Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 208 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Jacqueline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I departed Federation Square on what was to be the beginning of one of the best day tours I have EVER undertaken and apart from the Itinerary, it was in no small part due to our driver PETER.
Peter could not have been more informative, his knowledge of Melbourne, The Dandenongs and The Yarra Valley was second to none and exactly what someone wanting to learn about our fair city and surrounds would be eager to learn. He also made everything so interesting.
Morning tea was great, Puffing Billy was fantastic, Lunch at Ferguson's Winery was wonderful and Healsville Sanctuary was a delight.
I am a Melbourne girl and I know a thing or two about my city but as it turns out, I know NOTHING compared to Peter.
At the end of a very long, but satisying day, I would not hesitate to reccomend this wonderful experience to anyone.
And if their other tours are anything like this one, we will be back for more.
And, if their other drivers are of the same calibre as Peter then I am sure the tours will be equally enjoyable.
Jacqui and Joe (front seat on the door side)

Euda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the entire trip, and the lively commentary from our bus driver in particular. Wish we'd had a bit more time at the wildlife sanctuary.

dianne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great trip, excellent guide

Elaine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Coach was great and the tour guide/driver was excellent. Overall a superb tour and well worth the money. The right amount of time was available at each stop. I never felt rushed nor was I waiting thinking "let's get going". Only problem... on puffing billy if you are not on the correct side of the train you don't get to see the beautiful vistas as well and have to count on others to "let you in" so you can take pictures. Our train was full. I know everyone can't ride on just one side of the train but it is a definite advantage to know which side to choose. Locals might know, but as a tourist from overseas I didn't and missed some beautiful photo opportunities trying to get over to the correct side. The rest of the tour was great and I will recommend it to anyone heading to Melbourne. We took a chance booking online with Viator tours but I would have no qualms about doing so again.

Ronald S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was brilliant!

LUDMILA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great Tour! We all LOVED it!!! The train ride's fun, get ready with your cameras! Very friendly tour guide and railroad staff. Ask them to take pictures of you before the train starts while you're hanging out of the windows. The Aussie tea with australian home made bread rolls and butter was delicious. Felt a little rushed! Lunch at winery was OK.

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent day out great lunch

Nina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very enjoyable day going up to Menzies creek from Belgrave in a stream train and then visiting Healsville Wildlife Sanctuary and seeing all the animals on display especially the Dingo puppy and the Bid Display by the handlers

Gregory A B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

What a great time! Great way to see the countryside, have delicious food, and see the animals of Australia. The guide was wonderful and greatly appreciated making me comfortable while by myself on the trip. And the picnic stop was awesome while getting to feed the cockatoos landing right on me! Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Kazzz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Had a great time. All staff were very helpful and made the trip easy and enjoyable. We got to experience so much in the day, from morning tea and feeding the cockatoos, to the puffing billy . Step back in time, and the people there are mostly volunteers. then on to lovely lunch at a winery with open fireplace with wine tasting, made the day very relaxing. The pick up and drop out service is easy and efficient Will do it again.

malcolm n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

excellent.

BUD USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Perfect mix of activities and sights. Entertaining commentary by the bus driver "Dr. Phil". Buy the lunch at the winery....delicious. See all the main exotic Australian animals.

Bud and Jo

Roger S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Most enjoyable trip. Excellent lunch at the Ferguson vineyard with wine tasting afterwards. The Wildlife sanctuary guided tour was excellent.
The coach trip to/from the locations was also enjoyable with excellent commentary from the driver.

NEIL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Fantastic day, very informative

Peter P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Overall a great experience - tour guide Shane was extremely entertaining.

One minor point - I was unaware of the VIneyard option instead of the sanctuary - this could have been mentioned in the website.

Carole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

What a fun day! From the morning walk in the rain forest, to the great lunch and wine tasting at Ferguson's, to the fun train ride with our feet hanging out through the woods, and the exciting visit to the animal sanctuary, where we saw many amazing animals, we thought this day was perfect!

Caroline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellent tour. Puffing Billy was amazing, though the trip could be a bit longer. Yarra Valley was very nice and so was the sanctuary, but a little rushed due to tour time limits. Our driver was fantastic, very funny. Highly Recommended.

Alexander B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Awesome Awesome tour, I just wouldn't know where to begin. The views along the dandenong forrest, while chugging along in Puffing Billy, was just breath taking and the lunch at Fergusson valley was just exquisit. Cudos to the tour guide for delivering interesting facts as well as having a real hoot of a sense of humour. Would recommend this tour to anyone whos after a good nature trek out!!

Phillip P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

A very well organised and friendly tour. A must to do. Staff were excellent. Try also the wineries visits! Will use again!

June D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Had a fantastic day well worth doing. Peter our driver and guide for the day did a great job.

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Great day, my Aunt has bad legs and is 79 but still had a wonderful day. The birds at morning tea, Puffing Billy was fun and very pretty, lunch very enjoyable at Ferguson's Winery and we finished the day at Healsville Animal Sanctuary, the bird show was amazing. The whole team of workers from the start of day to finish were so helpful and very informative. Thank You

Pauline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Highlight of our trip!!!
Our tour guide Adrian didn't stop with great info all thru the day,he was a true asset to the trip.Puffing Billy was magic.The lunch @ the winery was great value.Great day for young and old.

christine d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent full day trip.interesting,entertaining,a must do!

David Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent value and a great day out ideal for any age group and gives you a great country side view of Melbourne, the winery lunch is an option worth taking.

Christina S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This is the second time I have done this Trip. Loved it , so relaxed. Driver was awesome. Dropped all his passengers off to their hotels, had lots knowledge of area. Spit Lunch was lovely. Would recommend to family and friends

Viewing 3 of 9

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 114.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message