3.5 star rating: Worth doing 61 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  1 - 2 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Melbourne City and Williamstown Ferry Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 61 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

We took some German visitors who enjoyed it. But for us long time Melbourne residents it was also very good. You get views of the docks and the harbors that you cant get any other way. Plus, Williamstown is a very good place to wander around.

Rebecca S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The cruise itself is fantastic. Very relaxing. Williamstown is a great little spot to just wander around and poke in stores. The ferry drivers range in ability but are not that pivotal to the experience. The service running times are inconsistent, though. We called that morning to check times and were told one thing but when we got to the dock it was completely different. We should have had two hours in Williamstown according to the information given to us that morning, but when we got there at lunchtime we instead had to kill an hour at the dock and only ended up with forty minutes in Williamstown, as they were not running the services as quoted. It meant we were very short on for time at Williamstown and, as we were on holiday, we did not have time to reschedule to another day or time. This was disappointing.

Bev R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

It was a good cruise.

Allvin S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Very interesting, tour leader was good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The cruise didn't get off to a good start when we told we couldn't take the trip we had booked 3 months ahead of time because there was a group booking on it, but we waited and took the next sailing. The cruise itself was good; the captain kept up an interesting commentary and was friendly and accommodating. The boat was fairly basic, and without heating and the main door open it got very cold, but had everything required for a one hour cruise. Williamstown itself was lovely and we had an enjoyable couple of hours there.The boat left on time in both directions and was easy to find and board.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Enjoyed the cruise down the river and discovered some things I didn't know. The commentary was interesting though at times it was difficult to hear, not sure if it was the sound system or not.

Robert J
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tide was high and our captain got us where we wanted to go. thank you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

My husband AND I WENT ON THE FERRY RIDE TO WILLIAMSTOWN ON MONDAY 30 DECEMBER. IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL SUNNY DAY AND WE WERE ALL SET FOR A LOVELY DAY. THE CAPTAIN I HAVE TO SAY WAS FANTASTIC, VERY GOOD AND INFORMATIVE About Melbourne. His name was Peter (I think) the commentary was be good. And williamstown. Was lovely to visit again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

One way to get out in the suburbs for a day and view Melbourne from a distance.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Great trip from Southbank to Williamstown and back. Scenery worth the trip and Williamstown very interesting. The river boat was OK - pretty old but comfortable enough for short trip. Attitude of the rude Melb River Cruises staff member at the wharf was a turn off. Will not book through them again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The commentary regarding the history of Melb and the rivers/docks was excellent. We didn't go down the river in the kind of boat that featured in the ad!!! and the boat back was very basic and crowded.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

just another ferry ride, nothing special ie no commentary.It was interesting to see Melbourne and the Yarra from a water perspective

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Booking was easy but it was difficult to speak to anyone in Australia to clarify our trip prior to arriving in Melbourne.
On the day for our journey it was a little frustrating trying to get staff to confirm a return time from Williamson all the passengers had been told different times.
Then standing and waiting on the dock for an extra 20mins in the sun (not Viators fault) was very unfortunate for many elderly people waiting with us on Anzac day.
I was also disappointed the phone number provided on the ticket was not available for us to speak to anyone on the day, not even a recorded message to say no-one was available to take my call.
However the staff were informed and friendly.We would use your service again.

Lesley R
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

A little bit of disorganisation meant we had to change boats but the trip was OK.

Linda E
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The timetable on the site is no longer operational and the information concerning the route followed is unclear. We enjoyed the trip but had to make two visits to sort out a suitable time for the round trip. It was fine because we live locally but it would be very inconvenient if you did not.

From USD $ 20.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15–64)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3013SIGHTCD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message