Insider's Guide to Madrid

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 113 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Laurence S

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Okay tour, saw the highlights, but no chances for photos, the rain didn't help, but it did give us a good overview of the city.

Alexandra V

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The trip was around the entire city, which was great, but the bus moved very quickly which made it difficult to really appreciate each stop. The tour guide announced everything twice (once in Spanish and once in English), which also made it difficult to appreciate everything, as by the time she announced it in English we were already moving to the next thing. But it did give a great idea of the city and let me know what I should visit later on foot.

Paolo B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

Pretty good for getting to know the city as a whole. It was to last 3 hours, actually it lasted 2 hours and 15 minutes (of which, 25 minutes were spent at the Hard Rock Cafè, which was anyway pretty nice). I wiah we had had more stops (at least 2 more, since we only had one at the Hard Rock) to take pictures.

Irene Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

We expected the tour guide could talk more about the city instead of just the names of the places.

Biljana B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

OK, bit boring.

Luigi G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Our tour guide was awful and it made the whole tour disappointing. We were rushed throughout and she continually scolded the bus drive. The bus driver (Fernan) was amazing. We complained at the local office.

Piyanuj S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The tour guide can not speak good English. We couldn't understand half of what she said.

Gerard S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Guide was a little too hurried with the tour - threatening if we were in any way late.

I did not come away with a better knowledge of Madrid

Richard C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Very disappointing tour. The Viator website said this was a 3 hour tour but it was only 2 hours 25 minutes, including a 25 minute stop at the Hard Rock Cafe. Good glimpse into American pop history but strange choice for a tour of Madrid. The guide spoke good English but because there were no other stops or even any opportunities to photograph anything the tour became a little boring. The website advertised a walk through the old part of Madrid but there was no walk, we were on the bus the whole time. It kind of left the impression that there was nothing worth stopping for in this beautiful city. At the end we were dropped at a different part of Madrid to where the tour started and had to find our own way back to our hotel.

akutsenko

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

This trip was sold as English speaking guided tour. however the group was mixed. This has to be explained in advance.

Elena P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

Tour person was unusefull

scott c

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

My M.O. upon arrival in a city I've never been to is to take a 2-3 hr narrated bus tour to introduce me to the sites, proximity to hotel and historical importance of things I want to delve more deeply into.
This Viator tour accomplished those needs, but I cannot say anything positive beyond that. The guide was sub-par in communication, and the stop at Hard Rock Madrid was wasting my time, if not insulting to the purposefullness of the tour.

J. Greg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

The tour was far too fast to actually appreciate anything along the way. Plus, the English of the tour guide was only passable. You should skip the Hard Rock Cafe...maybe get a drink at a location that is a little more "Spanish". And lastly, the ladies working at the tour operator are rude; I don't think smiling is in their vocabulary.

AlexG

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

This tour around Madrid was much below our expectations. It was shorter than advertised and not interesting. Much worse than tours provided by Viator guides in Venice and Florence, which we took this summer when visited Italy.

Sandra B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

After waiting for 20 minutes to catch the bus we were off. The tour was to be in English and although the guide spoke English her accent was so thick that it was hard to understand much of what she was saying. It was nice to get an overview of where everything was so I could plan where to go the next day. Although the trip was supposed to be 3 hours it was not. The other guests were dropped off at there origination point and I was expected to get out also. It was a little walk back to my starting point but not to bad. All in all the trip was fine and I would recommend it to anyone. It's a good way to see the city.

Sylvia A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The tour was very informative but I think there should be stops were we get off the bus and view the sites to take pictures and embrace the culture for a short period. The stop at Hard Rock Cafe was to short. By the time we walked to Hard Rock from where the bus dropped us off at the break was over.

David H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

OK but the open top Madrid Tourist bus is better value and senior persons are well advised to take their passports to take advantage of reduced rate.

Megan G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This tour is not worth the money - it is meant to be a three hour tour but you spend able 1/2 hr at a tourist shop and 1/2 hr at Hard Rock Cafe. The guide also had to speak a couple of languages as well as english and we were always past the attraction when she explained it. Would recommend giving this one a miss and taking the hop-on hop-off bus instead.

Syreeta M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

The hop on hop off tour went everywhere that this tour went.

Patrick P USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

I was expecting more than a point and identify tour. The tour guide was a nice lady, but was inconsistent how she spoke - a consistent order of the languages would have been helpful. No information about the sites of real interest was given. It was a nice way to see the city, but not worth the euros spent.

Harrel C USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

It's all about the guide, and this one was monotone. My mother fell asleep. I find the Viator tours to have the best prices, and I recommend always going for the best prices when touring in Europe as the tours are almost always operated by the same company regardless of who you book through, so there's no difference in quality.

Walid E USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2009

I was definitely disappointed. Madrid was beautfiul, but the tour was not that great. Our tour guide spoke Spanish most of the time, even though there was only one Spanish couple with us; the rest were all American. She would switch to English, but it would be very short compared to what she said in Spanish. The bus driver did not slow down to show us the sites; we would just pass by them, not really seeing them. The only time the bus stopped was at this gift shop that was very expensive, and we spent 40 minutes there. The next time we stopped was at the end of the trip at the Hard Rock Cafe. If you are going to Madrid, just take the metro and visit the sites on your own.

Anil A Finland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

This was a very ordinary tour. I would only recommend it if there is no other option.

Leo T USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

We lost about 45 minutes for waiting until all people came. Meal in restaurant was not good, plus it was so dark we couldn't see what we eat. The Flamenco show was OK. I think the tour is overpriced. I recommend to find a restaurant with Flamenco and go there directly.

Padre USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2007

This was an informative tour except for the stop and shop interlude.

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 31.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140JTEMA04

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message