4.5 star rating: Recommended 61 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 61 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Fiona N
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was just so fantastic. It was like being taken back to the eighteen fifties. This place was so worth the visit, I would highly recommend it. I sat in on a girls school class lesson. It's funny; they were so serious, not like what it is these days. What an amazing place!

Barbara N
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2008

The heat was horrible, and you have to admire all the staff there for enduring that along with the dust.

Valerie W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

I visited Sovereign Hill in 1977 and loved it. Thirty years later, I visited again with my 27-year-old son. I thought I might be disappointed because it could have become commercialised over the decades. But the town remains a perfect historic recreation, just bigger and better. There is so much to do and see that lack of time was the only problem we had. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The theatre performances, demonstrations, interactive experiences, tours, displays, and street theatre all made for a marvelously enjoyable and informative day. This is a must-do trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good. But should have stopped at Ballarat to show the town and botanical garden. Not so much time required at Sovereign Hill.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour. Kevin was very informative and Sovereign Hill was fascinating. We could have spent more time there as there was lots to see and do. The Gold Museum was world class but we wished we had spent more time at Sovereign Hill instead as it was so interesting and interactive.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Overall well worth the day`s tour.For me the Wildlife Park was definitely a must see.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed myself at Sovereign gold mine town. It was a great experience for me. The whole town looks like something from victorian era. If you want to try on something different or experience being in a different century then you may consider joining this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A wonderful experience. The weather was kind, but cold but there were plenty of fires around the complex. We had done the same tour some years ago and enjoyed it even more this time around, realising we had not seen all that was on display previously. Our coach driver was delightful and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

A good insight into the history of the gold rush days - worth the trip

Frances W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I liked that Sovereign Hill hasn't got paved footpaths and is as it was in time. So much time and research has been done into the past of this area, and it shows. The shops with all the old fashioned goods, the people who work there get into character, it is truly an asset

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Quite fun, but we don't have enough time to go though the whole sovereign hill.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

There was plenty to do and see if you checked everything out. It is a remarkable site for history sake.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great experience, Mark our tour bus driver was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Great tour to Sovereign Hill. Very informative bus driver and plenty of free time to wonder around and take in everything at Sovereign Hill

From USD $ 125.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message