Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 245 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jeany Grace T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nice tour, good view, good driver, comfortable and clean coach.. Prefer in platform if you are with children, closer to penguins.. Can not take photos.. Anyway, need to confirm by phone 1 day before.. Overall : Very good!

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

my granddaughter and I loved the tour, glad I did the upgrade for the better views and was less crowded. our guide Norman was great, the bus comfortable and not over crowded. saw wallabys, geese with their baby chicks and of course the penguins, which waddled past so close you could almost touch them.. my granddaughter is already planning activities for our next years trip which will im sure will include a tour similar to this.. thanks for a great arvo/evening will definitely book again

John M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is really a must see for anyone visiting Melbourne and having a coach trip like this, takes all the hassle out of the long trip and lets you enjoy the scenery and have a snooze on the way back! Our driver David seemed to know every corner of the landscape of the journey but importantly, gave helpful and explicit instructions regarding what to do and when - e.g. on the premium tour, get to the grandstand early to gain the best spots. The fish and chip dinner was fine should you choose but it can be a long night so consider dinner options. Also, you will need to watch the timings given changes to daylight hours summer and winter. Allow 2 hours (might be less) for travel there and back, traffic depending. The penguins themselves are a delight and this is an incredible natural wonder on a very special part of Australia. If you are staying in Melbourne city, you don't really need a car and this trip is worth the expense for someone that knows where to go efficiently. Double check your hotel pick up - it is only to selected hotels, however, most should be in walking distance or via Federation Square. Even in the middle of winter, the attraction was packed with general tourists and other tour groups - this is a popular event. It is about 3-4 hours travelling for about 1 hour watching the penguin parade but this is a magical hour - take to time to experience.

janet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a great time on this tour! We had limited time so an evening tour leaving mid afternoon was perfect for us. The coach ride was scenic and the driver fun and informative. Phillip Island was beautiful and the visitors centre well worth a look around. The stars of the show are the penguins who come out of the sea and waddle up the beach. The viewing platforms on the beach are great to see this but i felt the platforms back to the visitors centre gave visitors a close up view as the pengiuns waddled to their homes. So cute!

LEE FONG W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was so highly organised that we, the tourist do not have to waste our time sitting long hours in the viewing platform waiting for the penguins to start coming back to their burrows. It's really a just in timing experience. Highly recommended.

Gennady S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was great. A comfortable bus, a knowledgeable driver. The penguins were many and fun to watch.
A very enjoyable experience.

We have paid for a "plus" version, which gave us a somewhat better view of the penguins and a less crowded environment. It is also included a fish-and-chip dinner, which was mediocre.

The only unpleasant part of the experience was that, on the way back, the driver of the bus put on a movie, related to penguins. It was late, and many people wanted just to sleep, but the loud and bright movie playing
just in front of my eyes made it hard to sleep. The passengers could not control it, and the driver of the bus could not (or did not want) to turned it down either.

Daniela J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My friend and I were looking for a comfortable, enjoyable and short trip to Phillip Island and we got it. Great comfort, great commentary and quick and easy and enjoyable. Thank you very much!

Sau Kheng A Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour to Philip Island was good and I got a good and wonderful view of the hundreds of penguins coming in from the sea. Worth paying a little more to be so near the penguins.

LEE K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cute little penguins return to their home in the evening reminds us how important family is! And they really cute! Nice view at the phillips island. The fish and chips is delicious as well. Thanks viator!

wjhm.ryder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After our original Sunday afternoon tour was cancelled due to low numbers, my two kids and I were actually upgraded to a different tour with no fuss and excellent communication. The hotel pickup was EXACTLY on time and Adrian, our bus driver, was fantastic. His commentary was extensive and he gave us great insider tips once at Phillip Island. The penguins were adorable and such an amazing experience for all age groups. My only criticisms are a longer than necessary stop for dinner on the way home....it was almost longer at the town than at the penguins themselves....and tardy, inconsiderate fellow passengers that did not arrive at the bus when we were scheduled to go, consequently delaying us even more!

Brodereck G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, bus driver very informative

TUSHAR MADHAV P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my “direct” Philip Island Penguin tour. Richard who was the driver cum guide had a good sense of humour and also gave us the right tips for watching the penguins up and close. The bus was well maintained and is definitely a better choice then the small tours who claim to give a personal experience but use a small bus. Watching the tiny Penguins this close was an experience of life time. I would highly recommend this trip to all those who are short on time in Melbourne

velraj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

it was short and sweet. hotel pickup was an extra bonus. coach driver was very friendly. i definitely recommend this trip

Lesley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip - could have done with a bit more time to watch the penguins heading to their burrows and grab some food/drink for us

Jill G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour guide/driver who gave all information that we needed to enable us to get good views etc.

lyndacoppin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fab tour pick commentry on the way Penguins fantastic have done this tour before and would definately do again if ever in Melbourne .Highly Recommend

Andrew K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time! The driver was extremely knowledgeable, which was great for all the foreign tourists, and his tips about the actual viewing were 100% correct which meant that with a bit of patience we ended up almost on the beach with the penguins about 10 minutes after the first ones came ashore. I highly recommend the trip, despite the crowds everything was very well managed which actually made it a much better experience than I had assumed.

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic evening, the stars of the show arrived on time and in huge numbers, and largely ignored their human audience.

Kristin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

5 stars because it was everything we wanted - plus a lovely bus driver. Great trip.

Nathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Awesome tour totally recommend it. Great to see the penguins in their natural environment.

Anne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Short of time but still want to see Penguins? This is the tour! Comfortable bus, friendly and knowledgeable driver and guide, amazing experience seeing the penguins! A must do for Melbourne!

Lola Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The penguins were really sweet. Would recommend the Penguins Plus option as you can see the penguins much better than than with the general viewing.

Judy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Really enjoyed it. My tour was cancelled and I was put on this one as a substitute. Almost missed it because message left at hotel when I was on city tour. Turned out well.

Gareth J United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A must see. Really enjoyed the tour.

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This tour didnt happen so we were put onto another tour that visited a wildife park as well as penquins. Our Bus driver was fantastic! The wildlife park we found was boring as we have seen all before but to visitors we could tell they loved it. The penquins were wonderful. We wish tho we had known that you could upgrade your ticket and go the boardwalk. The bus drivers recommendation for dinner was perfect. My grandaughter and i had a lovely day

Viewing 4 of 10

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 102.73

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M11

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message