Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Roxanne J L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip! It was highly informative and very relaxing

Patricia A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Three adults and four children ranging from 17months to 8 yrs of age travelled from Williamstown to Southbank. We walked about, had lunch and were ready for a 2:30pm departure. Unfortunately this was delayed but our four kids settled and made it a pleasant ride back for the adults. We had a most enjoyable day and apart from having to take responsibility for getting the fold-up pram on and off the ferry as well as monitoring the kids on and off at the same time, the staff were friendly, relaxed and competent.

Traveller

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

I enjoyed the round trip to Williamstown and would recommend it to locals, or visitors.

nan.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

We both enjoyed the trip and we had the best fish and chips we have ever had at Mornington Peninsula. Would reccommend that day to anyone.

ronmm1

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

THE WEATHER WAS GREAT AND WAS A GREAT TRIP TO AND FROM WILLIAMSTOWN - Ron and Judy

Kerin C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

The trip to Williamstown on a hot Tuesday was most enjoyable. Our captain was informative and funny and we learned more about our own capital city's history while we enjoyed the different views from the Yarra River. The long boat was spacious, amenities clean and coffee and tea available for passengers. Our return trip was less comfortable with a much smaller boat and full to capacity. Because of the heat of the day it wasn't the most pleasant trip. Still on the whole would I recommend the trip? -Absolutely. Williamstown is a quaint historical town and worth revisiting. It was easy booking with Viator - and I am a first time user - the information about the trip was excellent, booking and payment easy. A suggestion for those who aren't familiar with Southgate would be to improve the map. I had to Google Berth 5 to get a clearer picture. Parking is also available at Crown for $6.00 and while it is a bit of a walk, it was quite pleasant along Southbank.

Sebastiao B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Although the cruise was postponed due to bad weather on Nov. 26, we were able to make the trip on Monday Nov. 28. We had a wonderful time as the Captain was not only informative but also very entertaining. It was a good way to end our first trip to Melbourne before we return home that day. Sebastiao and Belinda Bugo

C R G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

We mainly enjoyed our recent ferry cruise, but we were a little disappointed that there was no tea/coffee provided as we thought there would be. Also the ferry broke down on our return journey and we had been waiting for over 15 mins until we were notified. We got another ferry back from another company as we would have had to wait for nearly 2 hours' until the next ferry departed, however we had no trouble at all getting a refund for the $20.00 we had to pay to the other company, and we were very impressed with that.

Rosemary G Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very worthwhile cruise. Be mindful of the tides, we had to do a down and back cruise, with no shore visit to Willamstown, as the tide was very high.Next time. Hats off and applaudes to the Captain who got us under the Melbourne bridge with cms.to spare on the return journey. Ferry crew were great, informative and humerous commentary,but the booking office staff at Southbank would benifit from some lessons in customer relations.

Karen Y Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Good ferry service to Williamstown with excellent and informative commentary about the docklands and waterways.

Maureen O Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Good trip and well worth doing. Cruise captain was very informative on sights along the Yarra River. Williamstown a very interesting place with lots of history. A good walk around the coast and through the centre of the township to the shops was well worthwhile and easy to fit in between the 10:30 am and 3:30 pm ferry. A great lunch at the Yacht Club Hotel.

Winifred M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Melbourne City and Williamstown Ferry Cruise

Ruby R

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

nice trip down the river. not much to do in williams town but was quite relaxing.

Cherelle P Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

When we arrived, we were told that the cruise would not go ahead without at least six people. At the time, only three of us were waiting. Luckily another couple turned up, and they agreed to go ahead with five people. Not sure if you are aware of this restriction, but might want to add it somewhere in your information.

Lyn F Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

Great views of the city, comfortable ride, accommodating personnel. Made for a pleasant day.

Lawrence C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

A really pleasant cruise. The commentary was well-pitched and informative but not overdone.

Vanessa G Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Enjoyed our trip on the Yarra River to Williamstown. The captain was very entertaining and gave a fabulous commentary.

Gerald B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

We took some German visitors who enjoyed it. But for us long time Melbourne residents it was also very good. You get views of the docks and the harbors that you cant get any other way. Plus, Williamstown is a very good place to wander around.

Rebecca S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The cruise itself is fantastic. Very relaxing. Williamstown is a great little spot to just wander around and poke in stores. The ferry drivers range in ability but are not that pivotal to the experience. The service running times are inconsistent, though. We called that morning to check times and were told one thing but when we got to the dock it was completely different. We should have had two hours in Williamstown according to the information given to us that morning, but when we got there at lunchtime we instead had to kill an hour at the dock and only ended up with forty minutes in Williamstown, as they were not running the services as quoted. It meant we were very short on for time at Williamstown and, as we were on holiday, we did not have time to reschedule to another day or time. This was disappointing.

Bev R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

It was a good cruise.

Allvin S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very interesting, tour leader was good.

Jen

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Was good going to Williamstown by ferry. We could not here anything the captain said on the journey regardless kf where we sat as the speakers were not very good. The toilets also smelt very bad. On the plus side staff were friendly and the ride was punctual.

Mary M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Tour was good , commentary was average. Disappointed with no tea , only coffee on board.

Barbara K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The trip was wonderful, giving you an amazing, different view of Melbourne and Williamstown from the water.
Our interstate visitors were very impressed and delighted.
Thank you

indigojo

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The cruise didn't get off to a good start when we told we couldn't take the trip we had booked 3 months ahead of time because there was a group booking on it, but we waited and took the next sailing. The cruise itself was good; the captain kept up an interesting commentary and was friendly and accommodating. The boat was fairly basic, and without heating and the main door open it got very cold, but had everything required for a one hour cruise. Williamstown itself was lovely and we had an enjoyable couple of hours there.The boat left on time in both directions and was easy to find and board.

Viewing 2 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 17.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3013SIGHTCD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message