4 star rating: Recommended 294 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 294 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour.It was pouring with rain but it didn't dampen our spirits too much.The monastery was the first stop and on the way we were able to see the huge cross that dominates the Valley of the Fallen.The. Monastery is a huge beautiful building.One third is a working monastery and another third is a private school.The guide explained the main features of the main rooms of the former palace.The bus parks in the main bus station so you can have a quick pit stop on the way back as there is a bakery nearby if you need to grab a snack.On to the valley of the Fallen.
Cross shrouded in cloud-it was an awful day like I said.
Awesome building.Definitelty makes you think, but so glad to see it.Ive read about it in books and novels but to see it in the flesh was amazing.
,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Well worthwhile. All went like clockwork. Franco's tomb was chillingly awesome and the valley had the same dark presence that pervades Glencoe.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was wonderful - the tour guide Sofia was excellent - would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Spanish contemporary history in beatiful mountain surroundings

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The monastery is breathtaking, and the Valley of the Fallen (which I had never heard of before going there) is a unique sight. Well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Guide was excellent. He explained about as much for the Spanish speakers as the English speakers. We had an excellent English speaking guide for inside El Escorial as the group was split by language. As a mining engineer I found the underground basilica at Valley of the Fallen quite incredible. How were such a large opening constructed in the 1940-50s? Forget the politics.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Best trip ever

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour is very good BUT it is extremely tedious if given in more than 2 languages as ours was.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great history of spanish kings.
Amazing cathedral carved into a mountain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour was very enjoyable, guide explained sites very well and we had about right time in each place. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

George was great. We really enjoyed our time and he took the time to newer all our questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour, we were lucky as we had a spanish only group since they were able to move english speakers to a separate group. Which means we didn't have to hear the same stuff repeated. Either way our tour guide spoke English, Spanish, and Italian very well. The speed was just right and the bus and schedule was on point. It really would be impossible to see all this on your own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Had it not been for this tour I would not have enjoyed these places as well as I did. There is no doubt that they are worth visiting and this trip which was so well organised just made it a very memorable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great time and the guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A wonderful part of Spanish history. If you have the time, do this trip.

From USD $ 75.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–65)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA09

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message