5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Los Angeles, California
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dearly Departed: The Tragic History Tour of Los Angeles. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

I have lived in SoCal for 55 years. Thought I'd seen it all. This tour went above and beyond my highest expectations. Brian kept us amazed for two hours. This tour is a must for anyone who enjoys the scandalous side of Hollywood. I could not recommend any tour more highly.

Madalyn L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Really enjoyable - learned about all the old school stars which is the era I love and also some of the new ones. Our guide took us on an impromptu visit of some of the stars houses. It was really well done, interesting, macabre and funny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant
Brian was excellent tour guide. Really enjoyed the tour and learnt so many things about LA.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Very knowledgeable tour guide, small tour group numbers, a great overview of the underbelly of LA and a free general sightseeing trip thrown in as part of the tour! Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Was a very good tour.The tour guide was funny,knew his info and gave us plenty of time to enable us to get our cameras ready for a picture.We went with another tour group later that we didn't book with Viator-no where near as good as Dearly Departed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Great trip, great fun and great value, which certainly tells you all kinds of things about Hollywood you'd never get on standard tours. How guide Brian keeps all that stuff in his head, god knows, but he keeps going for around three hours and is always entertaining. My only problem is, having taken pictures of nearly all the places he took us to, I'm having a job remembering which was which! Nick + Ethel London UK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

i loved the tour!!!

Rebecca B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Extremely entertaining and informative. It might not be the best tour for Brits, as they make a lot of references to stars only famous in the US. Some parts were particularly gruesome, but if you have a fascination with such things, you'll love it!

Lorraine W
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I loved Brian and I loved the vehicle being a small bus, closer contact with driver to ask questions, whoop out show biz answers, etc. I'm telling all my NZ movie buff friends about this tour. Brian showed such passion to 'the cause', and I appreciated this. Great to see 'Angel' location house, and Pete Duel's house.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I was really impressed with the tour guide and his knowledge. Very entertaining and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Very entertaining and educational. Guide had a vast personal knowledge of history and area in addition to standard tour material.

Michael T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Really intriguing tour of Hollywood area. Well planned with great tour guide. It's amazing to see how much happens in such a relatively small area - it's almost jinxed - or perhaps it something to do with the weird people who live there !! Throughly recommend it.

Mervyn P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

We would rate this as the best of several tours we did whilst in Los Angeles. Brian, our coach driver guide was full of anecdotes and fun and joined in with the passengers to make the whole experience a fun and interesting afternoon. We would certainly recommend the tour to anyone looking for something just a little different.

Richard A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

The tour was great. We had to change dates, and the tour operator was very accommodating. He let us change the dates. He had great stories and spots to stop and take pictures. It was a well thought out tour rather than just the generic Hollywood Homes. The binder to look at during the tour also was helpful as it let us step back in time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

We had a great time! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable & took us to lots of places! It was well worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

I really enjoyed this tour! I will definitely take more people to this as they come from out of town! Very comfortable vehicle, great information, interesting and fun! thanks!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

My husband and I booked your dearly departed tour this past November and had a great time. The gentleman that directed our tour was well informed and kept us interested every blood curdling minute.

Christine R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Great fun. Really glad we booked it.

Laraine T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Fantastic tour and guide.

Nickola M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic tour! Only disappointment was that we should have seen Tate murder house according to Viator advert but they have moved it to another tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Finding the pick up point was a bit hard work as there are no specific sign posts for it. Basically its right outside Johnny Rockets on the outer edge of the Farmers Markets, next to the car park. This tour was great. Not only did you get to see the scandalous parts of Hollywood but they showed some of the Hollywood homes celebs live in now, like Billy Bob Thornton, Sly Stallones Mum, Johnny Depp etc. They also show you last homes people lived in before they died, like Monroe and Sinatra. They do a short stop at McDonalds - it's a 3hr tour. There is a heap on the Manson family too - so if this sort of stuff doesn't interest you, maybe you should stick to the Hollywood Homes tour. There was running commentary from the driver and a recording, also a photo book for you to compare the old day pics with what it look like today. 3 hrs felt like 20mins - well worth it.

Corin B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Knowledgeable, outgoing and thoughtful guide. A unique approach to sightseeing in Los Angeles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A trip to Los Angeles would never be complete for us without going on the Dearly Departed Tour. Have been on it at least 5 times in the past few years and it never gets old. The guides knowledge and passion for Hollywood's celebs both living and dead! makes every tour unique and enjoyable. Can't wait to go back!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

I would do this tour again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

I was very impressed with this tour! The tour guide was very knowledgeable. He was a pleasant person who knew how to make the tour interesting. Hopefully, the next time I am in the Los Angeles area, I will take some of his other tours.

From USD $ 47.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2552DDT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message