4 star rating: Recommended 300 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 300 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

The trip was very well organized. Guide was realy nice and gave us a lot of interesting information

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our tour to El Escorial Monastery Was Excellent! We had informative guides and when we reached our destination they devided us into english and non english which was very helpful!!! We were also lucky that the Valley of the Fallen had just recently opened so were able to have a wonderful tour there as well!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Dear Viator,

My comments ditto from my submission regarding the Toledo half-day tour.

Thank you again.

Marina T. Rodriguez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Excellent and informative guide. And what a monastery/palace/place of learning. A must for anyone interested in Spanish history! Very memorable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellent and led by a superb guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Windy cold day, El Escorial is at a higher elevation so be prepared dress-wise depending on the time of year. Our guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

The Valley of the Fallen was closed for renovations, so we spent an extended time at El Escorial which was great! The guide was fantastic. I was impressed because she had to give the tour in English, Spanish and Italian and did it phenomenally!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

El Escorial is fascinating and the small town there is very beautiful. This is a must see location. The tour didn;'t go to the Valley of the Fallen. The guide was excellent, very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Excellent tour guide and itinerary! My best friend and I enjoyed having extra time at El Escorial since we were not able to visit the Valley of the Fallen.

Karen D
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Escorial Monastery is a beautiful place...tour leader Julia was excellent...it's a pity we couldn't go to Valley of the fallen cause they told us it was closed for the last year

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent ! I strongly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Well worth visiting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great Trip. Wonderful Guide. I learned a lot and would recommend this company and trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The excellent guide spoke English very well and gave lots of interesting information both on the bus ride to the Monastery and while on the tour itself inside the Monastery. The tour lasted longer than expected because the guide took extra time during the tour to answer questions or give additional information besides a simple recitation of the facts.

I do wish that we were able to have a bit more time to take exterior photos: once the tour was over there was not a lot of time left and we could not walk around the exterior of the building or on the grounds. We were also not allowed to take any interior photos, with or without flash, which was somewhat disappointing.

Overall, it was a great way to spend a half-day and was one of the highlights of my trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Very nice trip. The guide was excellent and made a great difference in our enjoyment of the trip. She took special pains to make certain that we and only one other English speaking couple were totally informed.

From USD $ 76.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–65)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA09

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message