5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Los Angeles, California
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dearly Departed: The Tragic History Tour of Los Angeles. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

My 26 year old son and I loved loved loved this tour! The guide was amusing, witty, and informative and the areas covered in the three hours were detailed, interesting, and up to date i.e. Michael Jackson. One little item might have made it more complete, a list of the places that we saw so we could remember everything in the telling and could coordinate it with the pictures we took!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We can't say enough about this fantastic tour of the darker side of Los Angeles! The tour guide was so personable and a font of titillating information. It is quite clear that he loves his job! We can't wait to go back and do his movie tour! Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Great tour guide, knew a lot of info. One suggestion would be to have another one or two quick stops, such as the Hollywood sign to take pics. Great tour of Hollywood, but would have loved to take a few more pics at main sights.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was a great tour, and he's really good at what he does and it shows.

Darrell C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

This was an interesting and fact-filled tour given with amusing anecdotes and obvious relish by our helpful and friendly guide. For those who want to see the seemier side of Hollywood and LA, this is the tour for you. One piece of advise for others: make sure you can get to the pick-up point easily. Public transport in LA is dire.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Loads of fun; guide was very informative and tailored the tour to things that we particularly wanted to see! Definitely recommend.

Natalie P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great tour. Highly recommended! Lots of fun! Plenty of photo opportunities!

STEPHEN M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Great tour & guide, would highly recommend and already have to people we have met on our trip.

Tracy K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

My son and I absolutely loved this tour. We had was a great guide. The tour was crammed with fascinating information. I loved the added audio and photos which enhanced the experience. We have done several tours round Hollywood and this one was our favourite. Would definitely recommend and hope to do again some day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This is a MUST TOUR for visitors and locals alike. Skip all other tours if you have to. It's not only a bargain, but fun! I lived in LA for 20 years and moved away, and this was so interesting. Just watching the architecture and people along the tour is interesting too. Begin your visit with this tour and everything else will make sense - even the local news. The guide was great! and a good driver, who even narrated driving in LA, very funny. Van is comfortable and I liked the small group over a large bus. Every question from the group was answered - the guide really knows his stuff. Fun, entertaining, interesting - I would actually do this tour again and again. Exceeded my expectations!

Laurain D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was a fun & very interesting day with a excellent tour guide, who made it worth every moment & dollar that was spent, we would recommend it to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Had a great time on this tour. It was very comfortable and enjoyable. Learned some interesting and morbid stories about LA and its eclectic residents. This tour is a must. Don't take a star home tour until after this one.

ANTHONY S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Great tour - our tour guide was very informative.

Angela T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

This tour was exactly what we wanted. Before setting off, we were asked if there were any places we wanted to visit specifically then we loaded into the minibus and off we went on the Dearly Departed tour. Three hours seems short but there at the end of the tour we were exhausted. The small group numbers encouraged discussion and the guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining in a dark sense. I recommend this to everyone visiting LA. The one place we forgot to request was to visit the site of the wonderland murders, maybe next time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

If there were more stars, I'd add them! This was a FANTASTIC tour! Our guide was awesome, and the tour was so much more than we even expected! DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR!!!!

Margaret C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

This was a totally enjoyable tour - the tour guide know his stuff and is very passionate. The books and photos to authenticate was fantastic.

Michael P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Great. The guide really knew his stuff and made the tour come to life. If I go back, this will be a must-do again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I did a couple of these star spotting type tours and this WAS the best one. Great guide and got to see heaps of star attractions over the three hours of the tour, very well run. Would definitely do again.

Anthony V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour. Much better than the standard Hollywood homes tour. Guide was fantastic. Worth every penny!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Everyone should do this tour. If you enjoy hearing about the tragic stories behind LA, this tour is for you. The guide was absolutely amazing and knew his stuff. He made the tour very interesting.

Helen D
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I would rate this as the best trip I did in Los Angeles. It was the most interesting and entertaining, and the driver was funny and very knowledgeable about all sorts of things. It's nice that it's a small bus because it makes it a more personal experience. As soon as I get a chance, I'll be back to do the new movie location tour that the company is starting up shortly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Excellent tour! Tour guide was very informative and passionate about sharing information. I would recommend this to anyone who has an interest in "old" and "new" Hollywood!

GRAHAM H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I cannot fault this tour. It is an absolute must if you are visiting Los Angeles. The guide really knew his stuff. The content of the tour had obviously been planned to a high degree. Just make sure you take it!

Isabella B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

We wanted to do a tour of LA but were not really interested in visiting all the 'homes of the stars' however after finding the reviews on this site, decided this had to be worth a go. We were so glad we chose this trip as the tour guide really knew his stuff. His recommendations for dinner that evening were also spot on! If you are interested in the darker history of LA then this is the trip for you, and if you're not then you'll still enjoy it!

Wendy O
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

We had a fantastic guide, full of witty and interesting facts. It is a MUST DO when in Los Angeles!

From USD $ 47.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2552DDT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message