4 star rating: Recommended 171 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  2 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Highlights of Melbourne Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 171 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

Pleasurable trip. Due to weather conditions, we could only manage one part of the trip. But staff were very friendly and professional.

Helen A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

Beautiful scenery and weather was great.

Rachael S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The cruise was worth it and the commentary was very informative. The views from the boat were great and plenty of leg room on board. I would recommend it for a weekend activity.

Chien-Hui L
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

This is a good way to learn all of Melbourne's history!

Kathleen M
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2007

This your was very enjoyable, and it lets you get a feel for the vibrancy which is Melbourne! There is plenty to see at Southbank when you finish the cruise, also. Lots of lovely restaurants.

Roger H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

The A trip was great, but B was a bit bland. Would definitely recommend A!!

Gary W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

The river cruises in Melbourne prove to be a relaxing and informative way to see the main points of interest, and to get one's bearings before exploring the city in more detail.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Nice 2 hour cruise.

John M
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

already reviewed re poor commentary

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour was good. I went with family and we all enjoyed very much. The down stream trip was better than up stream but down stream visit was delayed due to high tide.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was fun accompanied by a knowledgeable and funny tour guide...
and right on schedule.
Definitely worth doing to see Melbourne from different perspective.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Nice way to spend an afternoon.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The afternoon trip was much better with more to see and the captain was very good, as we came to different things of importance he explained about them . We all had a good laugh at the stories behind the scenery . Something should be done about the Coffee, it was terrible a plane biscuit would have been good .

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

This was a wedding gift from some Queensland friends and we thought we knew Melbourne so it was a pleasant surprise to learn more about our home town. Really enjoyed seeing Melbourne from a different view point and finding out about some hidden treasures like the island. Found the constant crossing the river to pick up and drop off people a bit frustrating but understand it's probably quite profitable for the company. Loved the relaxed nature of the captain Garth and his sense of humour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Was okay, but the first part could have been better, as you didn't see much of the City.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Good to see some Melbourne Icons

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

While we enjoyed the river cruise, there were aspects that we were nor aware of when booking.
Firstly, the cruise was in two parts, A and B, and either part could be taken separately.
The cruise was advertised as 3hours, in actual fact it lasted little more than 2 hours.
The commentary was interesting but not as descriptive as we would have liked.
We were not advised until the day that, if the tide was high, we would not be able to go downstream because of lack of clearance under some of the bridges.
Fortunately, there was just enough clearance for us to do the downstream leg on the day.
All in all, it was good but not great.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The boat trip gives you a very good view of Melbourne, but if anything was at least 30mins too long.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Pleasurable river cruise with good sight lines of the city and it's interesting architecture. Unfortunately I failed to wear a hat and did not apply sunscreen before we went out. Even though there was shelter inside the craft I preferred the fresh breeze and some distance from some screaming and crying children during the whole voyage.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour itself was great, but we had limited time in Melbourne and upon arrival for the day we booked, we were informed by the tour operator that an organisation had booked out the whole day and we needed to return another day. I felt the organisers could have easilly communicated this upfront to those who had already booked a ticket for that day or provide compensation. Lesson, call to confirm your seat as a ticket alone will not suffice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

We really enjoyed the boat ride down the Yarra on a sunny day. The staff were friendly and we were lucky to have only a few people on board. However it was too rough to come back so instead of seeking the majority's view on what time to leave they decided and said it was what we all wanted. We ended up having to pay for a train ride back into the city as they wanted to wait over three hours at that stop. The boat ride itself I would recommend.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Quite good quick cruise. Fun crew.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Tea and coffee facilities were very average but did serve paid drinks. Views were lovely. Commentary on first part was not loud enough and on second leg of tour was excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

tour was brilliant but the tickets were 1 for 1 at the counter, I felt let down by viator.

From USD $ 22.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3013SIGHTAB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message