5 star rating: Highly Recommended 247 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 - 12 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 247 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great fun and variety on this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

An awesome tour with a great tour guide. The tour was full of interesting and diverse visits and the penguin parade was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The whole day was great right from the pickup from our hotel until we were dropped off at the end of the trip back at our hotel. The places we went to before the penguin parade we liked, my wife liked the chocolate factory the best after the penguins and I liked the winery the best after the penguins. We took the full penguin package and it was worth it, the guide was very good. Our tour was with Go West and the driver was very good. Would go and another tour again with this company.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Katie was great tour guide. Lots of local tid bits. The day was terrific and the upgrade for the penguins was worth the extra $ to have them walk by me within touching distance.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great day out of Melbourne!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tour guide lovely and from the island. Her love of island contagious. She was engaging. Penguins were the best. And the Koalas... the chocolate factory and winery so so...also need to find better places to eat...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Enjoyed the whole day! Great tour director in Chris. I was on the upgraded tour with being on the beach and had one of the penguins come right up to me, touch it's beak to my knee, and stop for small time right beside me. Was that exciting or what !!!!
Got to love that chocolate as well. Saw lots of Koala's.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Knowledgeable driver and friendly. The trip to the chocolate factory and the winery was just to fill time and really not that worthwhile. However, the koala preserve was fun and we could have used more time there (and less at the chocolate factory). The penguin parade is not really that - it varies day-to-day on how many penguins will actually come ashore. Be sure to get the tickets for the penguin plus viewing platform as I think the general admission folks were disappointed that evening. These birds are really small and you need to be as close as you can get.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What an amazing day. Fun and informative tour guide. You spend just the right amount of time at each location (chocolate factory, wine tasting, koala conservancy and penguin parade). We even did a couple "side trips" to see things that weren't "on the schedule".
I highly recommend paying the extra money to have the "private" viewing of the penguins too. It's not essential but you'll be sorry if you don't (the other people on our tour were envious of US!). The rangers at the penguin parade are extremely knowledgable and friendly.
This tour was THE HIGHLIGHT to our 3 + week in Australia!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a wonderful tour, and a "must do" for anyone staying in Melbourne. Chocolate, Wine and Wildife - Brilliant! Seeing the little penguins emerge from the sea is a memory to be cherished - it's a shame you can't take photo's though. However, you can take photo's of the penguins at the Nobbies. Remeber your coat - no matter how hot the day is, the antartic winds that hit the beach are freezing. Our wonderful guide Frank lent me his sheepskin, and even stopped when we wanted to take photo's of Wallabies! Panny's was great fun, and we won many chocolates in the games. Excellent wines at the winetasting too. I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

KeNelia
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

If you go to Melbourne a must do if you are into this kind of thing. Lot of time to kill during the tour before seeing the penguins and that was also fun.

The time from beginning to end of the return of the penguins is rather short. It can get cold and you can not take photos of the penguins. Please respect this rule for the well being of the penguins. It is bad reflection on your country and yourself to disrespect this rule. Unfortunately I saw quite a few visitors from Japan, S. Korea and China disrespect this rule.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

It was the highlight of my two week vacation in Australia! Our tour guide and the ranger at the penguin site were fantastic - it was great to be around such knowledgeable and genuinely passionate people who clearly enjoyed what they were doing. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Had a fantastic time on our tour and our guide from go west Katie was so good and so knowledgable . We will definantly will travel with go west agan . I found Viator very helpful and efficient . Thank you to all for a great day and night.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our tour guide Katie was so good and friendly couldn't ask for a better tour guide had a wonderful day and night with those furry pequins . Awesome!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour with the same comments as above

From USD $ 112.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3181GOWEST2

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message