4.5 star rating: Recommended 58 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 58 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good. But should have stopped at Ballarat to show the town and botanical garden. Not so much time required at Sovereign Hill.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. Kevin was very informative and Sovereign Hill was fascinating. We could have spent more time there as there was lots to see and do. The Gold Museum was world class but we wished we had spent more time at Sovereign Hill instead as it was so interesting and interactive.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall well worth the day`s tour.For me the Wildlife Park was definitely a must see.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed myself at Sovereign gold mine town. It was a great experience for me. The whole town looks like something from victorian era. If you want to try on something different or experience being in a different century then you may consider joining this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A wonderful experience. The weather was kind, but cold but there were plenty of fires around the complex. We had done the same tour some years ago and enjoyed it even more this time around, realising we had not seen all that was on display previously. Our coach driver was delightful and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

A good insight into the history of the gold rush days - worth the trip

Frances W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I liked that Sovereign Hill hasn't got paved footpaths and is as it was in time. So much time and research has been done into the past of this area, and it shows. The shops with all the old fashioned goods, the people who work there get into character, it is truly an asset

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Quite fun, but we don't have enough time to go though the whole sovereign hill.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

There was plenty to do and see if you checked everything out. It is a remarkable site for history sake.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great experience, Mark our tour bus driver was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Great tour to Sovereign Hill. Very informative bus driver and plenty of free time to wonder around and take in everything at Sovereign Hill

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

A very enjoyable day. The bus ride and commentary were great as was the driver. I would recommend this tour . A great day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Everything was fantastic specially the driver. She was lovely and gave us some commentary on places around. The only negative was the time. It was too short. We had to visit the wildlife park in rush and when we arrived to Sovereign Hill we had only 2 hours and half to explore around. We missed some parts and rushed back to the bus. I wished the tour could stay 2 hours longer in Sovereign Hill. Then everything could be covered.

Linda B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

We had a great time & found it very interesting ,took lots of great photos.

From USD $ 128.64

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M3

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message