand). You need to be near the palace to see the actual change of the guards. Stopped at outside of Westminster Abbey but guide did not take us inside.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Not much going on with this tour ...

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

We were a little disappointeed as we thought we would get to go in Buckingham Palace, however that was not the case. Also we did not see the changig of the guard ceremony due to a light shower falling. We were suppose to see something else incase that happened, but the tour guide bypassed that entirely.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

No pudimos ver el cambio de guardia en buena posicion, nuestro guia nos llevo primero a ver la salida de la guardia con los caballos desde el autobus!! Despues nos bajamos para ver pasar la guardia con la banda como a unas dos cuadras del palacio y cuando llegamos al sitio mas cercano al palacio para ver el cambio de guardia ya estaba full de gente y no pudimos ver nada.!! Creo q lo mas importante era haber llegado primero para situarnos en buen lugar para ver el cambio de guardia, ademas creo que el guia estaba mas preocupado por llegar a buen tiempo al sitio que nos recomendo para almorzar que mostrarnos el cambio de guardia. Este tour solo nos sirvio para saber lo que no debemos hacer y volvimos nuevamente el miercoles por nuestra cuenta, es super facil!! Solo llegas a trafalgar square y caminas unas pocas cuadras hacia el castillo de kensington.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

My 7 year old daughter and I went on this tour and I was really disappointed. Often times, we were so far away from the point of interest, i.e. Kensington or Buckingham Palace that trying to get a good photo was difficult. We ended up getting off the bus at Buckingham Palace and not finishing the remainder of the tour. Also, the Changing of the Guard didn't take place that day. Honestly, I would not do this tour and I love to do tours. Put your money towards purchasing an entry ticket to Buckingham Palace or something else and skip this tour...you will thank me later :-)

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This is a drive by tour not a real tour. It would have been nice to see the inside of any of the historic buildings.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The trip wasn't as we expected and didn't really focus on the Royal Wedding. It was more of a general tour of London with a brief stop by Kensington and Buckingham Palaces. The guide wasn't very pleasant either

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Of all our tours we took in London, this one was disappointing. Had we been told that the changing of the guard is every other day, we could have switched plans and been able to see this. Instead we viewed the changing of the horse guard, which was nice, but not what we were expecting. Also we didn't enter any of the buildings, just saw them from the bus or walked by them. I would only recopmmend this tour for first time visitors to London who wanted only a quick view of the city.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

The tour was Ok, due to cycling activities half of london streets closed, the tour was rather rushed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

with less people and more attractions, the trip would be much more interesting.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

What we really wanted to see was the changing of the guard. The tour guide led us to a spot to watch but apparently didn't know they were not doing it that day or at least not at that time. I wish we had known sooner.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2009

The tour was organized, but I don't think it was worth. I didn't like it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

I wish we went to see Tower instead. It was OK, but nothing extraordinary.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

This is not much of a city tour. It's actually very disappointing; from the time we left, the tour was only two and a half hours, rather than the advertised three and a half.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We drove past the london eye, didn't get to see changing of the guards at Buckingham palace and didn't go close to the palace. It was not worth it we could have done the tour on our own

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

It was very disappointing because it turned out to be on a day that there was a half marathon in London, so we couldn't see most of the area the tour was supposed to take us to. I know that things like this are beyond the control of the touring company, but they could have let people know in advance. They didn't mention this until we were already on the bus. Also there was a mix-up with picking us up from the hotel in the morning. All in all, it was a bad experience and we won't book any tours with this company in the future.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a waste of money.we spent a couple hours on a bus with a "guide" that didn't guide us at all. She merely pointed out where the rich live and shop.....and when we did stop at a sight (Royal Albert and Westminster Abby) she merely told us to take a picture.....and there were tours we could come back and pay for to learn about the sights. We stopped to see the changing of the horse guard and the only commentary was "I'll meet you back on the bus when you're done looking at horse butts". Would say take a bike or walking tour...or simply pay the hop-on/hop-off bus tour fare instead of over $50 per person for this tour. Complete waste of money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Although we thought we were going to see the changing of the guard ceremony, what we did is drive around London for over 2 hours and then spend 45 minutes standing with a thousand or more people in the street watching the marching band and the guards walk in front of us. We felt that the money spent was wasted as the guide was not particular informing and at one point told us to listen to another guide because " he was very knowledgeable".
On our trip to London we also purchased 2 days on the Original bus tour { a hop on and off bus} That was much more informative than our guide!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

This was definitely not worth seeing. No where on the information sheet does it say, they do not change the guards in bad weather, considering what the weather in London is like, it is highly likely that you will encounter bad weather and you are paying for something that you won't get, and there is nothing else to compensate with if the change of the guard does not take place.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Not worth the expense. Changing of the Guard exaggerated extremely.

Pick up from hotel was not communicated well at all and bus depot was disgustingly, filthy. Would not do again.

From USD $ 54.05

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message