4.5 star rating: Recommended 116 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: London, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  10 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Warwick Castle, Oxford, Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon Custom Day Trip. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Oxford was great -wish we could have spent more time there. Was not a fan of Warwick Castle--very disney like

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

The trip was great very well paced and a great combination. The only negative was the lack of information provided by the tour guide about each of the optional tours. We ended up paying a much higher price for entrance to Warwick castle as we decided once we got there to go inside.the bus was spotless and windows very clean which allowed us to take photos. I would very much recommend the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

We enjoy this trip, we found that this historical place is ready well keep
and full of life history as we are born at the same time.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Too little time in Oxford

Walt H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

excellent tour, well organised, good pick up service

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

The Cotswolds are a letdown. I really wanted to see the "witches'" homes, ha, but this cannot be done on a tour bus. Warwick Castle is such a joke. We paid so much to do everything, because otherwise you are sitting on a bus at Warwick. Shakespeare's house/Stratford are cute... I think they should also visit the church where Shakespeare is born. I say: Much Ado About Nothing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Very nice, thoroughly enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The tour director was very nice, and knowledgeable. The castle was interesting, I enjoyed seeing the dungeon, the living quarters were furnished and included wax historical people. Oxford is a nice city and the University is awesome to see. Stratford is also a very nice city and the hone of Shakespeare is very interesting. The Cotswolds portion is limited to viewing a few homes on the route to Oxford, and there was no way to take photos.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip. The guide was very well-informed and he made our day trip a very enjoyable and pleasant one.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Had a great time especially in Oxford.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

It was really great, I fancied every minute of it. I liked our guide! The only thing, we had such a good time that we actually we didn't have enough time to enjoy our trip completely, especially the Oxford part.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Enjoyable day. Strafford was charming. Guide needed to do more explaining of the areas we were passing-she was silent or speaking to the driver 80% of the time.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Of all the trips out of London, I think this is the best choice. Warwick Castle is well-worth visiting and they have live hosts and well-done wax figures throughout the living areas to give some life to the rooms. There also are demonstrations in the yards. We had an excellent tour of Oxford with our knowledgeable guide. Visiting Shakespeare's home is not worth the cost, but Stratford-upon-Avon is a great place for lunch.

Natalja V
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

ITS OK

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Was gutted that we just passed by Cotswold. My friend and I thought we will go down and see the villagesespecially Jane Austen's house.
Our tourist guide, Daniel and driver, Mark were so kind and entertaining though.
We had fun at Shakespeare's birthplace and Warwick Castle. Oxford, not much.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour suggests that tickets to the some of the areas are optional. Well, you cannot even get onto the castle grounds without a $30.00 ticket. The castle was interesting; tours were self guided through reading placards. Stratford-upon Avon was charming. We enjoyed the "Wall of Shakespeare" and even bought a book replica as a souvenir. The bus driver thought he was running the Indy 500 while going through the Cotswolds. We raced through the area where two thatched roof houses were pointed out as we whizzed on by. The guide said that in the summer tours go into some villages. What a disappointment. Oxford as busy and interesting as a university of merit should be. At dropoff, during a Friday rush hour, we waited 30 minutes to hail a cab. Mixed reviews.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

OK but very rushed.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Warwick Castle was visually stunning. Unfortunately it is run a bit like a theme park so there was a price for everything eg the dungeons . Stratford was great plenty of time to see Shakespeare's birth place visit the trinity church and his grave. Oxford was amazing and wish I had more time to wander.
The day was really good but only provides a snapshot - if you want to spend more than an hour in each place do a different tour as this is really a quick in and out tour for those with limited time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The trip was great, but the tour guide was pathetic
Our mood was ruined
we found her very rude..she was an italian lady, very mean and sarcastic comments...

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The Tour Guide was lovely. My rating isn't higher because it was very difficult to get in touch with Viator about whether they could pick us up at our hotel, and I didn't hear from them till 12 hours before (and they ask US to give them 24 hours notice). They did not respond to e-mail, or phone (out of office). So that caused a lot of concern.

And while we enjoyed the tour, there really was not enough time at any one spot to do much of anything. We ate lunch, rather than go to the Stratford Tour, as we had a child with us. We had about a half hour on our own in Oxford, and an hour and a half in Stratford, and at Warwick. But that was not sufficient. Plus, we had to pay the full fare to get into Warwick castle, but could only utilize it for about an hour - which is definitely not worth it.l

Finally, Warwick castle, while wonderful, was rather a rip-off. THeir association with some entertainment industry meant that they had moved out the armory, which is what kids want to see, in favor of wax people (I don't know who wants to see that). They also piped in awful, non-period music. My son greatly prefered the Tower of London, as a result -- and we didn't have to pay nearly as much for it. I know that the tour company has a deal with whoever runs Warwick, but they should sever it - or run a bus for a half day trip there. But the value is poor.

Overall, we saw a lot, but didn't get to hang out long anywhere. Perhaps one fewer thing would make for a better day.

We also lost a couple on the trip - they didn't make it back in time. That also suggests having fewer things and more time at each one. I could just picture them getting served 5 minutes before the bus pulled out . . . i hope they made it back.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Warwick Castle is amazing, Stratford is quaint but doesn't necessarily merit a stop, and Oxford deserves more time. Our guide, Rodney, made it more unpleasant than it should have been. He was posh, pompous, and impatient, even complaining about a woman in our group who had to walk with a cane.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

I enjoyed the tour, and appreciated the scenario, but here are the problems: 1. The only thing that makes this trip "Custom" is that you can decide not to purchase the tickets to actually get in and see these places. 2. The bus is huge and not personal at all. We were constantly waiting for others, listening to complaining people, etc. I would much prefer a smaller group. 3. The tour guide who charged by credit card for the tickets to Warwick, Christchurch and Shakespeare's birthplace, messed up and charged me twice so I am now in the process of working that out. 4. You start out at Victoria Station, which is an absolute nightmare. I would never want to start a bus tour there again. it is packed with hundreds of people trying to figure out which bus to get on, with there is very little guidance on where to go.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Was a good look at the English countryside and some heritage towns. Warwick Castle and Statford gave us a hands on look at British history.

The tour didn't leave much time at Oxford at end of the day and we could have had a scheduled stop at some old Cotswold village after lunch, to see and photograph the thatched roof homes.

Perhaps an extra hour can be added to the tour to accomodate all this.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

This trip was nice but wouldnt recommend.

Drive was long and each stay was short

From USD $ 85.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3858EE067

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message