4.5 star rating: Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Mt. Buller Ski Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Brilliant tour! Our driver, Geoff, was absolutely pleasant and informative. Thumbs up!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Had a great day. Would have liked to have arrived earlier at Mt. Buller so when you have finished ski lessons you can actually have time on the slopes, a little bit rushed for time. Otherwise a good day out.

Andrea D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very organised. Don our driver collected us from our hotel and explained everything in detail as to the course of the day. Although as a horse enthusiest there was not mention of Mansfield & Merrijig being where they filmed the "Man from Snowy River". Maybe this bit of trivia would have been interesting to others as the movie was shown on the way back on the coach Regarless of this, the trip was comfortable and felt very safe with Don's driving. Thanks to all. Regards Andrea

NORM H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

I had a great trip! The driver was good. Would do this again!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Although the trip was fun, it would have been better to arrive at the mountain a little earlier. We just missed the 11:00am lesson, which meant that we had to wait for the lesson at 1:30pm. It is a 2 hour lesson, and then we had to be at the bus by 4:00. There was no time to practice what we learned. We needed more time to actually ski.

Thu N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

A professional driver, very comfortable coach, and they were punctual.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

I managed to go on a perfect spring day. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The driver was very knowledgeable about the area, and the people on and off the mountain were very friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend this trip to any skiing enthusiast.

Sophia T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

The driver was very helpful and professional. Enjoyed the smooth ride, enjoyed experiencing snow again. Would have liked a longer stay, maybe next time have three days at Mt. Buller so we can experience some skiing. All in all a great trip enjoyed by all the family.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It was an amazing experience for me as traveler that live in tropical country. The driver picked up ontime and give clear information to makesure all safety equipment to be brought, and we also got 10% disc voucher as perk to buy some food in mt Buller. The skiing lesson is recommended for first timer. The tour just dropped us in parking area, then we continued using free suttle bus to the skiing area. So, please make sure you know what you wanna do, and ask to the officer inside the venue to get clear information otherwise you'll get lost. As additional, we actually can stay in Mt Buller and get back to the city using bus in the following day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Good i like it

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Great driver well organised people. Need to getting mount buller for the early ski lesson to make the most of the one day

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

unfortunately the weather was very bad at the top of Mt Buffalo which spoiled what could have been a good day

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The tour is a bit over price no doubt that Mt Buller is a beautiful place to visit. It took 4 hours for us to reach to Mount Buller. If you wish to have a beginner lesson, personally, i feel that it is best to stay there overnight. The moment you reach the mountain, it will be lunchtime. And you will have to gather back to the bus by 4pm. Thus, you are left with roughly about 3hours to ski. Time will be a constrain if you wish to have the lesson and enjoy the scenery there. There will only be one pit stop on the way up where you can rent your attire, ski/snowboard and grab a quick bite.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

disappointing tour wasnt the best

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

the driver was very good and informed us of all that matters and some. all together well worth the early start

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Had a good time. You need to hire at least snow pants and shoes if you are going to play in the snow.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Mt Buller is a lovely place, very picturesque, beautiful scenery. Our trip was at the end of the snow season but there was a run still open and they had been making snow overnight to keep the depth suitable. Our day was sunny, no wind-.how lucky and just 5 deg but with the ski gear on you didn't feel the cold.Gloves are a must if you go on the snow. The bus trip was long and I did get a little motion sick but not enough to debilitate me. The coach driver was friendly but didn't give much of a commentary along the way. We stopped at Mansfield to hire ski gear and the staff were friendly but I would recommend hiring gear at Mt Buller on arrival. You have to lug all the gear onto the bus and off again and then on and off the shuttle bus that picks you up at the bottom of the mountain when you arrive at Mt Buller so we found that to be a pain in the neck. It was all a bit too rushed at Mansfield fitting everyone for the hire gear and we didn't get a chance for a coffee or eats and we were on the bus early at 6am so had to leave our hotel after 5.30am to walk down to the pick up hotel so we were up pretty early anyway. It was a long time without a coffee or eats. I had a 2hr ski lesson booked but as we didn't arrive until just after 11am I missed the first lesson, had to wait till the 1.30pm session. Meanwhile, we had a coffee and small lunch at the café before my husband went off for a ski on his own while I sat and watched. When we went to get changed into our ski gear there were no change rooms in the toilets so we had to get changed in the small toilet cubicles..I think change rooms would have been appropriate. When I got to have my ski lesson the teacher 'Hans' was not a very friendly person and made me feel very uncomfortable and intimidated right from the start. I was a total beginner and a more understanding friendly inviting approach by Hans and allow me to learn at my pace would have been the way to go. Not much else to do there if you don't ski but had a great day nonetheless.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

It's Ok.

Heather S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

We would have liked a bit more guidance on the mountain of what we could do for our package particularly when we weren't skiing. It would have been nice to access more of the ski lifts so we could view more of Mt Buller. We were restricted to 1 ski lift which only took us a very short distance up the hill. Value for money for a family wasn't there. Very expensive for a family! Had no idea how little snow there was and to travel a 14 hour day with the kids was very disappointing.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

This tour is the worst tour we've ever taken. With four of us, spending almost a thousand dollars for the tour, ski equipment and group lessons, nobody told us that the equipment rental is available on the ski site, and therefore we dragged all the heavy ski equipments from the rental place as recommended by the guide. After spending so much money and the drama, we were told that we can only ski for around 2-3 hours because the bus was going to leave at certain time. The guide was not helpful and rude, he complained about us in front of the whole bus for using the bus toilet (for my 5 years old kid). From beginning to the end of the program, this tour is a nightmare. I am wondering why VIATOR promotes this program.

Special Offer

From USD $ 102.22

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_359_319_309

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message