4 star rating: Recommended 142 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Madrid Card. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 142 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

The experience could have been much better, should add transportation to the card even charge a little more.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

This was really a waste of time and money. Maybe since we travelled in late September, there were short lines and tickets were easy to purchase. The team at the kiosk in the airport were very rude. I would not do this again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Used it mainly for subway and a couple museums

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Must plan to visit numerous visits covered by card otherwise not worth the money

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The card was good to have to avoid the long lines especially at the Prado.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

It was good especially for skip the line but not much to do with

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

We felt a little cheated. We (five of us) all thought it would cover El Escorial. Also, we were expected to pay something at the Naval Museum. So the Madrid Card didn't make that free. So the Madrid Card value is a little questionable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

It is worth it if you are planning to spend a lot of time there. We did not have enough time to do a lot.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Car was good for skipping the long lines for tickets

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Good for the musuems - however, did not use it for much else.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The card was more useful for two day period rather than more days.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Never used it :)

Because the one museum where wanted to use it on that Museeum was actually free without hte madrid card even, if the madrid card said that it was free with ther card.

That was naval Museeum

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

The card was helpful and allowed us to avoid ticket lines. We were not allowed to take a City Tour as promised. The bu person said that they no longer had arrangement so charged us--that was not as promised.

Note from Viator: We are following up with our local supplier based on your feedback. Thanks for alerting us to this issue, your feedback is a critical part in our ability to ensure a quality experience from our local suppliers.

lilly
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

we did not have to withe on queue, the one day card we just managed to see the royal palace and Prado museum .

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Would have been worth it if the strike was not on. But yes I would buy it again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Indeed I was able to avoid the lines at the Prado but the card was refused at the Thyssen Museum and I had to return to the tourist office for a new card. Then many museums did not recognize the card and did not allow free entrance - even with the name of the museum in your booklet! Better awareness of your programme with all Madrid Museums needs to be much improved.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The card grants access to many museums, but not to any means of transportation. It would be very helpful to alert travelers that this card needs to be purchased along with the Tourist Travel Pass. The only advantage of the card is not having to stand in line to buy tickets.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

One aspect is that I was not allowed to return to a museum once I had visited it... this was NOT clear when I bought the card. The Thyssen continued to charge for add on exhibits ! So not exactly free access.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

This card would be good value for money IF you go in the summer, we went during February. Considering Madrid is a capital city we expect things to be open, however the booklet did not make it clear when places were shut. We turned up to 3 attractions all of which were closed! It felt as if we had wasted our day travelling to all these places, to be greeted by a closed sign. Also when we did find somewhere that we wanted to go it was not clear where abouts in the city it was - having a map which pinpoints the location would be helpful.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

I typically recommend this card and buy one wherever I travel primarily due to the skip-the-line features and not because of a savings. I purchased the 48-hour card and wish I wouldn't have.

The only attraction where there was a line was Palacio Real. The other problem was the lack of up-to-date information, such as attractions that were closed for the season, incorrect hours that a building was open and buildings closed for renovation. Overall a huge disappointment.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Madrid card. Would not use it again. Only reason to get this card was to avoid lines. There were not very long lines. Many places had special pricing for seniors making the card not economical. One person's card lost it's id and there was a hassle with getting it recharged. Also there was a big line at the tourist area to get the cards issued in the first place. The the clerk didn't want to give us 4 cards and was only going to give us one card despite what was written on the invoice. Poor organization and poor value.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

We bought the Madrid Card from Viator which we were supposed to pick up from the airport - terminal 2 Metro Customer Service. We arrived Xmas day and the staff there had never heard of the card and they insisted we should get it from our hotel. We finally had to go the next day to Plaza Mayor.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

We were disappointed that the card did not include travel on the Metro. We used it for a few discounted admissions, but overall, it was a waste of money for us.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Most of the features on this card "free something!" isn't

1) worth seeing that much
2) don't cost that much on their own, that u are paying over the cost of what u would if you paid them separately. Don't get this.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

Not as good ad the Barcelona card! Kinda useless..

From USD $ 52.69

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3688MADCUL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message