4.5 star rating: Recommended 176 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 176 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This was an excellent trip made even better by the driver, Roger. He was knowledgeable and very personable. A good selection of sites were visited and the Puffing Billy was a fun diversion to the old days.

Katie B
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I am from Melbourne and took a freind over to show them the sights. The trip was fantastic, extreamly well organised and hassle free. It would of been even better if we could of stayed at Healesville Santuary a little longer but no complaints.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

It was awesome, especially being able to hand feed the sulfur-crested cockatoos in the morning. Puffing billy and Yarra Valley winery tour were also up to our expectations. Definitely worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

A lot of fun even when the weather was a little off.

Thelma Y
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

I always use Viator great way to get around. From New York City to Singapore, New Zealand and Melbourne. The drivers are full of information. This trip is the second one I've done love the train! Puffing Billy Steam Train.

Don D
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

An excellent tour, everything was very professional!

Jens S
Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour, liked it very much!

Carolyn U
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Everything about the trip was great, beautiful scenery, tour driver very knowledgeable and friendly. Lunch was terrific. Enjoyed it immensely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

It was day well spent. All aspects of the tour were enjoyable and well done. Excellent tour for someone like me who has one free day to see what Australia has to offer in the Melbourne area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

We had a fabulous day on this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and informative. He even found kangaroo grazing in a field and stopped for us to have a look!! The Healesville Sanctuary was terrific. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone.

Michael L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

In a word: excellent. The experience was complimented with a well informed coach driver with a good sense of humour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

I really enjoyed the entire day. Each stop had something intriguing and different to offer. The meal at the winery was one of the best meals of my entire vacation. Thanks!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The wildlife sanctuary was great. We were given a personalized tour, with explanations of the habitats, etc. the train was enjoyable, though not much to see.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a fabulous tour for young families.
We had a great pickup at the Federation Sq and the tour guide, Colin, was such a laugh. very nice, accommodating and funny to boot!
The Puffing Billy ride was quick but it was interesting to see an original steam train. What a lovely thing to be run completely by volunteers!
We did a few detours due to the traffic and saw bits of the Yarra Valley from another direction.
Travellers who booked lunch at the Yarra Valley wineries were taken in a separate bus to the Yarra Valley and brought back to meet us at Healesville.
Healesville was a beautiful animal sanctuary but it was super crowded as it was the long Queen's Birthday holiday weekend. The volunteers who were our guides were very accommodating and helpful. Upon hearing that I needed to use the nursing room to pump, the guide made plans with the other guides to have me in their rest room/ office for 30 mins. Thereafter, the guide came to pick me up and rejoin our group again. What a lovely gesture!
The lunch was a bit of a mess though - due to the holiday and a new system change, we were able to choose anything from the blackboard menu or combinations of sandwiches or pies. I doubt everyone was told but thankfully, we asked and the cafeteria actually had note of my daughter's allergies and we were able to select items which were better suited for her.
The bird show was just wonderful. We saw many Australian bird/ wildlife otherwise not seen and were shown the animal rescue area/ hospital.
Thereafter, we had time for souvenirs, photos and time to head back to the city.
Perfect day tour for families with young children. Highly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

The arrangement is little bit confusing, and the email let me arrived the start off place 30minutes in advance. I am frozen . Except that, all good .

From USD $ 141.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message