4 star rating: Recommended 295 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 295 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Karen D
Malta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Escorial Monastery is a beautiful place...tour leader Julia was excellent...it's a pity we couldn't go to Valley of the fallen cause they told us it was closed for the last year

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent ! I strongly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Well worth visiting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great Trip. Wonderful Guide. I learned a lot and would recommend this company and trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The excellent guide spoke English very well and gave lots of interesting information both on the bus ride to the Monastery and while on the tour itself inside the Monastery. The tour lasted longer than expected because the guide took extra time during the tour to answer questions or give additional information besides a simple recitation of the facts.

I do wish that we were able to have a bit more time to take exterior photos: once the tour was over there was not a lot of time left and we could not walk around the exterior of the building or on the grounds. We were also not allowed to take any interior photos, with or without flash, which was somewhat disappointing.

Overall, it was a great way to spend a half-day and was one of the highlights of my trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Very nice trip. The guide was excellent and made a great difference in our enjoyment of the trip. She took special pains to make certain that we and only one other English speaking couple were totally informed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

well organized tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Highly recommended tour! The Departure Point is easy to find in a popular area of Madrid. The coach taken to El Escorial is big and nice. The tour guide was fantastic and the Escorial is breathtaking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Not only did the site provide for a great tour, all of the incidentals were great. The bus was very clean and comfortable, but best of all, the tour guide was fantastic. I highly recommend this tour and this company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

very interesting, lot of walking, guide was so so, but ok...

Jason M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

just great, the valley of the fallen has been closed with no reopening date notified yet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Another piece of art outside Madrid. The history behind El Escorial walls is magnificent. A tour that will take you back and deep in the history of Europe and the Spanish Monarchy.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

enjoyed trip, guide very knowledgable, and made this very large place managable and understanable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Lovely tour with a very well-informed tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

It was nice, and even though the valley of the fallen was closed, we still got to see a very extensive visit of the Escorial's Library.

From USD $ 79.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–65)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA09

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message