4.5 star rating: Recommended 107 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Luxor, Egypt
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Private Tour: Luxor West Bank, Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut Temple. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 107 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This trip was great. We saw so much and our guide was wonderful. He waited for us at the train station for 40+ minutes since we arrived on a later train than originally anticipated.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Our guide was helpful in explaining the sights. We felt that the tour ran a little short.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide was nice, we arranged to go at noon to avoid bus tours and we were lucky since it was cloudy. You get to go inside of three tombs on the Valley of the Kings, is very hot inside, just try to enjoy the amazing decoration. The guide should ask you if you want to stop at shops, we would have rather spend more time at the sites. The downside to the tour is that you are the one responsible of getting in touch with the local tour agent, phone calls from hotel are expensive, they should be the ones calling you to the hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Stunning. Helpful and articulate guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Private tour is recommended due to the late start and early return time compared to the ordinary tour. Excellent Egyptian guide and tour itinerary in Luxor.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Good.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Thank You Jasime was a very good guide we enjoyed ourselves.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Average guide, but great itinerary! We saw everything we wanted to see!

Stephen C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Good guide and driver, very informative and good spoken English.

Fiona C
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Having your own guide and driver makes the trip very comfortable and easy. The guide was very knowledgeable though at times did appear that she was going through the motions. Was also taken to an alabaster 'factory' - and later discovered I paid well over the going rate for some canopic jars. Beware your guide may be receiving a commission.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. He described different hieroglyphics we would see in the tombs and what they meant.

Joan L
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Very good tour of the valley and Hatshepsut Temple. Timings were spot on. The guide was very informative and caring, particularly as I slipped over at the Temple and she was very attentive and sympathetic.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Driver and guide were on time, transportation was comfy with adequate AC you need that in Egypt! Guide spoke very good English and very knowledgeable. Before we entered each spot she took the time to first explain the history so we have a better understanding beforehand. Definitely worth it.

William H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

Somewhere I have always wanted to see and it was certainly worth the wait. Our tour guide was very good and knowledgeable and answered all our questions expect a bit of hassle from vendors but if you don't want to buy then politely say no and move on. The heat was intense even at 6.30 in the morning so the tombs are a bit stuffy but really enjoyed it.

John H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This was a good morning out, leaving the afternoon free; but an option for keen tourists could be to offer a longer visit or include the Valley of the Nobles.

Jackie M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

This was an informative and enjoyable tour. The guide was knowledgeable and thorough.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The Valley of the Kings and the Hatshepsut Temple are very impressive. When we visited, Tut Ankh Amon's mummy was in display there so we got to see it as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Guide was great, but could have actually walked into the temples and tombs with us, providing commentary like other tour guides we observed inside. Ours waited for us outside of each site.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

There are alot of other people everywhere you go and its really, really hot, but the tombs in Valley of the Kings are amazing. The decoration is incredible and its got a great atmosphere. Our guide was brilliant, he knew the best tombs to visit and told us heaps about them before we went inside. Also got to stop to buy some good quality Granite and Alabaster pieces and loved the air conditioned van.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was ok! Abdul my tour guide was very knowledgable. I took a tour to the east bank the day before with him.

To begin the tour felt incredibly rushed, Abdul- the egyptologist/guide seemed to not be interested in showing me around. Abdul, at times, seemed to be annoyed as if i had not paid for the tour. I also felt he was going to fall asleep as his boredom face couldn't have been any clearer.

Unlike the day before, He was very very very lazy. Did i say LAZY?.. He avoided walking around with me as much as possibly. At Hatshepsut temple, he only showed me the first floor, and then allowed me to walk up. I saw other guides, all around with their tourist, i felt he had gotten too comfortable from my tour the day before. I would have preferred a different guide.

While i wondered around he hung out with his friends at the shops and sites and I ended up waiting for him to finish up chatting. Very annoying!

Unlike my tours in Cairo, the tour guide NEVER offered to take me to any shops to buy anything. Again, i think he was too lazy to even do that.

At the end of the day, seeing the west bank was worth doing and highly recommend it. I honestly don't think you need a tour guide to take you to the these temples, unless you're one of those tourist who has tons of questions and/or too lazy to read it from a book. I did it, because i was alone on this trip, otherwise i would have skipped the tour all together.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I think the sites are beautifull and interesting but you need a guide that is proactive. Unfortunatelly mine wasn't and i'm sure it could have been better.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

The Valley of the Kings was interesting, but not as "big" as we expected. The tombs were rather small and very stuffy. Tutankhamen's tomb is not really worth the extra charge. It was more interesting to see everything excavated from the tomb at the Cairo Museum. Hatshepsut's Temple was neat and had a beautiful view of the Nile. Our tour guide was very irritable and made us feel very rushed. When my husband decided to try and negotiate a deal for some souvenirs, she seemed almost angry that she had to wait. I would definitely go see the Valley of the Kings and Hatshepsut's Temple, but it is better to see it without the guide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

The trip was nice and the guide knowledgeable. However at the end she took me to a store where I was expected to buy something. I am assuming she received some kind of kick back from it. If they offer it to you I recommend taking a pass on it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Worth it if you are not sure about how to get to the Valley of the Kings and how to get around the Valley of the Kings. Having done the tour and if I were to go back to V of K and Hats Temple I might try to go independently. That's because I could see the tombs that I want to see and as many as I want. And spend as much time as I want. Maybe one could tell the guide up front which tombs they want to see.

Gemma B
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Good tour, great for the information but if you just want to see the sights, do it on your own.

From USD $ 54.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124LUX01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message