3.5 star rating: Worth doing 227 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Malaga, Spain
  • Duration:  15 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 227 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We recently travelled to Tangiers from Malaga along with our three children. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole journey whoch was very organised. The our guide ensred that everyone was accounted for and knew exactly where they were going, meeting and returning to. The tour provided us with a intersting tour giving us information of each part of the journey and introducing us to many aspects of Moroccan culture, food, people and surroundings. I absolutely enjoyed the tour and would highly recommend the tout

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We made the mistake booking on a Friday day tour of Morocco. Most of the shops were closed do to afternoon prayers. We felt what we were able to purchase was very good prices. The lunch was unique and tasty. Thanks we have used Viator for several trips and have never had a bad experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A good way to see Morrocco quickly. It is a long day from Malaga 6am-9pm which was 3 hours longer than we were expecting. It would be a much better tour without stopping at the rug merchant. They are way too pushy sales people, it was uncomfortable and you could not escape them we also were there too long. The beggers on the street are better at least you can walk away. Other than that we liked the tour guides and being able to see sights we wouldn't have seen on our own.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Long day but a good experience

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

take the camel ride....local guide great.....tedious coach tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

THROUGHLY ENJOYED ALL BUT GUIDE...A BIT COCKY

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

a great trip. comfortable bus and well chosen sights for the time we had. The lunch was great and more than enough variety of flavors. the only down side was the very long bus trip with all the pick ups along the coast between Malaga and the ferry terminal.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a great experience to visit Tangier, and we would not have not have felt comfortable doing this without an organized tour. We were disappointed with the bus ride to and from Tarifa -- no commentary about the area, not a very friendly courier. Also had no time to stop even for coffee before boarding the ferry. We were extremely upset to have our passports taken and not returned until lunch! The guide in Tangier was excellent, but we were directed only to certain shops, with no free time to explore other shops. We did not like the pressure to buy. But the tour itself was interesting and lunch was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This is a good way to see Tangiers. They did the usual tourist spots. They took us to the spot were you can see the Atlantic and Mediterean but the views is obscured by trees. The camel ride was ok but would have been better in a rural setting. I have been to Tangiers before but forgot how aggressive the sellers are. Lunch was provided however, most people complained about the quality. They provided mint tea and it was very sweet. They should allow you to sweeten to your taste. The food itself was not that tasty. The next day we got diarrhea and vomiting so we are assuming it was the lunch. We were wiped for a day and felt very weak. The restaurant should make sure the water is save to drink and the food more interesting.
It would not take much expense to make the lunch something to remember.
The tour guide himself was very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I enjoyed the trip, it was well-organized.
The only unfavorable thing: the Maroccan guides collected money for their service at the end of the trip, and they were quite pushy at doing this. I thought the price included their work, as well. Moreover, they did not allowed us to take a look around in the bazar, they intentionally led us to their friends' shops, so it must have been a private business for them...
But all things considered, it was worth taking part.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I enjoyed the tour. I was excited about taking a ferry and I enjoyed seeing morocco/learning about Morocco from our tour guide. I liked riding the camel and the lunch we were served. The only part of the tour I did not like was the shopping part. The shopping part was set up for them to put on a show for us which was nice but not nice in that we sat through a 30 minute show trying to get us to buy rugs; that time could have been used differently. I just wish there was some sort of free time to buy from regular merchants and not individuals that seem to be their friends and who may or may not be increasing the price of the situation. Overall I would recommend the tour if it is your first time in Morocco.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I really enjoy the trip.. HOWEVER - it was hard to find the meeting location in the early morning. They said the representative will be there, but no one was there. If you are staying in Central Malaga, meeting place is bank Barkleys (?) next/across to department El Corte Ingles. I had to ask my hotel reception to call the travel company to confirm the meeting place. I enjoy the trip, but make sure you go to bathroom before you get on the bus - the toilet on the bus does not work and on the 4hr bus ride-they do not stop for bathroom! On the way home, some of the guests were getting off the ride before their stop so that they can go to a bathroom. I have been to many Arabic market, so this was nothing new for me - I wanted to take a drive from Malaga and ferry ride across the Mediterranean sea and that was fun! Both side tour coordinator did excellent job keeping everyone together. Lunch was good. Shopping was good.. I was not into shopping, but fun watching others.. Too bad we did not stop over Gibraltar (I just saw it from my bus window). I did this in mid Aug, so make sure you bring water, snack (for ride home) good walking shoes and sun screen! Over all, excellent day trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Hectic and enjoyable

