4 star rating: Recommended 166 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Madrid City Sightseeing and Royal Palace Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 166 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Dharmilla T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Very good tour company and very friendly guide. But a little disorganised, and the "stop" in the City Centre for photos was not really the best place for the best photos.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

He did a good job, especially for doing three languages, but it would have been better if the company separated the languages and did not try to put everyone in one group.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The Royal Palace was worth seeing. It had a lot of history and beautiful interiors. The tourist trap was the Flamenco dancer and shop. Had nothing to do with the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

It was Sunday morning, no big traffic. Our guide was quite a nice lady. We could have spent more time in royal palace with the Cathedral visit, which was not part of the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

I thought we spent too much time at the University City, we could have used a bit more history of Madrid.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The discription is that the tour lasts 3hours. This does not include the Palace tour and this was anothet 2 hours so in total 5 hours which we did not expect. Make sure that you take water to drink as only 1 stop. Tour started at 9am to we did not get out of the Palace until 2.30

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The guide had to speak both english and spanish which limited the amount of information conveyed

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This is an interesting tour but sort of a mixture of tours. After the initial chaos and confusion about what tour this is and etc. We are loaded onto the bus, taken off, and put back on. There are four differing tours bunched together to be dropped in different places...
The first part, on the bus takes us through the city for the sightseeing tour which is ok, but seems to be long for some reason, there is a lot to see, but the hop on off bus could have been better. The palace tour though, was quite good and the guide knew his stuff. The palace is good to see and the tour moves along quite well considering the amount of people here. Thanks to George for his good knowledge of the tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Good overview of Madrid, tour of Royal Palace was very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was divided into two parts really, a coach tour around the city with the guide calling out points of interest and relating some history and interesting facts. It was OK and allowed you to note certain things you might want to go back and look again. The second part was the tour on foot around the Royal Palace with a guide providing a commentary in each room. Very grand place and enjoyed this opportunity.
Overall worth doing if you have a few hours to spare.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Sightseeing part was a waste of time. Tour of the Palace was very well done.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

To me a good way to get introduced to a new city when you have a limited amount of time is to go on a bus tour. So that was very well done, even though the guide was a little hard to understand sometimes. We passed all of the major points of interest. It was January, the weather was cold so it was nice to be on a bus rather than walking around with a map. The palace tour was very informative and the palace itself is quite spectacular. I do wish we had spent a little more time in each room, there was so much detail to appreiciate. Also interesting, though not part of the guided tour was the arms room and the pharmacy. Our guide told us where they were before she left us and we did these on our own. Bottom line, I'm glad we did this tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Guide gave only basic information in English.
Food, pre-booked as vegetarian, bit limited.
Tour still worth doing/

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Tour was supposed to be in English only but was in Spanish as well, very awkward, no time for questions. However, the guide tried very hard to make it work and supplied some interesting insights at the palace and on the sightseeing tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

As new arrivals in Madrid, this tour was worth doing - except for the long break at the Hard Rock Café, which was really all about kickbacks for the tour company. The walking part was the best, particularly the Royal Palace. On the bus, you drive past lots of sights which you only get to see from the bus window as you go past. It would be nice to stop for a few minutes so you can take some decent pictures.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The Royal Palace tour was excellent - the rest was just OK. There was not a dedicated English speaking guide, so we had to listen to everything in both Spanish and not very good English.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

I loved seeing the palace and walking in the garden. I didn't really care much for our tour guide, she wasn't very friendly or approachable, I don't even remember her name.

NGS
India

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The palace was awesome

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

It was just OK. Would have liked more of a walking tour for the sight seeing part rather than being on a bus. The Royal palace tour was good too.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Good all round tour for first timers in Madrid

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

A nice introduction to the city. We did get out to see the Royal Palace, otherwise we were just viewing key sites by bus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Very much like the Hop-on Hop-off, but with ability to get into the Royal Palace. The guide was helpful, but the Royal Palace tour was very short. Taking the time to go into the Cathedral next door is well worth your time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Royal palace is great !!!
Sightseeing tour was ok, very hard to understand accent !!!

From USD $ 44.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA06

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message