4.5 star rating: Recommended 127 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  1-2 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 127 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Robert P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Our daughter's school teacher told her to go - as penance for missing school! So the whole family had to go along under sufferance. As it turned out, we all felt it was interesting and worth the time and effort. The tour guides are very informative and full of intersting information.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Worth doing. There was a rehearsal going on when I was there, so it was a bit of a constraint. If I had more time, I would have gone back to see a play there. That would be fun! This tour will give you the information you need should you decide to do that. Interesting, of course, in its own right.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a lot of information to share about the theatre, past and present. It was very interesting to see the set being erected during our visit as well. Well worth the time and money.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The theatre is located on the south bank of the Thames, adjacent to the new Tate Modern art museum. Access it by crossing the Millennium Bridge from Blackfriars. It's a beautiful beginning to a very interesting tour. The exhibition is excellent, with a good combination of displays that cater to visitors of all ages. The tour of the theatre is equally good just make sure that a play isn't starting soon or else the tour might be cut short.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

I bought the tour and afternoon tea as a Christmas present for my mother, we really enjoyed the tour, our guide "Nick" was excellent with the right balance of information and humour, nothing too stuffy but just the really interesting bits. Really very enjoyable and just about the right length of time although we would have been happy to listen for longer. My only critisism of the day was that the two packages (i.e. Tea and Tour) didn't work very well together, we went to the 12.00 tour but then had to hang around until 2.30 for the tea, where we would really have prefered to go and do something else to make the most of our day trip to London.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The tour guides are very knowledgeable and kept our 2 teenagers captivated by the stories. It was great to have explanations of how things operated in Shakespeare's era and then in the modern day. The museum was also interesting

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

An interesting visit, but spoiled by all the scaffolding restricting the view and and banging of the workmen

Diane T
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Amazing building with fascinating history - well worth a visit. Tour guide good and entertaining - would question some of his 'facts' though: Shakespeare invented the words 'gossip', 'monument' and 'zany'. Not so sure. Threw the rest of his commentary into doubt somewhat. Our tour included afternoon tea at the Swan next door - would not recommend it for the money. Again, amazing building with amazing views; perfect situation. Tea somewhat pretentious and not particularly nice - egg mayonnaise in very sweet brioche roll, open ham on horseradish and some unknown mush on bread. Didn't complain; just left most of savouries. Very attentive, professional young lady serving us almost made up for it.

Anonymous

Anonymous

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Our guide was well informed and easy on the ear. I enjoyed this event but as it did not start on time we missed other events planned for that day.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

It was okay if u r going to learn more about Shakespeare probably not the right tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Our guide was a nice person with some good stories. However, I think I could have done just as well with a headset and buying a ticket on the day. It was expensive for wat was on offer.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

Probably not as interesting as I thought it would be. Replica building, not original.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Interesting to see... It is a pity that we were actually inside the dome for only 10 minutes (5 minutes each time).

JANICE S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Ok so I chose a day when there was rehearsals...bad luck, because that made it worthless in terms of being able to (a) take photos of the interior; ( b) hear what the guide said about the actual stage area and how it all functioned in the day.It would have been better if I didn't speak English - they got a printed leaflet I had to lip read as the guide whispered.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

A disappointment. Would not do this again if I had the chance. All about nothing!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

I take issue with not enough information on your website for both tour and tea. The "tour" only lasted 1/2 hour - very sparse and not 1-2 hours, and since rehearsals were going on we were only inside less than 10 minutes.
The tea is not "at 3:00" but can be anytime; no one seemed to direct us with where to go or when for tea. The theatre took the only copy I had of the tea voucher so I had to go back and talk to them and get it back. They were not used to the option available from Viator. In fact, the tea servers were in a hurry to get to a staff meeting at about 3:15 and I had to ask them to bring the "afternoon tea" - the food part - so it wasn't as smooth as it should be all around. Enjoyed it anyway.

Clare B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

not worth it, took my daughter who is studying shakespere. didnt realise theatre just a sort of replica of what they think the original may look like

Tatiana P
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

it was not interesting at all,guide was talking inlow voice, mostly answering question of nearby people. I was with 4 schoolgirls, we left because it was boring. Not much history of the thetre,no interesting facts...

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Tour of the Globe Theatre was not possible the day we visited because of a scheduled performance in the theatre. They took us to the Rose Theatre instead, which was a disappointment.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Came well before the last tour but were rushed through. Our tour guide did provide an admirable amount of information on the Globe, and my family appreciated her thoroughness. One suggestion for this tour is to offer an opportunity to purchase tickets to a production in conjunction with the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

Nice exhibition. VERY short tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

I thought the size of the group could have been smaller. It was very difficult to hear what the guide was saying if you were at the back. The guide seemed quite knowledgeable but one had to hear him to make that assessment with some confidence.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was not very interesting or thorough. I would have liked the guide to wear clothes from the period and it would have been nice to hear lines from Shakespeare, see pictures of Shakespeare and possibly manuscripts. Unfortunately, I didn't know any more about Shakespeare after leaving.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This was truly one of the highlights of my trip.

From USD $ 21.40

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5009GLOBE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message