Insider's Guide to London

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 118 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  3 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Royal London Sightseeing Tour with Changing of the Guard Ceremony. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 118 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We drove past the london eye, didn't get to see changing of the guards at Buckingham palace and didn't go close to the palace. It was not worth it we could have done the tour on our own

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

It was very disappointing because it turned out to be on a day that there was a half marathon in London, so we couldn't see most of the area the tour was supposed to take us to. I know that things like this are beyond the control of the touring company, but they could have let people know in advance. They didn't mention this until we were already on the bus. Also there was a mix-up with picking us up from the hotel in the morning. All in all, it was a bad experience and we won't book any tours with this company in the future.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

This tour was a waste of money.we spent a couple hours on a bus with a "guide" that didn't guide us at all. She merely pointed out where the rich live and shop.....and when we did stop at a sight (Royal Albert and Westminster Abby) she merely told us to take a picture.....and there were tours we could come back and pay for to learn about the sights. We stopped to see the changing of the horse guard and the only commentary was "I'll meet you back on the bus when you're done looking at horse butts". Would say take a bike or walking tour...or simply pay the hop-on/hop-off bus tour fare instead of over $50 per person for this tour. Complete waste of money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2014

Although we thought we were going to see the changing of the guard ceremony, what we did is drive around London for over 2 hours and then spend 45 minutes standing with a thousand or more people in the street watching the marching band and the guards walk in front of us. We felt that the money spent was wasted as the guide was not particular informing and at one point told us to listen to another guide because " he was very knowledgeable".
On our trip to London we also purchased 2 days on the Original bus tour { a hop on and off bus} That was much more informative than our guide!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

This was definitely not worth seeing. No where on the information sheet does it say, they do not change the guards in bad weather, considering what the weather in London is like, it is highly likely that you will encounter bad weather and you are paying for something that you won't get, and there is nothing else to compensate with if the change of the guard does not take place.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Not worth the expense. Changing of the Guard exaggerated extremely.

Pick up from hotel was not communicated well at all and bus depot was disgustingly, filthy. Would not do again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

The tour guide was just un interesting or uninterested. Was repeating the same stuff over and over. Did not learn anything new.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

It was awful! We had to go the laptop bus station, then we left 30 minutes late!
Maybe they need to start the tour earlier or later so we miss rush hour.
The tour guide was fine, but i have been on over 25 or more tours n that was the worst one i had ever been on!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

What a waste of money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

Basically we felt as though we sat in traffic for 2 hours,and then saw the parade that precedes the changing of the guard. Not a mention of the "royal wedding procession" during the tour. We also assumed we would see the changing of the guards, as opposed to the pre and post parade. The title of the tour is very misleading.
Our tour guide Rodney was less than enthusiastic,although informative.
Rodney, told us where to stand to watch the parade that leads to the changing of the guard,and said"that,s all you need to know".
A little condescending?

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

I wouldn't recommend it. This tour is on the same bus tour as an all day London tour. There was limited talk about the Royal Wedding since it wasn't a specific tour for that (marketing makes it appear that it is). Also, the tour was less than 3 hours.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2011

In general it was a delightful tour with a knowledgable and witty tour guide (Trudy). However, as far as the "Changing of the Guard Ceremony" goes the tour was a hoax. We were led to a place were we could witness a couple of guards marching to Buckingham Palace but we did see nothing of the ceremony nor had the opportunity to enjoy the musical aspects of the event. Since for us this had been the main reason for chosing this tour it was clearly a waste of time and money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

Total waste of time. Very Dissatisfied. Spent most of the morning picking up from other hotels only to be taken to the bus terminal where we waited another 30 minutes. Only spent about 45 minutes actually touring the city. Guide was very snippy and did not provide much information. I was under the impression we would be able to see the Changin of the Guard Ceremony at the palace gates. Wrong. . . . we only got as close as across the street and was told that was all we needed to see was the guards as they came down the street to and from the palace.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2010

This was the worst experience I've ever had. I would never recommend this tour to anyone. Won't use them again!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2010

This was a very disappointing experience with the tour company booked through Viator. Their customer service was very poor. I gave them every opportunity to make the situation right but to no avail with either company. Unfortunately, money ruled over service.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

This was a joke. Our guide ran us all over, no time to even keep up. Going to Buckingham Palace was a joke, 5 minutes for pictures and run back to bus. We were informed that the "Changing of the Guard Ceremony" only goes every two days and that it was not going to happen that day. Instead we watched the changing of the horses. The horse thing was interesting but what a waste of a morning, so fast and furious we could not enjoy it.

Peter V
Netherlands

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2009

The morning tour only passed a couple of highlights of London. The tour included viewing St Pauls Cathedral and the Changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace. The viewing of St. Pauls Cathedral took more than a hour and the time to spend at the Changing of the Guards about 45 minutes which resulted in a remaining time of a little more than a hour to see the rest of London. Too short if you want to see more highlights of London. We found the blue guide on the tour somebody who thought he was very good in giving the tour. A more than a bit "we are the best attitude", which we found annoying. Shortly an expensive tour for a lot of bla, bla by the blue guide and a little of London.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2008

This was terribly disappointing. The 3 hour Morning tour was made even slower by London's non-stop bumper-to-bumper traffic. Adding to the tediousness, the tour guide was extremely droll with her dull explanation of what we were supposed to be looking at. Inside the bus all the windows were closed making it stuffy. We desperately needed to roll down the windows, but couldn't for some reason. Nonetheless, we finally got a break. Half way through the bus stopped for a rest break, and so did we. We got off and didn't get back on. We preferred to walk the rest of the tour which is what we should have done in the first place. The next day, we took the "Big Bus Tour," Hop-on-Hop-off which was much better. I cannot recommend the morning tour.

From USD $ 53.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message