4.5 star rating: Recommended 199 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 199 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Thelma Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I always use Viator great way to get around. From New York City to Singapore, New Zealand and Melbourne. The drivers are full of information. This trip is the second one I've done love the train! Puffing Billy Steam Train.

Don D
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

An excellent tour, everything was very professional!

Jens S
Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour, liked it very much!

Carolyn U
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Everything about the trip was great, beautiful scenery, tour driver very knowledgeable and friendly. Lunch was terrific. Enjoyed it immensely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

It was day well spent. All aspects of the tour were enjoyable and well done. Excellent tour for someone like me who has one free day to see what Australia has to offer in the Melbourne area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

We had a fabulous day on this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and informative. He even found kangaroo grazing in a field and stopped for us to have a look!! The Healesville Sanctuary was terrific. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone.

Michael L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

In a word: excellent. The experience was complimented with a well informed coach driver with a good sense of humour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

I really enjoyed the entire day. Each stop had something intriguing and different to offer. The meal at the winery was one of the best meals of my entire vacation. Thanks!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Shame about the weather!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

An interesting and enjoyable day.
Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

this trip is interesting and relaxing. Tour guide, Roger is knowledgeable .

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Thought train ride was a longer part of tour, but overall this was great. Morning tea was wonderful and the sanctuary was truly unique and amazing. I could have spent days at sanctuary.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Puffing Billy was a must-see destination. Healesville Sanctuary was some how a wildlife hospital. You can't touch the animals in there and the trip was very rush, due to long journey from the city. I would not recommend to add lunch in your package, just do a-la-carte, won't spend you $20 there.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A full days tour very enjoyable

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very good trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

amazing. my kids love it. although personally I think it could be better if the train co can provide umbrella or poncho for the kids during raining or wet season.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It was good. The bus was over filled and the stops were short. Didn't see as much as I would have liked. But The driver was great.

Great driver.
Ok tour route.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a great day out. Feeding the birds at Grant's, hanging our legs out of Puffing Billy (which is almost mandatory, what ever age) and a great time around the Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary. Our bus driver, Roger, was a real hoot, as well as being a fountain of knowledge about the areas we visited. Well worth the day out. This is the second tour we have booked with Viator. Thanks Andrea and Kathleen.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The wildlife sanctuary was great. We were given a personalized tour, with explanations of the habitats, etc. the train was enjoyable, though not much to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a fabulous tour for young families.
We had a great pickup at the Federation Sq and the tour guide, Colin, was such a laugh. very nice, accommodating and funny to boot!
The Puffing Billy ride was quick but it was interesting to see an original steam train. What a lovely thing to be run completely by volunteers!
We did a few detours due to the traffic and saw bits of the Yarra Valley from another direction.
Travellers who booked lunch at the Yarra Valley wineries were taken in a separate bus to the Yarra Valley and brought back to meet us at Healesville.
Healesville was a beautiful animal sanctuary but it was super crowded as it was the long Queen's Birthday holiday weekend. The volunteers who were our guides were very accommodating and helpful. Upon hearing that I needed to use the nursing room to pump, the guide made plans with the other guides to have me in their rest room/ office for 30 mins. Thereafter, the guide came to pick me up and rejoin our group again. What a lovely gesture!
The lunch was a bit of a mess though - due to the holiday and a new system change, we were able to choose anything from the blackboard menu or combinations of sandwiches or pies. I doubt everyone was told but thankfully, we asked and the cafeteria actually had note of my daughter's allergies and we were able to select items which were better suited for her.
The bird show was just wonderful. We saw many Australian bird/ wildlife otherwise not seen and were shown the animal rescue area/ hospital.
Thereafter, we had time for souvenirs, photos and time to head back to the city.
Perfect day tour for families with young children. Highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The arrangement is little bit confusing, and the email let me arrived the start off place 30minutes in advance. I am frozen . Except that, all good .

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This trip is good value for money. Just wished the train trip could have been longer.
The tour guide at Healesville was very informative about the various animals at the sanctuary. She led us at a cracking pace in order to get through everything. The birds of prey flight is not to be missed.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Enjoyed the ride, wish it was a little longer

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This is a very enjoyable day out, we had a very good driver who gave a very knowledgable commentary. The train ride was great, although not nearly long enough.
While the meal at Rochford Winery was nice, I found the wine was not my personal taste... However others on the trip did enjoy it.
Healesville was great, and I thoroughly enjoyed the park.
My only complaint would be, having opted and paid for the lunch option at Rochford Winery, I would have liked to have had a bit more time to view the menu. We had to make a choice as we were checking onto the bus! I couldn't even read the menu!! (no glasses on) so basically it was...do you want meat, chicken or fish?? While the meal I chose was nice, in hindsight after reading the menu at the venue I would have chosen different. When I go to a restaurant I will spend more than 20 seconds making a meal choice! A suggestion would be to simply ring through the orders from the bus, once customers had made a choice.... After having given them at least 5 minutes to look at the menu!

From USD $ 113.61

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message