4.5 star rating: Recommended 332 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  Varies

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 332 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour. The guide all were just too good. I had a very good view of penguins too.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful trip even if the weather was bad.

FOXES ON TOUR
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent ! If you come to Australia and don't do this tour you have missed a really special experience. If only everyone would stick to the "no photos" rule it would have been perfect but most people were there for the event and took the memories home in their heads.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

+++

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Penguins Parade is a "Must" tour if you visit Melbourne. The littel blue penguins are so cute and you won't see anything like this anywhere else. Dinner afterwards in Cowes was good but kind of rush for dinning in a restaurant.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour started with a visit to Maru koala and animal park it was quite small but gave us the chance to see up close the Koalas and Kangaroos as you could walk amongst them and see up close the baby joeys in their mothers pouch! Then it was off to Philip Island, our driver and guide was fantastic and gave us lots of informative information .We paid for the Penguin plus so we were sat in a smaller area and a great position to see the penguins emerge from the sea as it was a high tide there was not much beach exposed so as their heads appeared over the waves they made their way home, after a while we moved to the walk ways as recommended by our guide where it was fantastic to see them waddle up at the side of us. It was quite cool so you need to wear a few layers! We also got a lovely souvenir guide book and a free hot drink for being it that area. On the way back we stopped in Cowes for a meal before the drive home which the driver thoughtfully played us a DVD to kill the 1 hour 45 journey. A great day out!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Opted for the hotel pick up, which was right on time. Interesting narrative on the ride to the penguins and and very enjoyable and relaxing tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Brilliant. Weather was Perfect for Melbourne winter and coach driver was awesome.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The start at Maru Koala and Animal Park was great. I paid extra for the Koala encounter with photo - he was so soft and furry! From there, I tried to feed the wallabies and kangaroos but they were pretty full from all the other tourists. I paid for the Ultimate Penguin option and had to be dropped off by 5pm to be ready for my Ranger tour guide so I missed the Nobbies. We got binoculars, a headset, and a seat for sitting on the beach -- we were the closest ones to the beach with no one in front of us. From there, we went over where the Penguin+ folks watched the penguins come off the beach through another path. Our Ranger tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Dinner afterwards in Cowes was good too -- I had the Kangaroo fillet at the Italian restaurant. Kangaroo has a strong taste as does venison and lamb and I enjoyed it. I did a variation of this tour back in 2004/2005 and took it again as where else can you see the penguins come home from eating fish all day heading to their burrows to rest.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent services

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was my favourite trip - you cannot go to Melbourne without doing it! There is really not a lot I want to say about this one as I don't want to spoil the surprise! This is just amazing! And it does get chilly - so bring a jumper and hat and even a little blanket. We didn't upgrade our package but could see everything clearly from sitting on the steps on the beach. I will never forget this evening that we spent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Australia!
This is not-to-be-missed experience. The animal park was a great experience and we had plenty of time to pet the Kangaroos. You can not pet the Koalas here, and we learned that in most places in Australia you are not allowed to carry them or pet them (apparently in the parks around Cairns you can). To be able to have photographs taken with a Koala you must pay a small adiitional fee for the photo that they take and sell you, but they allow you then to take as many photos as you want with your camera.
For Phillips Island we chose the VIP package with viewing from the Ranger's platform and it was worth it. It was an unforgettable experience to watch the penguins coming out of the ocean.
The only negative about this tour is that they don't allow any type of photography at the Penguin Sanctuary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic day. The penguins are so cute that it's hard to remember that this is a flight for their lives. The centre is very informative and it was worth the upgrade to the more personal experience with a Ranger. The Koala centre was great too but nothing could beat the penguins. Our driver, Shirley, was outstanding.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Colin (the guide) was great! It was an informative, fun and relaxing day trip. I would say this is one of the must sees in Melbourne, so just go for it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great trip really well organised,

From USD $ 136.28

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M10

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message