4.5 star rating: Recommended 932 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 932 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I highly recommend the trip. It would be nice to have more free time at Avila. Both sites are well worth seeing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

An excellent guide, very knowledgable. This tour was well organised and efficiently delivered on schedule. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Jorge, was great, just the right mix of information and humor. He kept on schedule during a very busy day and still allowed us free time. We loved the entire day, especially Segovia. This tour is very worthwhile.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Carmen was very thoughtful and effective. One sentence in one language and then translate. Next time begin with opposite language and do the same, sentence by sentence!! She was very polite and knowledgeable! I am so grateful she was my guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My husband and I took this tour just last Sunday. We both recommend this day trip from Madrid to visit the medieval walled city of Avila and the 2,000 year old aqueduct in Segovia. The wall around Avila looks like it was built in this century because it is so pristine. You will be amazed by the 100-foot high aqueduct that is still standing even though no mortar was used to hold the stones together. Because it was a Sunday and services were in progress, we were only able to step inside for a peek at several beautiful churches in these two cities.
We opted for the gastronomic lunch in Segovia but we do not recommend that visitors do that. The food was okay and the server was a bit rude, but stopping for this meal left us no time to enjoy the festivities in the plaza, shop for souvenirs, or visit the cathedral because we had to rush to be on time to the meeting point at the Alcazar (a fortress/castle that looks like it was plucked from Disneyland and set down in Spain). We suggest that you bring along some hearty snacks and treat yourself to a nice dinner or yummy tapas and sangria at the Mercado de San Miguel when you return to Madrid.
The people at the tour operator were well organized and handled our transaction very smoothly. When they gave us our tickets, they told us to wait right there in the waiting room, which was already getting crowded and stuffy. We asked if we could wait outside and were given the okay. Maybe that should be part of their instructions as I believe a lot of people stayed inside for fear of missing the call for their bus.
Our guide, Nuria, deserves 6 stars. She was friendly and informative. She shared interesting information in English and Spanish along the way and at the many stops as we walked through the towns. She went above and beyond to help us find a store to buy a replacement media card for our camera by having the bus driver drop us off across from El Corte Ingles that was near our apartment. (Thank you again, Nuria! :o)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Carmen was great!!! Awesome guide !!!

MARÍA
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT...everything!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

One of the most visit if you can spend your time in Madrid. This tour offering city view and castles.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was an amazing tour, including the food/restaurant, and was well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I love this trip and of course check my review about Jorge ,the tour guide and also the driver for a safe trip (forgot his name !)from our Toledo trip.He is well versed with the history of each place.Thanks for sharing him with us for 2 days !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was such a great tour. The guide knew tons of interesting things and was willing to answer all questions. The locations were awe inspiring and the lunch was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A great way to see the walled city of Avila and the Roman aqueduct in Segovia. Enjoyed the lunch in a 500 year old building and the tour of the cathedral and Alcazar.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guide Anna is very good and patient even for a non-native English speaker like me. The lunch set is recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Greta trip, tour left on time. They did seat us on the bus with the non-English speaking group because the other buss was full but the tour director on our bus translated for us. Sites were great, lunch was really good. Everythibg was great. Improvements… allow people to eat and drink on bus and the tour guide should stop periodically for pictures or at least tell us there will be time later for pics

From USD $ 99.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message