Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 122 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Even though the weather was not the best, our guide Meg made the morning very interesting and as pleasant as the rain allowed. Meg's knowledge of the city she obviously loves is excellent, and it shines through. We enjoyed the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

It was a very interesting tour of Melbourne. I learned things I didn't know about familiar parts of the city

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

I really enjoyed the tour with Fiona. The sights, the smells, the points of interest were all things I previously had not taken much notice of. I would recommend this tour to those who have perhaps been to Melbourne before and kept to the main thoroughfares or those who have not been at all. Every corner turned was something different to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Loved the Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour...very interesting....didn't want it to end...our tour guide Sean had heaps of knowledge of the area and was a great guide...thoroughly recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

An excellent tour. Kath very informative on the Lanes and Arcades. Learnt so much. Koko Black chocolate wow, and lunch very good. Recommended Viator service very good

Dorothy B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

An interesting tour and Zoe our guide was very excellent and only too pleased to answer our many questions. We later returned to some of the places we discovered on this tour

Gaye S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Emily was a great guide, enjoyed this tour, have recommended to a friend already, went places I would never even look at before!

Mary
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Informative and friendly. Tour guide well acquainted with Melbourne. Loved the morning tea at Koko Black.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Very interesting and the guide was knowledgeable with a very pleasant personality. Would like a little more history included. Hot chocolate stop was too long. It would have been more enjoyable to have had the guide stay for the lunch (also too long a wait for lunch to arrive).

Carmel F
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Thought the experience was worth while. Strongly suspect this was paricularly due to our guide's effort on the day and her lovely manner. Thought the map of the tour would have benefited by being bigger & therefore easier to follow. Goodie bag really was a misnomer it could have been so much more and only 2 store discounts was pretty poor. Morning tea a treat. Lunch just fine -thanks.

Anne D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Enjoyed the tour very much as I experienced areas of Melbourne I was not aware existed. The hostess was easy going with a wealth of information about architecture, grafitti and shopping. I found the group of 10 too large. I think 6-8 participants would be ideal.

Sharon M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

I have been to Melbourne many times, but we saw so much we had no idea about. Our tour guide was fantastic. We loved it, and would recommend the tour to anyone visiting the great city of Melbourne.

Patricia M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

I though it was worthwhile and went back and did some of the arcades on my own. Found the guide more into art then allowing time to shop in the arcades could be a longer tour allowing more time. Though I did enjoy myself.

Roslynne W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Found places and learned things we would never have seen or known about. Enjoyed reliving the tour as we revisited the places.

Nessy P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

Worth doing - nice easy pace, interesting tidbits about buildings and laneways.

Anita W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

Showed some great places to shop and eat.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour guide,Sarah was excellent.well informed and knowledgeable. However I'm not sure the tour was worth 95. I did learn some very interesting facts.about Melbourne which I appreciated.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was very pleasant and the tour guide was informative and interesting.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

I must admit that I began to call this tour "a view of Melbourne's garbage collection containers". We seemed to miss out all the big, interesting streets and kept delving down dark alleyways which of course the shops and restaurants used to put their bins in. However, after a while things did look up and we did see Block's and The Royal Arcade. Spent too much time on graffiti for my liking and not enough on the iconic landmark buildings of Melbourne and their history.

ROSE F
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Very interesting. Great group not large. Found some out of the way arcades. Would recommend it to anyone visiting

John M
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Something different but I don't really think worth the money.

Patrick F
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

Overpriced, too long, could not hear tour guide, lunch fair, suggest give meal voucher instead. Gift bag not worth getting. Too long in some arcades e.g. the photographer's and not enough in more interesting places.

From USD $ 68.93

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3671ARCADES

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message