• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 129 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Maui, Hawaii
  • Duration:  7 - 8 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The drive up was very winding, and those with motion sickness should definitely take medication before hand. Our driver was very friendly and I liked that he spoke throughout the drive.. it made the time go by faster.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Maui. Ron, our driver, was very friendly and helpful, telling us facts about the places we were passing by and getting us to our destination in time for the incredible sunrise over Haleakala! Breakfast was a bonus we did not count on and we enjoyed comparing our trip with others at our table. Would highly recommend this tour. It was both beautiful and spiritual.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An Amazing must see.. It was quite chilly and windy..Gloves and a windbreaker would have been helpful...I would do this again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

You have to get up around 2:00 a.m. to take the tour, so if you're coming from a time zone that's 3 or more hours later, take this tour the first day of your vacation if you can. Regardless, it's worth every second. Heed the warnings to dress warmly, including gloves that allow you to operate your camera. 40 deg may sound balmy, but it's surprisingly cold due to wind and 10,000+ elevation. Your camera/phone batteries get sapped of their strength - be fully charged when you start. Our bus driver, Wayne, was full of historical and geological information. We learned a lot of fascinating facts. The view at sunrise is breathtaking - you don't want it to end. Don't worry about being hungry - coffee and rolls start the morning, and a full breakfast at a lovely golf resort ends it. If you can only afford one tour while you're in Maui, this is definitely the one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was an interesting trip. After reading the reviews we booked our trip. This trip is organized by Polynesian Tours. The driver cum tour guide was good and knowledgeable. The sun rise at Haleakala was spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Guide was very informative about Hawaiian folklore.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fun! Bob was our tour guide. Very talkative and knew a lot of random facts. He was very welcoming and talked to every person on the tour. My sister who has a cognitive disability even enjoyed him and his humor. Sunrise was beautiful. Definitely cozy up. It was very windy and very very chilly! I had on 2 long sleeves under a hoodie, jeans, tennis, and a beanie. Was still cold and my fingers were numb from holding my camera. Def not as cold as my home city, but very cold for Hawaii. Overall, had a good group and loved the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

driver was great and the tour was well worth the cost

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

You must do this while on Maui! Amazing experience, views, and pictures. We went in July and were lucky to have 50 degree F weather. Dress in layers. They pick you up from your hotel, provide coffee and danishes, take you to a few different viewpoints, and then take you to breakfast at a golf course on the way home. For us, we would have rather not stop for breakfast as we were exhausted from being up at 2am. It was a good breakfast, though.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

very good tour guide!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful must do tou.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Ron was a great tour guide! Very knowledgeable. The sunrise was absolutely worth getting up at 1:45.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

There was a mistake. I understood that the tour was about the sunset, and I missed the time of pick up at the hotel. I tought it was st 2:30 PM and it was at 2:30 am. I talked to Polinesean tours and they couldn't changr the date, but they asked me to talk to vistor and ask if it was possible to change this payment to another tour. So, please, can you find about this?

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

It was an experience of a lifetime! Wayne, our tour guide was very knowledgeable
and pleasantly friendly.

Special Offer

From USD $ 111.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2360MAUI3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message