4 star rating: Recommended 354 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the El Escorial Monastery and the Valley of the Fallen from Madrid. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 354 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our experience was great. The guide was very patient especially that he had to repeat himself in Spanish and English. Explained in detail and answered all questions. The tour was great with enough time at each location. The staff were also pleasant and helpful.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

Very enjoyable and informative.

Lynn M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

It was a cold but clear and sunny January day as we took in the sights of El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen. We enjoyed both very much. In addition to the historical and architectural interest of these sites, the views from both hillside locations were splendid! Our tour guide was quite knowledgeable and patient in providing his commentary in both Spanish and English, particularly so as we were the only English speakers of the group. We highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

Great tour and great tour guide. El Escorial is a not to be missed experience. Guide walked slowly and translated well back and forth between Spanish and English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

This was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

The tour we took in Toledo was extremely fast, but this tour was much slower and much more detailed. The tombs and the area's history were very interesting. Worth seeing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

The guide did an excellent job describing the tour. Both tour sites show significant historic aspects of Spain. It was very impressive to be in the 'Panteon de los Reyes' in the presence of the sarcophagi of the kings of Spain. There is only one word to describe the basilica and courtyard of El Escorial and that is impressive. Highly recommended and well worth the price.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

Anyone visiting Madrid is making a big mistake if they don't visit these two incredible sites. The price was no more than if we had booked something locally. Viator did their part of the job well.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed this tour very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

very good comfortable bus guide spoke good english

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good trip with a well informed guide Jorge. Worth both the time and the money

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good trip. Not too long. Valley of Fallen is a fantastic site. Like all Madrid trips lots of walking involved however this was the least arduous.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good and interesting tour but a bit rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good. Wish there is more detail given on both. Fallen was just time given for us to walk around by ourselves.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good pace and a little free time. I would recommend

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Loved these two places. It was great to go with a tour group and we would do it again. The reason I didn't give it a 5 is the local tour operator. They are totally disorganized in the morning before the tour. All they had to do is hold up a a sign so that people could see which group to go with. Instead it was chaos! A few people got on the wrong tour. They need better management. One more issue was that of lunch. The place they organized the lunch served terrible food! Loved El Escorial and the Valley of the Fallen though!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very good. Worthy of taking.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour and guide. However, the Travel office very dis-organised and confusing - mostly because far too small for the number of non-local people and tours departing around the same time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our guide Carmen was very knowledgeable and informative. Wish we had more time at Valley of the Fallen to walk around on our own. We were given about 20 minutes. Worth the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour, great timing - the guide was very knowledgeable and good!
I only give four stars because my seat in the bus wasn't working well, but I think it was only me.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip though would have preferred our tour guide take us inside to do the explaination at the valley of the fallen as trying to remember all that was said on the coach was hard. The El Escorial monastery part was very good. Would recommend the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a fast paced tour but in half a day we saw some amazing sights and had a great historical experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Quick half day trip. A bit hurried at Escorial, but plenty of time at the Valley of the Fallen. Overall happy with the experience.

mollyzr1
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

El Escorial is one of my favorite sites to visit in Spain. This was my 4th visit, but my husband's first. For 25 years, I've been telling him how incredible the library is, and we did not get to go into the library. We were very disappointed. Otherwise the tour was great. Our guide was knowledgable and presented all the information in English, Italian, and Spanish clearly.

From USD $ 73.37

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA09

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message