• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 65 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour including Royal Palace. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 65 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Since we were in Madrid on Good Friday, our tour was pretty much just us. The tour guide Clara was really good, very knowledgeable and professional. We walked around the city and toured the Palace. The palace was very impressive . bring your walking shoes!!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

THIS WAS OUR FAVORITE TOUR. TOUR GUIDE WAS EFFICIENT AND DID A NICE JOB SHOWING US AROUND OLD MADRID, STOPPING FOR A COFFEE AT THE PALACE WAS A NICE EXPERIENCE

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour was fine; the guides both very nice. For my own personal taste, it's all about the telling of stories during the tour, and not just "this is 200 years old, this was the market square" and so on. There weren't enough of those on this tour for my taste. On the positive side, it was a great overview of the central part of Madrid and the rooms of the Royal Palace. The group was a good size and the guides were great at answering any questions. I would recommend the tour as a good starting point for a Madrid trip.

BARRY A
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

THIS TOUR WAS MAINLY ABOUT THE ROYAL PALACE WHICH WE FOUND VERY IMPRESSIVE AND INTERESTING. THE WALKING TOUR OF MADRID WAS QUITE SHORT AND I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT IF YOU WANTED A COMPREHENSIVE TOUR OF THE CITY. MAKE SURE IT IS THE PALACE THAT YOU REALLY WANT TO SEE ON THIS TOUR.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable but she didn't introduce herself or the only other couple on the tour and knew nothing about the complimentary chocolate and churros that we all understood were part of the tour - my main incentive for booking!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Thanks Isabel for the very personalised tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide was awesome.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

The tour guide was awesome.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

I didn't like the fact that we had to go all the way to the Bernabeu football stadium just to drop 2 persons there. Football stadium was not part of the city tour. Our tour guide was very good but Madrid is not a very interesting city so you are better of visiting Royal Palace with a guide and on your own Museo del Prado Thyssen-Bornemisza and Museo National Reina Sofia. Open top city tour bus would be a better choice for getting an idea about Madrid’s main sites.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Nice palace but the tour was a bit underwhelming. Seemed a long walk by the time we finished the palace and I couldn't be bothered doing the second half. Tour guide was nice but a bit difficult to understand at times.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Worst tour in my whole visit. Very slow paced, could probably do all the site visits myself and will be no worst at the end. The group was made of French, Spanish and English speaking tourists so the guide had to repeat everything in french, spanish and english. She did not seem to take the time to explain properly and only spoke the bare minimum. Very disappointed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

We ended up being the only 2 on the tour so it essentially was a private tour, not bad right? Well, it seems our guide came in at the last second and was eager to get the trip over with. There was no narrative from the guide. If my wife and I did not keep asking questions the guide was content to be silent and just keep walking. On these walking tours the most important component is the guide. They can make or break the tour... this one was broken.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Tour guide very disappointing, did not have very much information about the city. Even though we were 4 of a family in the group, she could not be heard, and did not make any effort to make the tour interesting. Later we had another guide for the palace who was better

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2012

This was not as bad as Toledo, but the guide was second-rate and again there was "bait and switch" involved. A tour advertised as in English was once again bi-lingual- taking twice as long and imparting half as much info. The groups size was also lied about. When we got to the palace- another group joined us- making us at least 12 people instead of the stipulated 6.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2012

Did not enjoy this tour at all. We had a less-than-enthusiastic tour guide who walked so slowly that it put us to sleep. It was also advertised as an English tour but we had some Spanish people in the group which meant that the tour guide had to speak in English and Spanish. We did not learn much on the tour and could have done all of it by ourselves. Definitely not worth the money spent. I am sure this depends on the guide you get and we were just unlucky.

From USD $ 65.58

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA07

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message