5 star rating: Highly Recommended 275 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 - 12 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 275 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great day out of Melbourne!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Tour guide lovely and from the island. Her love of island contagious. She was engaging. Penguins were the best. And the Koalas... the chocolate factory and winery so so...also need to find better places to eat...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Enjoyed the whole day! Great tour director in Chris. I was on the upgraded tour with being on the beach and had one of the penguins come right up to me, touch it's beak to my knee, and stop for small time right beside me. Was that exciting or what !!!!
Got to love that chocolate as well. Saw lots of Koala's.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Knowledgeable driver and friendly. The trip to the chocolate factory and the winery was just to fill time and really not that worthwhile. However, the koala preserve was fun and we could have used more time there (and less at the chocolate factory). The penguin parade is not really that - it varies day-to-day on how many penguins will actually come ashore. Be sure to get the tickets for the penguin plus viewing platform as I think the general admission folks were disappointed that evening. These birds are really small and you need to be as close as you can get.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What an amazing day. Fun and informative tour guide. You spend just the right amount of time at each location (chocolate factory, wine tasting, koala conservancy and penguin parade). We even did a couple "side trips" to see things that weren't "on the schedule".
I highly recommend paying the extra money to have the "private" viewing of the penguins too. It's not essential but you'll be sorry if you don't (the other people on our tour were envious of US!). The rangers at the penguin parade are extremely knowledgable and friendly.
This tour was THE HIGHLIGHT to our 3 + week in Australia!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a wonderful tour, and a "must do" for anyone staying in Melbourne. Chocolate, Wine and Wildife - Brilliant! Seeing the little penguins emerge from the sea is a memory to be cherished - it's a shame you can't take photo's though. However, you can take photo's of the penguins at the Nobbies. Remeber your coat - no matter how hot the day is, the antartic winds that hit the beach are freezing. Our wonderful guide Frank lent me his sheepskin, and even stopped when we wanted to take photo's of Wallabies! Panny's was great fun, and we won many chocolates in the games. Excellent wines at the winetasting too. I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

KeNelia
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

If you go to Melbourne a must do if you are into this kind of thing. Lot of time to kill during the tour before seeing the penguins and that was also fun.

The time from beginning to end of the return of the penguins is rather short. It can get cold and you can not take photos of the penguins. Please respect this rule for the well being of the penguins. It is bad reflection on your country and yourself to disrespect this rule. Unfortunately I saw quite a few visitors from Japan, S. Korea and China disrespect this rule.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

It was the highlight of my two week vacation in Australia! Our tour guide and the ranger at the penguin site were fantastic - it was great to be around such knowledgeable and genuinely passionate people who clearly enjoyed what they were doing. Thank you!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Had a fantastic time on our tour and our guide from go west Katie was so good and so knowledgable . We will definantly will travel with go west agan . I found Viator very helpful and efficient . Thank you to all for a great day and night.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our tour guide Katie was so good and friendly couldn't ask for a better tour guide had a wonderful day and night with those furry pequins . Awesome!!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour with the same comments as above

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Really enjoyable tour. Our guide Steve was really good and he was fun. The penguins were amazing an unforgettable experience! Really good being in a small group. Would definitely recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Show of The Mother Nature .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Luv this trip...it was magical to meet these little creature. I was astonished and awed by the experience, being so close to them. They are half size smaller than a hen and about the size of seagull.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Excellent tour. Would definitely recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Fantastic tour. Each stop was just the right length. Definitely one of the best tours I have ever been on.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The guide is awesome:)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Life changing experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Add this one to your bucket list, and visit in November when the babies are there if possible. They are SOOOOOOO cute! Do Not Miss this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Outstanding all around. Great guide an the penguins are amazing. Dress warmly, even in summer!!
I recommend this highly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Wonderful trip . Our guide -Travis was fantastic. very knowledgable . A great guy . Really made the trip something special . As visitors fro the UK we loved the wildlife. We genuinely felt Go West organise and executed a fantastic day out . Thanks to all . We highly recommend this company

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

It was an excellent way to spend the day. Our guide was entertaining and the day was over before we realised it. I would definitely recommend this trip to Phillips island.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A great trip, We were able to get qite close to the adorable penguins.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A very friendly tour with a small group and a knowledgeable guide. Philip Island is beautiful and this tour takes you to places large coaches won't be able to get to. It's definitely worth upgrading to premium viewing to get a really close-up view of the penguins! :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Many thanks to our driver who made this a very worthwhile trip. She was very well informed and kept us amused during the long drive to Phillip Island. Thank you Katie.

From USD $ 110.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3181GOWEST2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message