4.5 star rating: Recommended 964 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Avila and Segovia Day Trip from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 964 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Great tour of two historical sites. Be prepared for a lot of walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Jorge, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable, made things interesting and kept the momentum going. He narrated in three languages, but where most multi-lingual guides will begin a narrative as the topic site passes by; Jorge began his narrative well before we reached the site so that all three language participants knew ABOUT the site AT the site and not after the fact. We opted for the Gourmet Segovian lunch and were glad we did. It was more than we could consume and unfortunately doggy bags were not in vogue. The highlight of the tour was the Roman Aqueduct and Jorge generally explained the technical elements from construction technique to the engineering feat that it is. This tour is strongly recommended and hopefully, you will have Jorge as our guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour guide and the tour was definitely worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Well organized and fun trip. Both cities are worth seeing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved the two cities we visited. Both had excellent and authentic sites from the past. I wish we could have walked a little of the wall, but the guide said no. The lunch package was delicious. The bus was comfortable and driven with skill. Having been to other countries, visiting Spain was at the top of my list.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything about this day trip was great. Could not fault and was good value for money. To see the cathedrals, the castle, and the roman aqueduct in real life was amazing. I learnt so much about the history from our guide - she spoke English really well and had so much information to share. Great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Bloody awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide, Carmen, was both nice and knowledgeable, and the trip was extremely pleasant. Of the two lunch options offered, I recommend the slightly more expensive "gastronomico", for you get a really good value for your money (the first-class-quality Segovian suckling pig, wine etc.). Segovia is really special. The view from within the Alcazar is stunning and the aqueduct really amazing.

Pauline M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a thrill to see a huge Roman aqueduct right in Segovia itself! It was built entirely without cement, and the stones were crafted to appear square, but each one slopes slightly so the water will flow. For lunch (included) many of us chose the option of a typical Segovian meal, which was excellent and plentiful. The local gastronomy is meat-heavy, with lamb and suckling pig as the main elements. We visited an impressive royal palace (Alcazar) in Segovia and the guide was very informative about Spanish kings and queens, especially Ferdinand and Isabella. There were busts of all the rulers around the walls of one room, near the ceiling.
St Teresa of Avila is probably the best-known personage connected with Avila. She was an educated woman who chose the life of the convent over the difficult life (and early death in childbirth) of married women at that time. In pre-Christian times, there was a cult of bull-worship in the area. Statues of bulls were placed in cemeteries to protect the dead. This tour was very interesting in demonstrating the long and diverse history of occupation in the region, and for the excellent historical commentary by the guide.
Avila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was amazing !! Learned so much from our guide Carmen. She was thorough and patient. We were also blessed with great weather.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was another well organised and operated tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable regarding all aspects of the cathedrals and monuments as well as really knowing her Spanish history. We had free time to explore in Segovia, and the aqueduct and alcazar were amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great tour - our tour guide, Nuria, was fantastic! The only negative was there was no time for shopping in Segovia if you booked the lunch. Otherwise, my mother, sister and I thought that the tour was wonderful!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was an amazing full day tour. Highly recommend the traditional lunch. We were lucky enough to have a group of tourist from all over the world and had great conversations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful place but a very rude and mean tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Had a great day out and about in Avila and Segovia, the tour, sights and scenery were wonderful and our guide was patient and informative, well worth doing!!!

From USD $ 96.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message