4.5 star rating: Recommended 52 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Marrakech, Morocco
  • Duration:  11 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Essaouira Day Trip from Marrakech. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 52 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth doing,tour guide very good,everything was very organized.Lovely place to visit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

lovely tour,the hotel pick up was punctual,nice air conditioned bus. The journey was good our guide Abdul spoke excellent English and French and gave a lot of helpful information about our journey and the surrounding areas. We had a break about an hour and a half into the journey much appreciated.Then on to the Argan oil Co-Operative.. after seeing the goats in the trees eating the nuts!The Co-Operative visit was for me very interesting and educational,i enjoyed seeing the women work and learning about the process involved. In the shop the prices were not too expensive and i thought the quality of the products was excellent. I bought a face cream with Rose oil in it and it is divine!! Once we reached Essaouira there was a pleasant sea breeze we changed guides for a local guide who showed us around the port,the Jewish quarter and the market. We then had a break until it was time to head back. We found a lovely place to eat that had three courses for 55DH it was great soup or salad ,fish,chicken, or meat with rice and a great home made natural yoghurt. Very good value. After Marrakesh it was pleasant to stroll around the cool streets and not get hassled i would love to do this visit again!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was great! The tour guide was so informative and just amazing. We stopped at hand made argan oil manufacturers on the way. When we got there he guided us through the town and then we had a bit of time to ourselves. I would definitely recommend!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A long day, good tour, expensive lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A well organised visit with stops on the way and on the way back to break up quite a long journey. The organisation to collect you from your hotel or riad was punctual and superbly organised. The guide was very informative. A bit of spare time to wonder around the souk and do that extra bit of site-seeing or shopping. Essaouira is a lovely fishing port facing the Atlantic with the bracing winds coming off the Atlantic on one side and beautiful sandy beaches on the other. A small souk in the middle of the town selling lots of Moroccan wares as well as the necessities for living. Altogether a good day's visit well worth the journey.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was an interesting trip to the coast. Essaouira itself was delightful to visit. There was adequate time to explore the old town , either by tagging onto the tour guide, or going it alone. The tour was good value for money. The guide was excellent!!!!! T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Loved this trip to the coast and the stop at the Moroccan Oil cooperative. The meal in the restaurant recommended by our guide was very tasty. The guide was fantastic - friendly and happy to share his knowledge. He really seemed to enjoy his job and sharing his country with us. Loved the walks through the tiny alleyways.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was really nice experience to go outside of Marrakech,highly recommend it,but lunch was not included and guide take everybody in one restaurant where he probably have big commissions for taking us there-very expensive for Morroco,food was not good at all ,they just taking advantage from groups and paid off to guides,go to eat somewhere else-hundreds of places down the road.

FAISAL A
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very organized trip. The city worth a visit for one day .. lods of free time to discover the city. DONT go to the recommended rest. To touristy to bad.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

An early start 7.25 and long trip 12 hrs there and back by bus. Interesting port area and beach visited then 4 hrs free time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

So convenient...on the way saw Goats in the trees, literally and arrived at a delightful fortresses seaport where fresh fish were grilled along the sea front ... utterly delightful and v well organised !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent. The Guide was great giving interesting and useful information in both English and French. The stop at the Aargan oil cooperative was a great break from the coach (its a long drive). Essouira itself is beautiful and more relaxed than Marrakech. A lovely break from the bustling souks to stroll round the quieter streets. Great food and wonderful crepes from a stall just off the main square!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Most of the tourists spoke French, but the guide was bilingual in English/French and catered to both audiences. We got a guided tour of the medina (old city), followed by some free time to have lunch and explore the markets. We were under the impression that we would be getting picked up from our hotel, but unfortunately we found out - only on the day of - that hotel pick up was not an option for us because we were staying in a "riyad". It would have been helpful to know this at the time of booking. While most riyads are located in narrow alleyways, ours was on a large main road (where mini buses passed regularly).

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Too big of a tour group. Our guide mostly spoke the french people,forgetting or omitting to translate for the english speaking people. I say that because I do understand french, and he will go on a very detail explanation of what we were seeing and then a few seconds in english. If you have that many people with one language then separate the tour for them only,saving a lot of explanation and time. Not personable at all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a brilliant day out and really good value for money. We were treated very professionally, and our guide was friendly and informative. It was the perfect mix of guided tour group and free time once we got to Essaouira, and the restaurant our guide took us to for lunch was great, with delicious, fresh fish. A relaxing day out and a good chance to go round the markets without the stress and hassle of Marrakech.

From USD $ 47.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5008RAK02

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message