Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Michael K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My tour was about average. The guide was knowledgable, but it seemed like I had to ask the questions. She did do a good job of describing the interior of the tombs before I went in. And I never felt rushed at any time. I must say that I was put off by the hard-sell sales tactics of the alabaster shop that we visited. I know most tours have this sort of thing. But the last thing I want to do on vacation is walk into a showroom and be hammered like I'm buying a car or something. Overall, this is a good way to see the tombs without getting scammed too hard. Recommended.

Lauren R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Michael was great-- he was really knowledgeable about the history and geography of the area, and we got into some really wonderful political discussions. He is friendly, interesting, and his English is extremely good. I think the only downpoint of the trip was that instead of being able to add going to another temple, we had to go to an alabaster factory. Given that people will try to sell you stuff all over Egypt, it's not really my preference to have to sit through even more hawking of goods when I am trying to sightsee.

David L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Our guide was terrific! The only reason I didn't give this a 5 star is because I wish that he had done something to deter all the touts. He left us on our own and when he was with us, he didn't speak to them either. He was extremely knowledgeable and we will certainly return to Egypt and us Viatours! Aloha, Pam

Krishnan ...  Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Thorough coverage of Thebes.

Lesley M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

loved these sights

Rana M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This trip was great. We saw so much and our guide was wonderful. He waited for us at the train station for 40+ minutes since we arrived on a later train than originally anticipated.

RV USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Our guide was helpful in explaining the sights. We felt that the tour ran a little short.

Juan Jose G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

The tour guide was nice, we arranged to go at noon to avoid bus tours and we were lucky since it was cloudy. You get to go inside of three tombs on the Valley of the Kings, is very hot inside, just try to enjoy the amazing decoration. The guide should ask you if you want to stop at shops, we would have rather spend more time at the sites. The downside to the tour is that you are the one responsible of getting in touch with the local tour agent, phone calls from hotel are expensive, they should be the ones calling you to the hotel.

Linda S USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Stunning. Helpful and articulate guide.

Tecwyn G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Private tour is recommended due to the late start and early return time compared to the ordinary tour. Excellent Egyptian guide and tour itinerary in Luxor.

Dennis B Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Good.

Morgan P Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Thank You Jasime was a very good guide we enjoyed ourselves.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Average guide, but great itinerary! We saw everything we wanted to see!

Stephen C United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Good guide and driver, very informative and good spoken English.

Fiona C United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Having your own guide and driver makes the trip very comfortable and easy. The guide was very knowledgeable though at times did appear that she was going through the motions. Was also taken to an alabaster 'factory' - and later discovered I paid well over the going rate for some canopic jars. Beware your guide may be receiving a commission.

Michelle R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. He described different hieroglyphics we would see in the tombs and what they meant.

Joan L United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Very good tour of the valley and Hatshepsut Temple. Timings were spot on. The guide was very informative and caring, particularly as I slipped over at the Temple and she was very attentive and sympathetic.

Benjamin C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

Driver and guide were on time, transportation was comfy with adequate AC you need that in Egypt! Guide spoke very good English and very knowledgeable. Before we entered each spot she took the time to first explain the history so we have a better understanding beforehand. Definitely worth it.

William H United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

Somewhere I have always wanted to see and it was certainly worth the wait. Our tour guide was very good and knowledgeable and answered all our questions expect a bit of hassle from vendors but if you don't want to buy then politely say no and move on. The heat was intense even at 6.30 in the morning so the tombs are a bit stuffy but really enjoyed it.

John H United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This was a good morning out, leaving the afternoon free; but an option for keen tourists could be to offer a longer visit or include the Valley of the Nobles.

Jackie M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2008

This was an informative and enjoyable tour. The guide was knowledgeable and thorough.

Yisel R USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The Valley of the Kings and the Hatshepsut Temple are very impressive. When we visited, Tut Ankh Amon's mummy was in display there so we got to see it as well.

David Z USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Guide was great, but could have actually walked into the temples and tombs with us, providing commentary like other tour guides we observed inside. Ours waited for us outside of each site.

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

There are alot of other people everywhere you go and its really, really hot, but the tombs in Valley of the Kings are amazing. The decoration is incredible and its got a great atmosphere. Our guide was brilliant, he knew the best tombs to visit and told us heaps about them before we went inside. Also got to stop to buy some good quality Granite and Alabaster pieces and loved the air conditioned van.

Roger Carias C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was ok! Abdul my tour guide was very knowledgable. I took a tour to the east bank the day before with him.

To begin the tour felt incredibly rushed, Abdul- the egyptologist/guide seemed to not be interested in showing me around. Abdul, at times, seemed to be annoyed as if i had not paid for the tour. I also felt he was going to fall asleep as his boredom face couldn't have been any clearer.

Unlike the day before, He was very very very lazy. Did i say LAZY?.. He avoided walking around with me as much as possibly. At Hatshepsut temple, he only showed me the first floor, and then allowed me to walk up. I saw other guides, all around with their tourist, i felt he had gotten too comfortable from my tour the day before. I would have preferred a different guide.

While i wondered around he hung out with his friends at the shops and sites and I ended up waiting for him to finish up chatting. Very annoying!

Unlike my tours in Cairo, the tour guide NEVER offered to take me to any shops to buy anything. Again, i think he was too lazy to even do that.

At the end of the day, seeing the west bank was worth doing and highly recommend it. I honestly don't think you need a tour guide to take you to the these temples, unless you're one of those tourist who has tons of questions and/or too lazy to read it from a book. I did it, because i was alone on this trip, otherwise i would have skipped the tour all together.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 54.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3124LUX01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message