4.5 star rating: Recommended 945 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 945 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is exceptional. You get to visit two amazing cities that are full of history. Highly recommended! For the Segovia tour, I highly recommend getting the most expensive lunch option. The lunch was delicious and included soup, main course, dessert, wine and coffee. The Tour Guide, Ana, was truly exceptional. She had a wealth of knowledge about both cities and the history of every place we visited.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

good tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Two cities in Spain you just cannot miss if you like Roman history. This tour was amazing with a very knowledgeable tour guide who spoke both Spanish and English. Definitely a must do tour from Madrid.

Warren and Nora, Henderson, NV

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour however there wasn't really enough time at either location to do everything wanted. The trip is definitely worth it, though. The tour guide, Hulia, was very informative, friendly, and helpful. She was also just plain out nice and pleasant to be around. Avila is suprisingly beautiful inside and out with a wall out of a fairy tale. Segovia is unbelievable! I'd suggested getting a fast-ish food lunch there so you have time to shop and look around the town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

These cities So beautiful and the history is amazing. Our tour guide Nuria did an awesome job of making these cities come alive for us!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I highly recommend the trip. It would be nice to have more free time at Avila. Both sites are well worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An excellent guide, very knowledgable. This tour was well organised and efficiently delivered on schedule. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Jorge, was great, just the right mix of information and humor. He kept on schedule during a very busy day and still allowed us free time. We loved the entire day, especially Segovia. This tour is very worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Carmen was very thoughtful and effective. One sentence in one language and then translate. Next time begin with opposite language and do the same, sentence by sentence!! She was very polite and knowledgeable! I am so grateful she was my guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My husband and I took this tour just last Sunday. We both recommend this day trip from Madrid to visit the medieval walled city of Avila and the 2,000 year old aqueduct in Segovia. The wall around Avila looks like it was built in this century because it is so pristine. You will be amazed by the 100-foot high aqueduct that is still standing even though no mortar was used to hold the stones together. Because it was a Sunday and services were in progress, we were only able to step inside for a peek at several beautiful churches in these two cities.
We opted for the gastronomic lunch in Segovia but we do not recommend that visitors do that. The food was okay and the server was a bit rude, but stopping for this meal left us no time to enjoy the festivities in the plaza, shop for souvenirs, or visit the cathedral because we had to rush to be on time to the meeting point at the Alcazar (a fortress/castle that looks like it was plucked from Disneyland and set down in Spain). We suggest that you bring along some hearty snacks and treat yourself to a nice dinner or yummy tapas and sangria at the Mercado de San Miguel when you return to Madrid.
The people at the tour operator were well organized and handled our transaction very smoothly. When they gave us our tickets, they told us to wait right there in the waiting room, which was already getting crowded and stuffy. We asked if we could wait outside and were given the okay. Maybe that should be part of their instructions as I believe a lot of people stayed inside for fear of missing the call for their bus.
Our guide, Nuria, deserves 6 stars. She was friendly and informative. She shared interesting information in English and Spanish along the way and at the many stops as we walked through the towns. She went above and beyond to help us find a store to buy a replacement media card for our camera by having the bus driver drop us off across from El Corte Ingles that was near our apartment. (Thank you again, Nuria! :o)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Carmen was great!!! Awesome guide !!!

MARÍA
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT...everything!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

One of the most visit if you can spend your time in Madrid. This tour offering city view and castles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an amazing tour, including the food/restaurant, and was well worth it.

From USD $ 99.57

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message