4 star rating: Recommended 295 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 295 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Guide was excellent. He explained about as much for the Spanish speakers as the English speakers. We had an excellent English speaking guide for inside El Escorial as the group was split by language. As a mining engineer I found the underground basilica at Valley of the Fallen quite incredible. How were such a large opening constructed in the 1940-50s? Forget the politics.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Best trip ever

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour is very good BUT it is extremely tedious if given in more than 2 languages as ours was.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great history of spanish kings.
Amazing cathedral carved into a mountain.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour was very enjoyable, guide explained sites very well and we had about right time in each place. Would recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

George was great. We really enjoyed our time and he took the time to newer all our questions.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent tour, we were lucky as we had a spanish only group since they were able to move english speakers to a separate group. Which means we didn't have to hear the same stuff repeated. Either way our tour guide spoke English, Spanish, and Italian very well. The speed was just right and the bus and schedule was on point. It really would be impossible to see all this on your own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Had it not been for this tour I would not have enjoyed these places as well as I did. There is no doubt that they are worth visiting and this trip which was so well organised just made it a very memorable experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great time and the guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A wonderful part of Spanish history. If you have the time, do this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed this a lot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Tour was excellent and left and returned on time. The guide gave his information in both English and Spanish and he was very informative and spoke English very well..
Since there was a small group the bus was not full we were able to spread out and be comfortable.
I would recommend this tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our trip to El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen was great ... well organized and a very good guide. We also did the p.m. tour of Madrid on the same day ... also well organized but the tour was ruined by taking us to the Hard Rock Cafe for nearly an hour ... certainly not the Madrid we wanted to see

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We would highly recommend this tour. Both the Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen monument are fabulous - very different eras of history but both fascinating.
We were the only English speakers on our tour - it was a small group - but our tour guide still took the time to explain everything to us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Best thing I have done in Spain so far!

From USD $ 81.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–65)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA09

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message