4.5 star rating: Recommended 89 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  4 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Melbourne City Afternoon Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 89 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Laraine M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

It was good but I would have liked more about Melbourne's old buildings.

Wayne M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

The driver was excellent, with strong knowledge of the local area as well as Australian history. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Nice adventure for a person from France...Long way to go to see hand fed birds, but view was very nice....

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

We enjoyed this tour but would have found it more beneficial if additional time was focused on Melbourne city and less on the surrounding area.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2010

Melbourne is an exciting city. Unlike Sydney, there were no "red buses" or free tour buses. This was a good way to see the city.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I found the trip details to be a bit misleading. I expected us to get off the bus a lot more and also expected us to have more time when we got off the bus at certain venues eg. We only had 10 minutes at Brighton. Tour guide was great though. Felt we could have done more on our own.

John F
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The tour was basically fine, except for the driver and her commentary.. She didn't stop talking for one second the whole time. We do enjoy a meaningful commentary along the way, but then she would waffle on about anything and everything else. A commentary that might in total occupy about half of the tour time is all that is necessary. I think most people also enjoy some more relaxing periods of quietness and just taking in the scenery. Even though the tour was okay, in talking to our friends we are advising people to keep clear of your operation. Perhaps she is just following your issued guidelines to drivers. Thanks

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2010

My sister and I had a good time!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

It was ok. It should have been the entire day though. A lot of the city was skipped and we couldn't get off the bus to take pictures. It was too rushed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

We didn't stop at some of the places listed in the brochure.

Paul M
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2007

Tour did not stop at any site in Melbourne City. The Dandenongs part was excellent.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

I thought this tour was a complete waste. Firstly the bus did not stop at any attraction except for 45 minutes at the shrine of remembrance and a few minutes at Brighton Bathing boxes. I have been on a lot of city tours and they are planned such that people get the opportunity to get down for a few minutes at every attraction and click a few pictures. That was not the case on this bus. I actually had to go back to some of the places to take pictures as it wasn't possible to take them from a moving bus with the glare of the sunlight on the window. The driver was also busy showing us apartments in Melbourne than spending time at the tourist attractions. He took a detour and went to Toorak to just show us someone's mansion as he thought it looked obnoxious. Everywhere he was spending more time taking the bus through bylanes and showing apartments so much so that it looked like we were touring with a real estate agent. A complete waste of time and money. I would not recommend this tour.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

They never picked me up at the hotel, there was no number to call on the voucher, so they basically stole my money.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

It was one of the most terrible tours that I've ever taken in my life. The main reason for such a terrible rating is that Darryl our bus driver and tour guide spoke about personal information relating to himself. I had recordings for your review. Terrible!

From USD $ 49.44

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_392

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message