4.5 star rating: Recommended 50 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 50 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Really loved the whole experience. The coach driver was wonderful and very friendly. Would really recommend the trip. The time we had at Sovereign Hill was just right so we were pleased that we didn't do the wildlife visit. Also loved sightseeing around Ballarat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

There is one complaint, when I booked the tour, the phone operator told me to wait at Federation Square opposite the Forum Theatre. I did this. However we should have been waiting around the corner and almost missed the bus. Phone operators should be saying to wait where you can see the railway lines around the corner from the Forum theatre. As a result we only just made it onto the bus, despite being there 30 mins early on a very, very cold Melbourne morning. On the upside the bus driver 'Phil' was excellent and imparted a wealth of knowledge on our trip to and from Sovereign Hill. It was an excellent day despite almost not going. Thankyou.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent service. 5-stars all the way. Our driver was very informative. Everything went like clockwork. Great pickup and delivered back to our hotel safely. Thank you.

Des D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Great day except for the weather which was rainy!

Noel R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

A very enjoyable day, heaps of time to enjoy the day and comfortable coach and informative information given about what to expect and info about Ballarat.

Gary R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Driver was very informative and an excellent tour guide.

Michael Z
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We had a wonderful time at Sovereign Hill, it is a credit to the staff that by the end of the day you feel that what you are seeing is actually real. Our driver was great, he really new his job he entertained us all the way to Sovereign Hill and knew when to just let us rest on the way back.

Kathryn P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We want to go again as there was so much to do and see. Our coach captain was very informative and and made our day a day to remember.

Fiona N
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was just so fantastic. It was like being taken back to the eighteen fifties. This place was so worth the visit, I would highly recommend it. I sat in on a girls school class lesson. It's funny; they were so serious, not like what it is these days. What an amazing place!

Barbara N
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

The heat was horrible, and you have to admire all the staff there for enduring that along with the dust.

Valerie W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

I visited Sovereign Hill in 1977 and loved it. Thirty years later, I visited again with my 27-year-old son. I thought I might be disappointed because it could have become commercialised over the decades. But the town remains a perfect historic recreation, just bigger and better. There is so much to do and see that lack of time was the only problem we had. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The theatre performances, demonstrations, interactive experiences, tours, displays, and street theatre all made for a marvelously enjoyable and informative day. This is a must-do trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed myself at Sovereign gold mine town. It was a great experience for me. The whole town looks like something from victorian era. If you want to try on something different or experience being in a different century then you may consider joining this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A wonderful experience. The weather was kind, but cold but there were plenty of fires around the complex. We had done the same tour some years ago and enjoyed it even more this time around, realising we had not seen all that was on display previously. Our coach driver was delightful and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

A good insight into the history of the gold rush days - worth the trip

From USD $ 137.63

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message