Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

3.5 star rating: Worth doing 67 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:1 - 2 hours

Melbourne City and Williamstown Ferry Cruise

Read what other travelers think about the Melbourne City and Williamstown Ferry Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 67 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

Linda E

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The timetable on the site is no longer operational and the information concerning the route followed is unclear. We enjoyed the trip but had to make two visits to sort out a suitable time for the round trip. It was fine because we live locally but it would be very inconvenient if you did not.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

A little disappointing, Delays in Boarding at Williamstown, due to a safety officer checking the vessel. Not much to see and do in Williamstown, and No information at all on the return trip regarding the scenery we passed.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

boat was 20 minutes late,took an hour and 20 mins to get to Williamstown so didn't even have time to go and have a coffee.dissappointing

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

All was good, apart from arriving at the warf at 12:15 to get the listed 12:30 boat to williamstown for lunch and then to be told that there was a private booking and the next boat was at 1:30. All this with an hour trip there only really left us 1/2 an hour for lunch. Very very disappointing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I was very disappointed with the trip. When we arrived to get on board we were told that the latest boat back from Williamstown would be 1.30pm instead of 3.30pm because of the hot weather. It was a very hot day[over 40 degrees] and the water cooler on board was soon empty. The cafe that the crew suggested for lunch was second rate. We had to wait 20 minutes in the extreme heat for the boat to turn up for the return journey and again the water cooler was soon empty. As it was a birthday gift for an English relative I was not impressed at all. Elizabeth R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We turned up for the 11.30am boat, which we had checked was running both on the web site and by telephone, only to be told sorry it is not running today come back at 12.30pm. Just what you need with two young children in tow! When the boat did arrive it was a very tired looking affar, the toilets did not work as one example. Not impressed

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Williamstown pretty one dimensional location compared to other locations in and around Melbourne. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

smooth sailing good friendly dude at helm. Boat in poorshape Leaking from ceiling above seat next to me! looked patched up with celotape and paper. Poor.But no major dramas.thanks.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

The times shown for ferry arrivals and departures were very restricted compared to what was shown on-line. The ferry was aged and had damage to rails etc. Seating in the cabin consisted of plastic chairs, uncomfortable for an hour trip. The young man at the departure berth was rude. I would choose another service provider next time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Sound system made some of the commentary hard to hear. Facilities on boat, e.g. refreshments were also sub-standard - kids of 3-5 generally don't like tea or coffee, which was all that was available.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

had a great day. the trip over very good. onthe way back we saw a big ship being turned around by tug boats.

Tertia R
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2009

The pilot of the vessel was having a running discussion with the other pilot and conducting trading his personal share portfolio whilst ferrying us back to the mainland. The pilot who ferried us out tried to point out the highlights to us, but kept being interrupted by the "trader" and didn't finish his sentences.

Hezron K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

The driver's information was very good, but the boats are small and old. We asked ourselves first are we going on these, are they safe, etc.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Boat broke down. Crew did not keep passengers informed enough. One lady was very frightened and should have been re-assured. Other boat towed us out of way of oil tanker and then left us. Crew did not call for another boat to come to take us on which to my mind was the logical thing to do since we we were right next to Spotswood jetty. Passengers who requested it were put off there but it was no good to us as we would then have had to make our way back to Southgate. The crew did not have the basic tools required to fix the problem.All very unprofessional and made all passengers very late back to Southgate. A toilet break at Williamstown would have been good but not offered. Accent of Tour guide hard to understand so missed some of the points of interest and audio not loud enough. All in all a disaster and unhappy memory for my English brother to take back to U.K.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

I purchased tickets online 2 hours before a scheduled departure however when we presented to the ticket office we were told all cruises to Williamstown were not running that day due to boats being used for Derby Day racing functions. Very disappointing, and ruined our plans for the day.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2011

It could have been so fantastic, but it was dreadful ! We were a party of 4 adults two small children and a baby. From Flinders Street Station it was difficult to get down to the boat jetty because of major construction work between the bridge and the jetty, and we had a bad experience with a contractor's trucks arriving to deliver materials, which was scary.The boat is difficult to get on and off, especially with children, baby and pram. some of us got off at The Science museum. The jetty, pathways, surroundings, and no toilet, were sobering. Is this really our destination??!! On the return trip, we apparenntly couldn't get the boat under the King Street bridge, Communication of this was poor, especially to those of us outside on the deck, (It happened by word of mouth!)
We learned that another boat was being sent to take us the rest of the way to the Arts Centre precinct. Most, if not all, of the stranded passengers opted to walk. We walked to Flinders Street and caught a tram to the station and then caught our train back to Camberwell.All of this in the rain !! It was actually a nightmare! Our interstate and overseas visitors were not impressed and we were embarrassed. definitely not recommended !!

Lauren B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

The picture of the boat they advertise with is very different to the one you actually get. We were on a very old, smelly, wet ferry. The people we were getting the ferry with were actually shocked at the condition of the ferry. Being from Melbourne, I was embarrassed that this is what tourists see of our city. Due to the numbers, they weren't running all the ferries. While I understand this can sometimes happen, the customer service we were given was disgusting. I have never seen such an appalling way to treat customers. To top it off, they didn't drop us in the correct return point resulting in us having to walk and extra 2 kilometers to get back to where we started. I would not recommend this tour company to anyone.

Viewing 3 of 3

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3

From USD $ 16.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3013SIGHTCD


Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message