4.5 star rating: Recommended 160 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  6 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 160 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was such an amazing trip, Colin was absolutely helpful and very well informed. . Overall EXCELLENT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

was a well organised trip with an informative guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well done, great experience and despite the foggy cold night I enjoyed seeing these marvellous little creatures.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent. Superb tour.Good value for money. Worth upgrading to the VIP. Magical memories.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip is worth doing even just for the beautiful scenery on Phillip Island, so seeing the gorgeous penguins is a fantastic added bonus!!! We really enjoyed ourselves and loved the trip!!! ...Our driver was lovely and friendly and very informative. ...The only possible improvement I could suggest to the whole experience would be if there were some healthy food options at the cafe/penguin visitors center. We were starving but were disappointed to see that deep fried fish and chips, popcorn and chocolate bars seemed to be the only available options for dinner. The rest of the trip was superb :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nice tour, good view, good driver, comfortable and clean coach.. Prefer in platform if you are with children, closer to penguins.. Can not take photos.. Anyway, need to confirm by phone 1 day before.. Overall : Very good!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

my granddaughter and I loved the tour, glad I did the upgrade for the better views and was less crowded. our guide Norman was great, the bus comfortable and not over crowded. saw wallabys, geese with their baby chicks and of course the penguins, which waddled past so close you could almost touch them.. my granddaughter is already planning activities for our next years trip which will im sure will include a tour similar to this.. thanks for a great arvo/evening will definitely book again

John M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is really a must see for anyone visiting Melbourne and having a coach trip like this, takes all the hassle out of the long trip and lets you enjoy the scenery and have a snooze on the way back! Our driver David seemed to know every corner of the landscape of the journey but importantly, gave helpful and explicit instructions regarding what to do and when - e.g. on the premium tour, get to the grandstand early to gain the best spots. The fish and chip dinner was fine should you choose but it can be a long night so consider dinner options. Also, you will need to watch the timings given changes to daylight hours summer and winter. Allow 2 hours (might be less) for travel there and back, traffic depending. The penguins themselves are a delight and this is an incredible natural wonder on a very special part of Australia. If you are staying in Melbourne city, you don't really need a car and this trip is worth the expense for someone that knows where to go efficiently. Double check your hotel pick up - it is only to selected hotels, however, most should be in walking distance or via Federation Square. Even in the middle of winter, the attraction was packed with general tourists and other tour groups - this is a popular event. It is about 3-4 hours travelling for about 1 hour watching the penguin parade but this is a magical hour - take to time to experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a great time on this tour! We had limited time so an evening tour leaving mid afternoon was perfect for us. The coach ride was scenic and the driver fun and informative. Phillip Island was beautiful and the visitors centre well worth a look around. The stars of the show are the penguins who come out of the sea and waddle up the beach. The viewing platforms on the beach are great to see this but i felt the platforms back to the visitors centre gave visitors a close up view as the pengiuns waddled to their homes. So cute!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was so highly organised that we, the tourist do not have to waste our time sitting long hours in the viewing platform waiting for the penguins to start coming back to their burrows. It's really a just in timing experience. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was great. A comfortable bus, a knowledgeable driver. The penguins were many and fun to watch.
A very enjoyable experience.

We have paid for a "plus" version, which gave us a somewhat better view of the penguins and a less crowded environment. It is also included a fish-and-chip dinner, which was mediocre.

The only unpleasant part of the experience was that, on the way back, the driver of the bus put on a movie, related to penguins. It was late, and many people wanted just to sleep, but the loud and bright movie playing
just in front of my eyes made it hard to sleep. The passengers could not control it, and the driver of the bus could not (or did not want) to turned it down either.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My friend and I were looking for a comfortable, enjoyable and short trip to Phillip Island and we got it. Great comfort, great commentary and quick and easy and enjoyable. Thank you very much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour to Philip Island was good and I got a good and wonderful view of the hundreds of penguins coming in from the sea. Worth paying a little more to be so near the penguins.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cute little penguins return to their home in the evening reminds us how important family is! And they really cute! Nice view at the phillips island. The fish and chips is delicious as well. Thanks viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After our original Sunday afternoon tour was cancelled due to low numbers, my two kids and I were actually upgraded to a different tour with no fuss and excellent communication. The hotel pickup was EXACTLY on time and Adrian, our bus driver, was fantastic. His commentary was extensive and he gave us great insider tips once at Phillip Island. The penguins were adorable and such an amazing experience for all age groups. My only criticisms are a longer than necessary stop for dinner on the way home....it was almost longer at the town than at the penguins themselves....and tardy, inconsiderate fellow passengers that did not arrive at the bus when we were scheduled to go, consequently delaying us even more!

From USD $ 103.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M11

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message