4.5 star rating: Recommended 189 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 189 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Coach was great and the tour guide/driver was excellent. Overall a superb tour and well worth the money. The right amount of time was available at each stop. I never felt rushed nor was I waiting thinking "let's get going". Only problem... on puffing billy if you are not on the correct side of the train you don't get to see the beautiful vistas as well and have to count on others to "let you in" so you can take pictures. Our train was full. I know everyone can't ride on just one side of the train but it is a definite advantage to know which side to choose. Locals might know, but as a tourist from overseas I didn't and missed some beautiful photo opportunities trying to get over to the correct side. The rest of the tour was great and I will recommend it to anyone heading to Melbourne. We took a chance booking online with Viator tours but I would have no qualms about doing so again.

Ronald S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It was brilliant!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great Tour! We all LOVED it!!! The train ride's fun, get ready with your cameras! Very friendly tour guide and railroad staff. Ask them to take pictures of you before the train starts while you're hanging out of the windows. The Aussie tea with australian home made bread rolls and butter was delicious. Felt a little rushed! Lunch at winery was OK.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent day out great lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Very enjoyable day going up to Menzies creek from Belgrave in a stream train and then visiting Healsville Wildlife Sanctuary and seeing all the animals on display especially the Dingo puppy and the Bid Display by the handlers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

What a great time! Great way to see the countryside, have delicious food, and see the animals of Australia. The guide was wonderful and greatly appreciated making me comfortable while by myself on the trip. And the picnic stop was awesome while getting to feed the cockatoos landing right on me! Thank you for a wonderful trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Had a great time. All staff were very helpful and made the trip easy and enjoyable. We got to experience so much in the day, from morning tea and feeding the cockatoos, to the puffing billy . Step back in time, and the people there are mostly volunteers. then on to lovely lunch at a winery with open fireplace with wine tasting, made the day very relaxing. The pick up and drop out service is easy and efficient Will do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

excellent.

BUD
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Perfect mix of activities and sights. Entertaining commentary by the bus driver "Dr. Phil". Buy the lunch at the winery....delicious. See all the main exotic Australian animals.

Bud and Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Most enjoyable trip. Excellent lunch at the Ferguson vineyard with wine tasting afterwards. The Wildlife sanctuary guided tour was excellent.
The coach trip to/from the locations was also enjoyable with excellent commentary from the driver.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Fantastic day, very informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Overall a great experience - tour guide Shane was extremely entertaining.

One minor point - I was unaware of the VIneyard option instead of the sanctuary - this could have been mentioned in the website.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

What a fun day! From the morning walk in the rain forest, to the great lunch and wine tasting at Ferguson's, to the fun train ride with our feet hanging out through the woods, and the exciting visit to the animal sanctuary, where we saw many amazing animals, we thought this day was perfect!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellent tour. Puffing Billy was amazing, though the trip could be a bit longer. Yarra Valley was very nice and so was the sanctuary, but a little rushed due to tour time limits. Our driver was fantastic, very funny. Highly Recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Awesome Awesome tour, I just wouldn't know where to begin. The views along the dandenong forrest, while chugging along in Puffing Billy, was just breath taking and the lunch at Fergusson valley was just exquisit. Cudos to the tour guide for delivering interesting facts as well as having a real hoot of a sense of humour. Would recommend this tour to anyone whos after a good nature trek out!!

From USD $ 126.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message