4 star rating: Recommended 343 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 343 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Another piece of art outside Madrid. The history behind El Escorial walls is magnificent. A tour that will take you back and deep in the history of Europe and the Spanish Monarchy.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

enjoyed trip, guide very knowledgable, and made this very large place managable and understanable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Lovely tour with a very well-informed tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

It was nice, and even though the valley of the fallen was closed, we still got to see a very extensive visit of the Escorial's Library.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Definitely easier to take a tour than to go there on my own. Escorial is beautiful and the tour guide was really detailed in info. I recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great tour and knowledge.

Gerald T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The trip was very interesting, as i was the only English speaker the guide took the time to explain everything twice for my benefit. The other guests did not mind.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A must-have trip. I strongly recommend. Thanks, Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Absolutely wonderful tour - highly recommend. Guide was very friendly and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very professionally done. I felt there was adequate time allowed at each location. Departure and arrivals were on time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Excellent trip with a very professional gide. The trip was very informative, the bus very comfortable & the whole experience was very enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

Found the tour interesting and informative, well organized. The monastery and the Valley of the fallen memorial was far more than I expected. Great to experience the aspects important to Spain's history away from Madrid. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Beautiful trip. Tour operator on time and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

El Escorial was much more interesting than I had expected, and our guide was exceptionally informative throughout. Her input was the key to a memorable trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Wish we had spent more time at El Escorial.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

I was awestruck descending into the royal crypt at El Escorial. One can easily imagine entering a Pharoh's tomb. That experience alone is worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

As a single traveler, I felt safe, and the knowledgeable guides made it more interesting.

H B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

The monastery and Valley of the Fallen were both amazing experiences, not to be missed, especially Valley of the Fallen. Only criticism was that we would have liked to spend longer at both, especially Valley of the Fallen, which we intend to go back to another time for a more leisurely visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

This was a great tour. There is a lot of walking, that is not really clear in the description. We took the one with Toledo and there was even more walking and steps. I don't recommend doing this tour in summer as it was hot already. The guide was rushing us at times but the history was great. The lunch was very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

The trip to El Escorial and The Valley of the Fallen was great! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided detailed information about two very interesting sites from Spanish history. I would definitely recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

Trip was wonderful, the tour was very interesting and both sites should not be missed when traveling to Spain. Absolutely loved it. We did the tour only and I think it was really worth it.

Kevin H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Very interesting.

Juana G
Dominican Republic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Amazing experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our experience was great. The guide was very patient especially that he had to repeat himself in Spanish and English. Explained in detail and answered all questions. The tour was great with enough time at each location. The staff were also pleasant and helpful.

From USD $ 71.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA09

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message