5 star rating: Highly Recommended 255 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 - 12 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 255 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall, it was a fantastic day trip despite the occasional showers and cold wind. My two girls and I loved the Koala Conservation Centre and the visit to Rhyll Trout and Bush a Tucker Farm. It was refreshing to see, touch, smell and taste the various plants grown here at the farm. It was a little disappointing that we saw no seals at Nobbes, but it was the fault of no one. The highlight would have to be the viewing of the penguins when they returned from the ocean. The upgrade to the viewing platform was definitely worth the money.
Driver cum guide Travis from Gowest was entertaining throughout the day. My family would remember this trip for a long time to come.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a unique experience! The stops along the way are a nice diversion from the long ride (the chocolate is yummy!) and seeing the penguins come in at sunset is a "do not miss" event.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Would highly recommend this. There is nothing much cuter than the penguins waddling their way to their burrows. We had a guide sit with us on the beach and who provided lots of information about these penguins. I really loved this. Very unique and much fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Such good value, knowledgable guide and great fun!

Jenny C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable day. We stopped at the amazing chocolate factory. Make sure you pay that little bit extra to see the penguins. I sat on the beach front row and you watch these little penguins come out of the water right in front of you and waddle up the sand. By paying the extra you get your own small guided tour. They give you a cushioned seat to also sit on the sand and then take you down the boardwalk to see the penguins going into their burrows explaining things along the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Lovely tour, guide was excellent, penguins exciting even thought the weather was bleak.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour is awesome. It's a full day, but worth it. With a short stay in Melbourne, this is a perfect way to see a few different places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The day Started with our Friendly tour guide Zac picking us up from our Melbourne Hotel - Zac was a fantastic tour guide who made us feel quite welcome. The Tour itself was fantastic, The day is evenly paced yet packed with different activities and some wonderful experiences during the way. The Winery, The Koala Sanctuary and Penguin parade were fantastic (I never imagined to see quite THAT MANY penguins ).
The only downside was that the Chocolate factory was quite stingy with its free samples - however the factory itself was a lot of fun and had a few interesting oddities.

I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anybody.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Wonderful, we had a fantastic day and seeing the penguins at the end of the day was definitely a highlight. Thank you for a great day. It was everything we hoped it would be

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a difference the guide makes. Our driver Daniel was full of "cheese" but that made the journey so much fun and we learned a great deal about the history and Sites on the way to Phillip Island. It is a late night so be prepared (particularly if it is raining and cold). I went on the guided tour at the Penguin Parade and would highly recommend you pay the extra to get up closer and more personal with the Penguins. A natural event that is beautiful and rare :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is not just a tour to see the little penguins on Philip Island, it is a great way to enjoy the different things this lovely island has to offer. We had a great time thanks to our tour guide Katie, please pass on my sincere thanks! Thoroughly enjoyed the penguins but also the wine and cheese tasting, chocolate factory and spotting animals in the wild or parks. Thanks so much.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everyone has to see the penguins! Bring a coat, and probably something water proof too. Since the penguins don't make their way in until after dark you can get very cold. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun to be with for the entire day. The only thing that would make this day trip better is to go to the wildlife park to play with the Kangaroos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a brilliant trip highly recommended. Well worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an EXCELLENT tour and I would highly recommend it. It was such a nice selection of things to do for a day, I loved the variety. We started off by visiting a chocolate factory, where you can win FREE chocolate! Then a visit to a koala sanctuary, where we got to see several koalas up close in the trees, which was much better than the zoo. Next stop was a visit to a vineyard where we sat outside for delicious cheese and wine tasting, followed by a stop to the Nobbies. Finally, the absolute highlight of the day was the penguin parade. A few people had said to me that they didn't think the penguin parade was very good as it was too dark and you couldn't get very close, but we paid a few extra bucks for the Penguin Plus option, which was absolutely worth it (you also get a free souvenir book and drink with this option too). We saw the penguins really close as they came up the beach in their groups, then could follow them closely as we walked alongside them on the boardwalk as they made their way up in to the sand dunes. Even if you don't get the Penguin Plus option, you can still follow the penguins along the boardwalk, even if you can't see them on the beach. I would highly rate this tour to anyone thinking about doing it. It was such a wonderful, varied and well-planned day, it absolutely was the highlight of my Australia holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is a once in a lifetime experience and is fantastic. We paid for the private penguin parade and it was clearly far better than the standard or penguin plus packages (although they would have been very enjoyable too). The private parade gives you a guide ranger who tells you all about the penguins and can answer any questions you throw at them and you also get front row seats and binoculars to use. Well worth the extra money!

From USD $ 107.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3181GOWEST2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message