4.5 star rating: Recommended 181 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 181 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The puffing Billy steam train was an awesome experience. The staff in the train station were super friendly. There is a really happy guy who keeps dancing before the train moves. It was absolutely worth it!
The wildlife sanctuary day tour was a bit disappointing as there was no one to tour us around apparently no one was available to give us a tour because it was too hot.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

safe train, good trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

I loved it and would do it again. The driver was chatty and able to narrate without impeding the experience or personal conversations. My only suggestion is to have the sanctuary first as by the afternoon the animals were sleeping or trying to avoid the heat. Puffing Billy was an absolute treat!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Colin was fantastic!!! Very informative and funny. This tour was the highlight of our holiday. Would not hesitate booking with u again, especially if we had the same tour guide. He deserves a raise :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Enjoyed our day
The driver was very informative
The steam train journey was enjoyable but a little shorter than expected
Really enjoyed feeding the birds
Well worth doing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

puffing billy train ride is highly recommended but could have been a longer ride, bus
driver was very good and we had a very enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I departed Federation Square on what was to be the beginning of one of the best day tours I have EVER undertaken and apart from the Itinerary, it was in no small part due to our driver PETER.
Peter could not have been more informative, his knowledge of Melbourne, The Dandenongs and The Yarra Valley was second to none and exactly what someone wanting to learn about our fair city and surrounds would be eager to learn. He also made everything so interesting.
Morning tea was great, Puffing Billy was fantastic, Lunch at Ferguson's Winery was wonderful and Healsville Sanctuary was a delight.
I am a Melbourne girl and I know a thing or two about my city but as it turns out, I know NOTHING compared to Peter.
At the end of a very long, but satisying day, I would not hesitate to reccomend this wonderful experience to anyone.
And if their other tours are anything like this one, we will be back for more.
And, if their other drivers are of the same calibre as Peter then I am sure the tours will be equally enjoyable.
Jacqui and Joe (front seat on the door side)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the entire trip, and the lively commentary from our bus driver in particular. Wish we'd had a bit more time at the wildlife sanctuary.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great trip, excellent guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Coach was great and the tour guide/driver was excellent. Overall a superb tour and well worth the money. The right amount of time was available at each stop. I never felt rushed nor was I waiting thinking "let's get going". Only problem... on puffing billy if you are not on the correct side of the train you don't get to see the beautiful vistas as well and have to count on others to "let you in" so you can take pictures. Our train was full. I know everyone can't ride on just one side of the train but it is a definite advantage to know which side to choose. Locals might know, but as a tourist from overseas I didn't and missed some beautiful photo opportunities trying to get over to the correct side. The rest of the tour was great and I will recommend it to anyone heading to Melbourne. We took a chance booking online with Viator tours but I would have no qualms about doing so again.

Ronald S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was brilliant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great Tour! We all LOVED it!!! The train ride's fun, get ready with your cameras! Very friendly tour guide and railroad staff. Ask them to take pictures of you before the train starts while you're hanging out of the windows. The Aussie tea with australian home made bread rolls and butter was delicious. Felt a little rushed! Lunch at winery was OK.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent day out great lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very enjoyable day going up to Menzies creek from Belgrave in a stream train and then visiting Healsville Wildlife Sanctuary and seeing all the animals on display especially the Dingo puppy and the Bid Display by the handlers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

What a great time! Great way to see the countryside, have delicious food, and see the animals of Australia. The guide was wonderful and greatly appreciated making me comfortable while by myself on the trip. And the picnic stop was awesome while getting to feed the cockatoos landing right on me! Thank you for a wonderful trip!

From USD $ 131.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M15

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message