4.5 star rating: Recommended 392 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 392 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Phillip Island penguins were so adorable! So glad I went to see them while in Melbourne. The driver guide was fantastic and really knowledgeable and helpful. Phillip Island itself is really beautiful, it was nice to get an overview of the island on this tour and to have dinner there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic trip. We visited Maru wildlife park and were able to hand feed wallabies and kangaroos and saw dingos and koalas and wombats. Then on to the beach in time to see the adorable penguins coming up in great numbers. Check the tide charts for Summerville beach on Phillip Island, and if it is going to be at or near high tide at sundown, I highly recommend the penguin plus or ultimate penguin tour that affords a closer view from private viewing areas. Otherwise the standard fare is fine. Great fun but it can get chilly with the wind blowing in from the ocean. Bring a jacket.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip. Ranger very informative at Phillip Island where we were in a small group of eight with radio contact with him. Many penguins to see at close quarters.
Only downside was pick up was very late and by another tour operator who didn't know to collect us from The
Langham Hotel.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My two UK friends were as enraptured as I was with this trip. Beautifully organised and an absolute joy. Highly recommended to all visitors and locals alike. Peter the coach driver made it even more enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Driver / Guide was excellent. Also drove down the back beach road late pm and saw lots of wallaby's.The only draw back is that you cannot take pictures or video of the Penguin's as people previously caused a problem with flash photography and it was a problem for the penguins so they have a strict policy of no cameras. They also have a brewery and sell Penguin beer .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Remember to grab a jacket/windbreaker along, it gets pretty chilly while waiting for the penguins.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Incredible! Everything about the trip was top notch!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Went to maru koala and animal park, you can feed the kangaroos,take a close up photo with the koala n see the sheep shearing.The penguins are so adorable! It was cold but really worth waiting for them to come to the shore and waddle to their burrows. Opt for the PP package is much worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour. As everyone says the highlight really is the Penguin Parade. Pay the extra money for the viewing platform; hundreds of penguins were only a meter away from us! Take a plastic bag with you (to sit on in case the bleachers or ground is wet) and be sure to pack a sweater/wind breaker for the ocean breeze.

Our guide was great and provided extra information about Australia on the drive out. Additionally, he took us to extra stops along the way and we had the chance to see some lovely beaches on Philip Island.

While dinner isn't included, they take you to a small town choices of low and moderately prized meals; I was really surprised how affordable and good the food was considering that they really had the opportunity to overcharge the tourists.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Comfortable vehicle, great driver / tour guide / compere. The sheep shearing/ Aussie animal zoo was a little underwhelming - maybe for others it had something of interest.
Penguins were great. - we went for the upgrade with a guide and select seating location on the beach which was a great choice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A must if you want to see the natural evening cycle of the Penguins.The Koala and the Kangeroo in the zoo were a delight,but best of all,and worth waiting for was the Penguin parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was a dream come true trip for me. Our bus driver, Peter, was most efficient, informative and gave us a wonderful background of information and places of interest. My tour with the ranger was again excellent. To be able to sit on the beach and have at least two groups of penguins waddle past us, was more than I could hope for. I would highly recommend this tour for getting the most amazing tour, information and experiences.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highlight of our visit was seeing these little penguins make their trek back.
The tour also included a great wild animal park and was the best and least expensive and most interactive of the parks I visited during my visit to Melbourne or Sydney.
Loved the Thai food on Phillips Island when we had dinner (it's not included so you can pick any place) our friends loved the italian place!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

WONDERFUL experience! Fulfilled my expectations, but was a little disappointed that we couldn't take photos. Bought great postcards and sent them to myself. I will never forget this experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolutely amazing experience. Some lovely stops on the way with some beautiful scenery. But, of course, the main attraction - the penguins - steal the show. It is a truly wonderful experience to see them in their natural environment. Something that will stick with me forever.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was great and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything about this trip was great. I was pleased with all the experiences.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Phillips Islands was a great experience. I recommend getting the Ultimate Penguin Tour. You get binoculars, a private tour, and reserved seating right in front! The wildlife park was also great. Feeding the kangaroos was fun and the koalas are adorable. Spend the extra money to take a picture with one of them. Our tour guide, Roger, was great help and he made our experience more enjoyable!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful day, amazing experience, we loved it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was awesome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour! We traveled in a coach bus with 48 people to a wildlife park where we got to feed kangaroos, take a picture with a koala, and see other cute animals. We stopped at various places along the way to Phillip Island and had the chance to see spectacular views of beach and the Nobbies. The penguin parade was amazing. We purchased the plus pass which included a free small drink, a guide book, and close-up seating. It was definitely worth paying the extra $20/person. Those little penguins are so cute! Our tour guide was very knowledeable and told us many stories along the way. He was also funny and friendly, and recommended a great fish and chips place for dinner. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

First time I am so close up to the penguins. we selected the plus package. its worth it really since we already went all the way there, might as well. Awesome experience, too bad no video / photography allowed. Understandable... definitely consider for the penguins :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Definetely one of the greatest experiences of my life!! Phillip Island is an amazing place and see the penguins parade and wallabies spread everywhere is an opportunity of a life time. Must see!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is an unique nowhere else to be seen experience.

From USD $ 121.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M10

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message