4.5 star rating: Recommended 199 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 199 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Wendy H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Just a beautiful journey through the trees

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Definitely with going on - Puffing Billy train old and quaint! On day of tour pulled by diesel locomotive rather than steam - this was due to a high fire risk day but did not spoil enjoyment. I opted for the afternoon wildlife sanctuary tour and managed to see many species. Coach driver knowledgable.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Having been picked up at my hotel it was absolute chaos at the joining point Federation Square - suggest this is sorted as soon as possible! Apart from hat, the rest of the trip was well organised and very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Healesville Wildlife Park it was very nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Puffing Billy was okay, it rained most of the time and people sat in the windows so it was hard to see around them unless you stood. We only had lunch at Yarra Valley which was nice, no tour was included. The Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary would have been better maybe with a different guide or to go out on our own.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour, bus pickup was on time, tour guide/bus driver's commentaries were funny, keeps you listening. Bus ride was comfortable, took us through the scenic route.

Puffing Billy train ride was the best part of the tour, although I was slightly disappointed that it didn't last very long (only to one other station) and that it didn't pass the famous trestle bridge in the picture.

Lunch was good. Food was delicious, did not keep us waiting for long.

The sanctuary visit was good as well. It rained while we were there but still, enjoyed feeding the birds and got to see platypuses.

The hotel drop off was a real bonus as well if you're not driving in Melbourne.

Overall I really enjoyed the tour, would definitely recommend it to people who love to explore the countryside and watch animals, all in a day! .

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Could be useful to hear a few words about the park.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Amazing scenery and fund activities. Aside from the driver who picked us up at our hotel, all staff were very friendly, fun and courteous. Overall, a wonderful experience providing many memories.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was every enjoyable, Bill was a great driver/guide, very helpful. The ride on Puffing Billy was too short and we didn't really have time to look at the specialised merchandise. Lunch at the winery was okay but we seemed to be hurried with the meal, although we had plenty of time. The volunteers at the Healesville Sanctuary were excellent, very knowledgeable, and showed us a much as they could in the time available. All in all a worthwhile tour and would recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tour guide fantastic and everything until Healesville great. Think it was mainly the rainy weather that closed so much down at the sanctuary. Particularly looking forward to 'Birds of Prey' show. As we got off bus we were told that it would probably be canceled due to the weather. Weather got much worse so we thought it was off but at one stage heard PA, ran around in circles, found show on but were locked out. Several exibits closed. Others the animals were naturally hiding because of the rain. Reptil e house - saw a keeper taking visitors into an interesting looking room - went to follow - had door shut in our face - no sorry too many or only for certain people. Can't help weather but felt that a bit more effort needed to be made or simply close the place.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

A ride through lush valley filled with tall trees and tree ferns in semi-open carriages so you can experience the wind in your hair and the sight/sound/smell of a beautifully restored and maintained steam locomotive.
Best done on a nice day in sunshine, with ones legs dangling out the carriage window, not like we did when it was grey, drizzling rain and about 5 degrees Celcius.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

It is a good tour. We did not see the Wild sanctuary since it was raining. Instead we have visited couple of wineries. I want to specifically mention that Viator's process of reservation and selection of local vender is very good. I feel confident to make more reservations through Viator for our future travel.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Pick up well organised, bus driver had great knowledge and shared all info that he had for the duration of the day. Puffing Billy good as it went for approx 40min, lunch at winery was very good as was the wine tasting. Finished off at sanctuary with a guided tour which was rushed but there was limited time. Busy day but very enjoyable and good value.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic, informative, well paced day and Adrian (driver) was a brilliant source of information. Have been recommending it to all. Thankyou.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Well organized, bus driver was informative. Good mix of activites for the day. Lovely morning tea and lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Wonderful bus tour, we had an excellent driver-full of information on the history of Melbourne and the surrounding area, he really made the tour. Taking ride on the Puffing Billy up through the bush where the miners would have travelled was lovely.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Tour guide/Driver is wonderful.

Definitely recommend booking the lunch option. The meal at the Vineyard is great and comparatively cheaper than most North American and European offerings.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Puffing Billy was the highlight - not enough time for lunch, we felt a bit rushed.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Excellent insight into the Yarra Valley area and a great day out

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the Puffing Billy Train and sipping wine and champagne in Yarra! Valley.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Loved the trainride, nice lunch. The wildlife sanctuary was interesting.

ROBMAC
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We had a blast and our Drive Peter was fantastic. The wildlife center allowed us to see all the Austrailian animals in one visit. I highly recomend it if you only have a short stay in Australia.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide for this trip was great. Very informative, friendly and helpful. Tea and cake before Puffing Billy was really nice and there are cockatoos to feed (caution advised!). Puffing Billy was good. The lunch at the winery was really good as was the wine. I thought there would be wine tasting, but it seemed you only tasted wine you might like to buy. There was the option to visit more wineries or Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary. This was a guided tour by a keeper which was made it very interesting and the birds of prey show was great. Really enjoyed this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Did it independently earlier in the year, and thought it a good idea for my visitors. They were thoroughly impressed. Highly recommended

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Really enjoyable. Really good knowledge of driver. Puffing Billy was good fun. Healesville had a great range of animals.

From USD $ 113.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message