3.5 star rating: Worth doing 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Madrid City Tour and Santiago Bernabeu Stadium. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Trip began 15 minutes late due to an irrate traveler. It ended early, and we had a great tour, but it was awfully quick for the price we paid. Nice sights. We went to the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium as part of the package. Great tour, but it was a self tour. When done, we were left there without much direction as to where to catch the bus. Beautiful city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

The tour was good considering we had a very short stay.......got an overall view. The tour stopped with a drop off to the stadium but there was no guided tour as expected....

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

Tour before hand was not as I expected it to be, rode around the city on a coach with only 1 stop at Hard Rock cafe before we got off at Bernabau. As a football fan this tour was amazing and the only reason I booked. You can however make your own way there and pay to get in which would be cheaper.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

This tour was a bit of a disaster. The roads around Madrid were closed due to a bicycle race and we could not get to many of the attractions. They offered a walking tour from one point but it was not the same.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I loved visiting the stadium, however, it should have been clearer in the itinerary that in the middle of the 3 hr tour only those that paid to tour the stadium were being dropped off at the stadium to do the tour alone. Of a group of about 20 people, i was let off across the street from the stadium by myself--didn't even get the full 3 hour tour of the city!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2010

Bernabeu stadium part of the trip was excellent and value for money however it is advisable to use an open top bus tour for madrid as you can see very little from the coach.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

The tour was not 100% in English.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The tour leader was unaware that we were supposed to end at the Bernabeu Stadium so we made our own way there the next day with a voucher that gained us free access. The tour was generally rather disappointing ending with a free drink at Planet Hollywood, not very Spanish!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

The trip said English speaking guide.. unfortunately the guide also spoke spainsh and italian so felt she was talking that 90% of the time instead of english.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Upon booking this trip Viator asked us to get in touch with the local tour company in Madrid. It was an unpleasant experience locating the tour company as its address and Tel No was missing in the communication received by us. It was with considerable difficulty we could reach them. Upon arrival, sales people found our presence most unwelcome. We were asked to stand outside in the sun as their counters were crowded. The tour itself was haphazard. We were not shown many sights of the city where we went on our own the next day. It is a waste of time and money. The Bernabeu Stadium was fantastic. The tour left us there so we were on our own.

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback. For any future tours booked, please be sure you refer to the voucher that is emailed to you for each tour. The voucher contains the address and telephone number for the local tour operator, as well as other important information about reconfirming your tour, or directions and pick-up times. We are sorry to hear you had an unfavorable experience with portions of your tour, but hope you were still able to enjoy the remainder of your stay.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Initially we enjoyed the tour, but the fact that we were dropped off at the stadium was never made clear to us and we were left to fend for ourselves in a strange city. I found that indefensible!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

We had a knowledgeable tour guide but I am sure we missed a lot of information as we were part of a Spanish-English language tour group. Our guide was translating both languages and some sights were missed while she was translating for the other language. Best to get an all English tour if possible. The stadium tour is done on your own. The tour guide told us to just enter thru a gate using the vouchers provided. We were not informed that we had to get tickets (about 100-125 people in line). Good thing I decided to check at the counter and showed our vouchers so we were instantly given tickets. Prior to checking at the counter, I tried calling the local tour operator and they weren't helpful at all. I asked how come the guide told us to just enter thru a particular gate but was told to get tickets instead. Lady who took my call just kept saying she didn't know and that I should just ask at the counter.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

Would not really recommend this combined tour definately better to book the hop on hop of bus and the bernabeu stadium tickets separatly as we found out that on board the bus it never dropped us of at any of the citys's attractions just to the Hard Rock Cafe for a free soda could do without this was dissapointed all in all but we did enjoy the Bernabeu stadium

Alesha S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

The city tour was average but we did it on our first day there which was quite good as you get an idea of where everything is and what you want to go back and see again. The stadium tour was good, fun if you like football.

Joanne K
Singapore

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

The the city tour was a little boring, but I enjoyed the Real Madrid stadium tour, which was on my own actually.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

The tour of the stadium was brilliant but I don't think we went on the correct tour before hand. We seem to have been lumped in with a different tour group. We didn't get to visit the Hard Rock, instead we stopped at an expensive gift shop. Once we were dropped off at the stadium we had entry to everything, the museum, trophy rooms, we went pitch side and into the dressing rooms. Well worth it.

George M
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

Arrived at 9.15 am for the tour to be told it did not go until the afternoon. We had confirmation and an information leaflet that stated 9.15 am. No guide for the tour. Did not see all of the stadium. Overall disappointing and not impressed with the organisation.

DONALD J
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2008

The city tour was very short, and we didn't get any transport back into the city centre when we finished touring the football stadium. The was not as good as I had expected. I was hoping to see more of the city. It would have been better if the ticket voucher were clearer about the departure point.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

For the first time we were disappointed with Viator booking. Tour guide did not even introduced herself. She was talking a lot to Spanish speaking group, and was just dropping sentences in English here and there. We do not know more about Madrid after the tour than we knew before. It was waste of time and money. We finish the tour at the Real Madrid Football Stadium (actually we were just dropped by the stadium by our bus and given wrong information where to collect our tickets). We did the tour of the stadium on our own and this was the best part of the whole trip. The meeting point for the tour, did not offer restrooms. They kept sending us to a Cafe next door, where employees of the cafe did not allow us to use their facilities either. Oh what a mess.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

Staff in the Madrid office are NOT friendly and are generally unhelpful. One staff member led the group across a busy street to the bus wihout bothering to look for oncoming traffic and left half the group accross the street. She failed to notify our guide that we had the Bernabeu Stadium tour included and failed to tell us that our package was special - i.e. that the entre group was not stopping at the stadium. Therefore, the bus sailed by the stadium and we had to take a taxi all the way back to complete our tour. The guide was nice but not sufficiently fluent in English and was stressed by having to give the tour in three languages. Very poor job overall....

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

When paying for any tour you would expect it to be run by a well oiled, and organised outfit. What we encountered where disinterested staff with As conveyer belt attitude. I would not recommend.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

This was a total waste of time and money. We booked an English speaking tour and it really was not! The tour guide spoke Spanglish at best and she offered very little detail on each of the sites that you simply drove by. As far as the Stadium, it was not worth the time to see it and it was so poorly run that you could not figure out how to get to each of the areas and at times were herding into areas that they tried to force you to take photographs you did not want. I would not recommend this tour to anyone.

MARTYN W
United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

The tour started 30 minutes late, the guide asked a lady to get off the bus with her child because her husband was late from a very hurried stop off at the Hard Rock Cafe , the tour was in Spanish and English meaning that the info was either too early or too late. them dropped off at the stadium

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

Tour of Madrid was poor. Although we had an English speaking guide, 50% of the time she was speaking in Spanish. She also failed to alert everyone the tour was starting resulting in people running after her to ask "is this the Madrid trip?". On the trip she walked ahead of everyone with little engagement, leaving some elderly tourists way behind. The funniest bit was when she said "now we are going to...." and finished the sentence in Spanish leaving both English and Spanish not knowing what was going on. Sound on the coach was very quiet as well. Would have been much better of the guide had shown some interest in the group. The tour of the Bernabeu was great. It is self-guided though.

From USD $ 52.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA13

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message