5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Los Angeles, California
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Dearly Departed: The Tragic History Tour of Los Angeles. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Neil F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Excellent! The guide really knew his stuff and was a born entertainer! I also loved the additional touches like the musical interludes, the police report, and the fridge magnet. A must do for anyone visiting Los Angeles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

Great tour. Our guide was a wonderful host. I can't imagine getting that much out of any other tour.

Karyn P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

The best tour we had while in L.A. The guide is very friendly and he knows his stuff! We had a great time and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking about it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This was a birthday gift from my wife, what a great idea! Our tour guide was personable and really knew his stuff. Can't wait to take friends and family on this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

Excellent tour and commentary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

Fantastic tour. Of all the tours in LA, this was my most enjoyable. He certainly knows LA and all the sordid activities that have occurred here. Go on, do it!

Kate A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The advert for this trip does not do it justice. It was fantastic. The guide was very well informed, friendly and humourous and there was something interesting on every corner. We thoroughly enjoyed the day and would recommend this trip to anyone as there was something for all ages and interests.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

I live in LA and went on this tour with my two sisters, who were visiting from the East Coast. I was entertained, informed, amused and delighted. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the LA area. You won't be disappointed, and it's the best value for money, bar none. Absolutely brilliant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

My family visiting from Washington had a blast! This is the best tour out there without a doubt! Highly recommend to everyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

The tour was very interesting. The host was very knowledgeable and considerate and had a great sense of humor. He answered questions about stars who were not on the tour and about the neighborhoods. I would highly recommend this trip.

John W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

The guide has an absolute passion for Hollywood and has a vast knowledge of the area and history. It is a very personal tour and there were only 11 of us. He is a very friendly guy and I strongly recommend this tour as it's different and more interesting than some of the tours on offer. It is well worth every cent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

This tour was one of many highlights I had during my stay in Los Angeles. Our guide is one of the best tour guides around in my humble opinion. The original tour was scheduled for three hours but the guide decided to show us some other locations in addition to the regular tour. So it ran about a half an hour longer than scheduled, which was great. There was a small group of us so it really felt like a private tour. We were treated like VIP's. If you want a tour that is different and not the standard Hollywood tour, I would highly recommend DDT. It was an experience I'll never forget.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

I'm not a big fan of Hollywood, and don't know much about Old Hollywood history, but this tour definitely changed all that! Our driver/guide had a scary amount of knowledge about all things Hollywood – who died where, when and how, amongst other things. Really opened my eyes to the city and gave me a new perspective, if not a quirky one! Would recommend this tour to everyone without hesitation, and would do again for sure!

JennyC
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

The most fun tour I've been on in years! Our guide undoubtedly has the most in-depth knowledge of the dark and seedy side of Hollywood – and he loves it (as do I)! We visited not just the scandalous places like where Hugh Grant got busted or where Janis Joplin died, but also places such as where they filmed the final scenes of Grease. A lot of 'old' Hollywood is included in this tour, but even if you don't know much about this – the (true) stories certainly make you keen to learn more.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Our host was so accommodating and fun to be with. His research and knowledge of people and events is awesome. We saw all the famous sites we wanted to see plus many more. This is not only a tour not to be missed but one that we will take again.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful tour. I was with my sister who had never been to L.A. before and this was a great way for her to really experience it. Even if it did seem morbid at times... lol.
It didn't feel typically touristy at all. The driver/guide was super friendly and knowledgeable. I highly recommend this the next time you head to Hollywood. I also know

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We loved the commentary, but I must say the air conditioning on the bus could have been cooler. A tour worth doing, much better than the trips sold along the strip.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

It was a little expensive but it was funny

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Everything about this trip was excellent, except a bit warm and stuffy in the back of the bus. Brian was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. The guide was interesting and added a 'lot of himself' to the tour. Especially enjoyed seeing the Star's Houses in Beverley Hills. Was a great way to start getting to know this part of the U.S.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The guide was a chatterbox and full of interesting stories and facts, about many things that were nothing to do with anything departed. We were shown and told about Scientology, Simon Cowell's house, the flat from Pretty Woman and Hallie Berry's car accident but not enough about dearly departed subjects, as I had expected from the tour's name. The office holds souvenirs from many events and is well worth a look. Somewhat disappointed in the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

It was a very good tour, our tour guide was very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Lively driver and the small group we shared with made it all very interesting and definitely a bit different from a standard 'bus tour'. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

This was an enjoyable and interesting way to spend a few hours. The tour guide Richard was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We were there during a heat wave and the bus was a bit uncomfortable on the day. We would have also liked to have done the "Helter Skelter", tour with Scott but this only operates on Saturdays.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Very good tour to see the ins and outs of the Los Angeles underworld. Tour driver was great.

From USD $ 47.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2552DDT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message