4.5 star rating: Recommended 53 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 53 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A wonderful experience. The weather was kind, but cold but there were plenty of fires around the complex. We had done the same tour some years ago and enjoyed it even more this time around, realising we had not seen all that was on display previously. Our coach driver was delightful and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

A good insight into the history of the gold rush days - worth the trip

Frances W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I liked that Sovereign Hill hasn't got paved footpaths and is as it was in time. So much time and research has been done into the past of this area, and it shows. The shops with all the old fashioned goods, the people who work there get into character, it is truly an asset

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Quite fun, but we don't have enough time to go though the whole sovereign hill.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

There was plenty to do and see if you checked everything out. It is a remarkable site for history sake.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great experience, Mark our tour bus driver was excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Great tour to Sovereign Hill. Very informative bus driver and plenty of free time to wonder around and take in everything at Sovereign Hill

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

A very enjoyable day. The bus ride and commentary were great as was the driver. I would recommend this tour . A great day out.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Everything was fantastic specially the driver. She was lovely and gave us some commentary on places around. The only negative was the time. It was too short. We had to visit the wildlife park in rush and when we arrived to Sovereign Hill we had only 2 hours and half to explore around. We missed some parts and rushed back to the bus. I wished the tour could stay 2 hours longer in Sovereign Hill. Then everything could be covered.

Linda B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

We had a great time & found it very interesting ,took lots of great photos.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

If you want to experience Australia during the Gold Rush, go to this place. My daughter really enjoyed all the activities from gold panning where she was able to get gold flakes and brought it home, to candle making, to candy making and just learning from it all. Would love to have a stop-over at Ballarat town to take some photos, though. The place is a real throw back from year ago.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Tour guide was fantastic, he really knew his stuff! Sovereign Hill was soo memorable, but being a history buff wished that the Eureka stockade was part of this tour

Raymond M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Was disappointed we didn't get to stop in Ballarat. Only saw it from the bus on the drive to Sovereign Hill.

R B
India

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Good trip. A new experience to see a gold mine and what they went through in those days. It was fun to do the gold panning and collect some fragments of gold. Good experience, but would be better if we had more time at Sovereign Hill.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Definitely enjoyed trip, very authentic Mining town,showed you exactly what it was like back then. Didn't see Wildlife Park as have been to others before, so spent more time at Sovereign Hill.

From USD $ 138.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M3

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message