Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Michael H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Enjoyed the cruise down the river and discovered some things I didn't know. The commentary was interesting though at times it was difficult to hear, not sure if it was the sound system or not.

Robert J Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tide was high and our captain got us where we wanted to go. thank you.

Mary R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

My husband AND I WENT ON THE FERRY RIDE TO WILLIAMSTOWN ON MONDAY 30 DECEMBER. IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL SUNNY DAY AND WE WERE ALL SET FOR A LOVELY DAY. THE CAPTAIN I HAVE TO SAY WAS FANTASTIC, VERY GOOD AND INFORMATIVE About Melbourne. His name was Peter (I think) the commentary was be good. And williamstown. Was lovely to visit again.

dat402

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

One way to get out in the suburbs for a day and view Melbourne from a distance.

Michael F

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

Great trip from Southbank to Williamstown and back. Scenery worth the trip and Williamstown very interesting. The river boat was OK - pretty old but comfortable enough for short trip. Attitude of the rude Melb River Cruises staff member at the wharf was a turn off. Will not book through them again.

jean m a

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The commentary regarding the history of Melb and the rivers/docks was excellent. We didn't go down the river in the kind of boat that featured in the ad!!! and the boat back was very basic and crowded.

Kevin L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

just another ferry ride, nothing special ie no commentary.It was interesting to see Melbourne and the Yarra from a water perspective

amanda l

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Booking was easy but it was difficult to speak to anyone in Australia to clarify our trip prior to arriving in Melbourne.
On the day for our journey it was a little frustrating trying to get staff to confirm a return time from Williamson all the passengers had been told different times.
Then standing and waiting on the dock for an extra 20mins in the sun (not Viators fault) was very unfortunate for many elderly people waiting with us on Anzac day.
I was also disappointed the phone number provided on the ticket was not available for us to speak to anyone on the day, not even a recorded message to say no-one was available to take my call.
However the staff were informed and friendly.We would use your service again.

Lesley R United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

A little bit of disorganisation meant we had to change boats but the trip was OK.

Linda E Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The timetable on the site is no longer operational and the information concerning the route followed is unclear. We enjoyed the trip but had to make two visits to sort out a suitable time for the round trip. It was fine because we live locally but it would be very inconvenient if you did not.

cbar4694

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The cruise itself was entertaining. But the communication and professionalism of the cruise desk people was sadly lacking. Given we had to travel over an hour to get to the cruise departure point, we started ringing from the advertised opening tmie to a. confirm the boat was running and b. try to get onto the 10.30 departure cruise. There was no answer, extremely disappointing. Upon arriving 20 minutes early we were told that the 10.30 was booked out and to come back for the 11.30 cruise. We arrived 20 minutes early for that only to be told the 11.30 was cancelled due to an accident. Given we supplied a contact number when booking, why were we not informed of the cancellation by the staff? Given I tried and was unable to specifically book the 10.30 cruise online, this was all very frustrating. What the people in the desk could have considered was to come out from behind the desk, offer an apology to all people there, not just to those who confusedly approached the desk, and to offer money back to those who were disadvantaged by this. None of this occurred. So consequently we were on the 12.30 to Williamstown knowing that the last intended cruise home was supposed to be at 3.30. The desk people informed those who approached the desk that the 3.30 would be leaving at 4.00 ish due to the mornings problems. We had to ask that the return boat would be able to hold all passengers from the mornings cruises, rather than the operators offering this information. The return home then left prior to 4.00 ! This was all very unprofessional and so disappointing. As a frequent overseas traveller I often consider how visitors perceive us, from the confused looks on many people's faces it is not hard to see how. Onboard, the information was entertaining and told us, those who are Melburnians and other visitors, much interesting things about our city. But I truly hope that future uses of these is met with better communication and professionalism.

Doris M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

A little disappointing, Delays in Boarding at Williamstown, due to a safety officer checking the vessel. Not much to see and do in Williamstown, and No information at all on the return trip regarding the scenery we passed.

Linda H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

boat was 20 minutes late,took an hour and 20 mins to get to Williamstown so didn't even have time to go and have a coffee.dissappointing

Darren R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

All was good, apart from arriving at the warf at 12:15 to get the listed 12:30 boat to williamstown for lunch and then to be told that there was a private booking and the next boat was at 1:30. All this with an hour trip there only really left us 1/2 an hour for lunch. Very very disappointing.

Elizabeth R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I was very disappointed with the trip. When we arrived to get on board we were told that the latest boat back from Williamstown would be 1.30pm instead of 3.30pm because of the hot weather. It was a very hot day[over 40 degrees] and the water cooler on board was soon empty. The cafe that the crew suggested for lunch was second rate. We had to wait 20 minutes in the extreme heat for the boat to turn up for the return journey and again the water cooler was soon empty. As it was a birthday gift for an English relative I was not impressed at all. Elizabeth R

Margaret E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We turned up for the 11.30am boat, which we had checked was running both on the web site and by telephone, only to be told sorry it is not running today come back at 12.30pm. Just what you need with two young children in tow! When the boat did arrive it was a very tired looking affar, the toilets did not work as one example. Not impressed

Stewart M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Williamstown pretty one dimensional location compared to other locations in and around Melbourne. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

sarah w

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

smooth sailing good friendly dude at helm. Boat in poorshape Leaking from ceiling above seat next to me! looked patched up with celotape and paper. Poor.But no major dramas.thanks.

R E M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

The times shown for ferry arrivals and departures were very restricted compared to what was shown on-line. The ferry was aged and had damage to rails etc. Seating in the cabin consisted of plastic chairs, uncomfortable for an hour trip. The young man at the departure berth was rude. I would choose another service provider next time.

Michael C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Sound system made some of the commentary hard to hear. Facilities on boat, e.g. refreshments were also sub-standard - kids of 3-5 generally don't like tea or coffee, which was all that was available.

maureen f white h

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2012

had a great day. the trip over very good. onthe way back we saw a big ship being turned around by tug boats.

Tertia R United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2009

The pilot of the vessel was having a running discussion with the other pilot and conducting trading his personal share portfolio whilst ferrying us back to the mainland. The pilot who ferried us out tried to point out the highlights to us, but kept being interrupted by the "trader" and didn't finish his sentences.

Hezron K Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

The driver's information was very good, but the boats are small and old. We asked ourselves first are we going on these, are they safe, etc.

Glenys G C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If I could give no stars I would have. It was the worst guided tour I've been on. The boat captain on the ferry was clearly totally bored with his job and spoke in a monotone in his commentary, and made comments such as people often ask me why the bridges across the Yarra are so low, and I say, because the people who built them were stupid. There was supposed to be coffee and tea available on the hour-long cruise, but there was no coffee - only tea bags. Couldn't wait to get off the ferry at Williamstown, and having walked along the shore past endless eateries but not much else, couldn't wait to get back on the next ferry out of there. Fortunately we had a different boat captain on that one and he was animated and interesting.

Maureen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Boat broke down. Crew did not keep passengers informed enough. One lady was very frightened and should have been re-assured. Other boat towed us out of way of oil tanker and then left us. Crew did not call for another boat to come to take us on which to my mind was the logical thing to do since we we were right next to Spotswood jetty. Passengers who requested it were put off there but it was no good to us as we would then have had to make our way back to Southgate. The crew did not have the basic tools required to fix the problem.All very unprofessional and made all passengers very late back to Southgate. A toilet break at Williamstown would have been good but not offered. Accent of Tour guide hard to understand so missed some of the points of interest and audio not loud enough. All in all a disaster and unhappy memory for my English brother to take back to U.K.

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 16.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3013SIGHTCD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message