4.5 star rating: Recommended 130 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  1-2 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 130 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We went in the morning on this tour and had a great time! Our tour guide was really animated and gave us a bunch of information about the history of the theater. She seemed to really love acting and what she did. We got to watch an acting class on stage and just enjoy this magnificent theater. A definite must-see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The Globe was one of our (my 25-year-old daughter) favorite tours. Very interesting, wonderful/humorous/informative guide. We wish we had stayed for the play that afternoon. We missed our assigned day by 5 minutes but they let us come back a few days later.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very enjoyable. Would love to go back and see a play there!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This was a very interesting tour. Our hostess as very knowledgable and injected humour into her commentry. Good value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Loved the Globe! Beautiful location right by the Thames, very informative tour and the thrill of feeling transported back to Shakespeare's time...a good time was had by all!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Tour was very organized for such a large group. Our guide projected her voice well as two other tours were taking place at the same time. We sat on separate sides of the theater so cross-conversation was not an issue. The information was interesting and added to my prior knowledge of the Globe. I suggest making reservations to see one of the performances before leaving the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Great tour , worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

very enjoyable

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Loved Shakespeare's Globe, our guide was knowledgeable and funny. He did a wonderful job explaining the history and answered all our questions. Absolutely wonderful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Loved the Globe. The guide was well informed and knowledgeable. Booking through Viator was easy and problem free.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Very interesting displays in the museum section, and the Globe tour guide was quite knowledgeable and thorough.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Excellent tour, great exhibit, tasty tea and scones to chase away the chill. Interested in theater? Visit the Globe!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We found the Viator tickets that we bought were well worth getting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Excellent tour of the theatre. Guide was most knowledgable and entertaining. Pre-booking the tour was not necessary on the day we visited but probably busy during a busier tourist season.l

Maja J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Fantastic tour of the Globe theatre. Our group was lucky enough to get to sit in on the dress rehersals - unforgettable experience. Definately a must for anyone visiting London.

Hugo G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Really interesting place to visit - good tour - right length. Want to go and see a play there now.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent guide and exhibits. Give yourself lots of time to go through the exhibition before the tour. Top notch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

As a former English major, seeing Shakespeare's Globe Theater was at the top of my "to do" list while visiting London! The theater is beautiful, and the tour guide was very informative. I think I took nearly 100 photos of the theater alone! lol I was also extremely grateful that they let me use my ticket two days later than I'd originally booked it for. I highly recommend this excursion and will be using Viator for my future excursions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Had a nice time and learned a lot.

Cathy W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was absolutely fabulous. It was very easy to spend a half day here. The guided tour of the theatre was excellent and then you could stay as long as you liked to enjoy the museum. Don't miss this.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Wow what a neat looking open air theatre. Dress warm during winter months viewing. You are outside when touring the actual theatre. Great guides too. The shop was fun! Bought a mask. The hot mull wine was a nice welcome drink coming in from the cold. Very friendly people. The extra exhibits although few, were good. Stay long enough to watch them show what it takes for a women to get dressed. All the different elements are demonstrated. You can walk from the London Eye to numerous museums sites, and to the Globe theatre and back. Nice long walk along river bank. Entertainment along the way and food stops.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent tour guide and I really felt like I was in a theater from Shakespeare's time.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer a lot of questions. I was hoping we could of gone behind the stage to see how the conditions were like back then for the actors.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The displays and tour of the theatre were fabulous. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour / theatre come to life with his descriptions.

I included the option for afternoon tea which didn't go as well as expected. The ticket counter didn't know what to do with that portion of the voucher when I originally checked in and suggested my name would be on a list included at the restaurant. They didn't give me the name, which would have helped, and the friends of the theatre information desk didn't know anything about it either. I finally found the correct place only to be told that I would have to go back to the theatre and get a voucher for the meal. Thankfully another worker decided to accompany me to get this sorted out instead of just sending me away. The ticket counter didn't have any vouchers for the day, no list of bookings from Viator and had general confusion. After many conversations to many people it was sorted and they were able to squeeze me in to the bookings for the afternoon. The Swan restaurant hold a time slot for each booking made. That was interesting considering I was the only person in the room while I had tea other than a couple that was checking out the room for a potential booking and the staff that were discussing new drinks / menu items for the week. Food was excellent, but an awkward experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Interesting tour. Fortunately we went early in the morning and took the 10:30 tour because the theatre closed for rehearsal at 11am. They don't necessarily tell you this when you book.

From USD $ 21.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5009GLOBE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message