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I loved this experience! It gave us a chance to visit Africa securely and safely! My photos from the trip turned out beautiful! The only thing is absolutely did NOT like is that we had to pick up and drop off so many people to other cities! When in Malaga, all the tourists were asked to meet at one spot in the city. The other tourists got dropped off 2-3 people at a time at several stops in their city. Malaga is the first to be picked up and last to be dropped off. My suggestion to Viator and/or tour company is that there is a centralized meeting point in ALL of the cities, not just malaga. It would be a much faster ride to Tarifa and Back!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The lunch was fabulous, but the stops were rushed and it was very contrived as where we could shop and where we were not supposed to shop. We were encouraged to barter...but prices were so high it was not worth purchasing anything. It would have been worthwhile to price shop and see more than one store.

If you are in Malaga, you do not get picked up from your hotel, but everyone else gets picked up at their hotel. It makes for a much longer tour and an unfair system.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was considerate of all passengers. He was regularly checking on how we were doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This trip was something you should do once in your life if your staying in Malaga!! I loved it.The only negative was the drive but that had nothing to do with the tour guide. But the tour was cool, awesome to go take a boat to another continent and check out African lifestyle!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I really enjoyed the whole trip. Thank you.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

A great tour. The tour company was punctual and very attentive, especially our guide Pedro. The guide in Tangier, Hassan, was very knowledgeable and professional. The food at the restaurant was also delicious.

It is a very long day, so one should get a very good nights rest the day before. The only thing I did not like was the numerous stops in numerous towns along the way. That probably added 4-5 hours to the day, although we did get some extra sightseeing out of it. It would be better for all tourists to meet in one location. Also, a couple of in our party was missing from the list, even though we had proof of confirmation. Pedro handled a tough situation with grace knowing the tour was fully booked. This could have turned out to be a disaster, but Pedro took good care of us as he should have.

I would definitely recommend the tour. Booking the tour on the phone was smooth.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour!
Peter, our guide was fantastic!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The day trip to Tangier was a great experience, but we were treated to a whirlwind tour. I could have lived without the obligatory camel ride and snake dance and opted for more opportunities to observe the people and architecture of Morocco.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

We were thankful the tour picked us up in front of our resort, so there was no worry about how or where we would park our car or how we would get to the right place. The guide spoke several languages and was easy to understand. They were able to ease the process of entering and leaving another country. The only negative was the "sellers" in Tangier. They followed us everywhere and were like vultures. If we went into a shop or stopped for lunch, they were there waiting when we came out. It was very tiring and took away from the experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The trip was wonderful. They picked us up last, walking distance from our condo. Then we were first to be dropped off at the end of the day. The tour guide was knowledgable and knew his history. I felt that we got a good background on Morocco. The only draw back was the street peddlers. They are like pesky mosquitos that keep coming back no matter how many times you swat them. Also, I would have liked to visit more stores for shopping.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Enjoyable trip with 2 excellent guides. Well organised.
I did not enjoy the carpet presentation/sell but otherwise all was fine.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Hassan was an excellent guide in Tangier. As a history teacher he really gave us great knowledge about the sights with enthusiasm! Pedro ushered us in and out of customs so that went smoothly. Tourist lunch was standard, but the entertainers made it interesting!

From USD $ 97.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2140MLGTMOROCCO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message