• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 44 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Savannah Walkabout Australian Animals Eco Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 44 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

I loved being able to get out of the city of Melbourne and into the "wild" so easily and quickly. Instead of seeing animals in a zoo, we were able to walk in the forest and use binoculars to study two koalas in the trees and two male western grey kangaroos who were boxing. At Serendip Sanctuary we were able to walk in a paddock with more grey kangaroos and with emus. It was one of our top two experiences in Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

It was awesome!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Enjoyed spotting koalas and kangaroos in the wild. Martin, our guide, was very informative and entusiastic about wild life being left in the wild. The trip included a very impressive bush lunch and billy tea. Make sure to bring a hat and sunscreen.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

A wonderful way to experience some of the bushland wildlife in Australia. We enjoyed the delicious bush lunch & traditinal Billy Tea, while white kockatoos perched in the nearby trees to watch us. The koalas put on an amazing show moving from tree to tree within 25 feet. Curious emus investigated us & frightened a kangaroo. He ran by us as we crouched behind a bush. Great fun, especially with a small group! Well done

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

I traveled throughout Australia and throughly enjoyed myself every place I went. The Walkabout was by FAR the MOST AMAZING excursion. Not only was our guide engaging, knowledgeable, but she made it so exciting!!! We spotted koalas in the trees, kangaroos just hopping about in their natural habitat, and other native animals just hanging out. There is NO tour like this. We enjoyed a really nice lunch and were able to take more pictures than you can imagine throughout the day. If you are coming to Australia don't waste your time at the zoo, book this trip and EXPERIENCE these animals in their natural surroundings- its 100% better and more rewarding than the zoo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We were the only two on the tour making the day additionally special and informative. Our driver/guide and owner of the tour company, Roger, was born in the bush near Queensland in the northern part of eastern Australia. His love of the land was evident in the way in which he spoke gently and kindly of the animals we saw and the birds we observed. Our day began in the sun albeit cold and brisk. Once at the Serendip Sanctuary, we walked into a large field in which two “mobs” of Kangaroos were settled, as well as a mother and her young offspring who hugged the fence. We learned about approaching the animals, walking slowly, never directly towards their gathering places. One mob observed us and hopped away rather quickly, the second allowed us to walk about 100 yards from them, stopping often, to be observers and observed. We enjoyed a delightful lunch of sandwiches, fruit, cakes and “Billy Tea,” a tea made with eucalyptus leaves gathered from the trees in our eating area. Our guide sang and explained the meaning of “Waltzing Matilda,” which I had not known, a song celebrating the poor and dispossessed and their care for one another. The afternoon took us to the You Yangs range of hills in which we walked among the gum/eucalyptus trees to see two Koalas in their natural environment The experience of being a “a guest” in the midst of the natural setting of the kangaroos and the koalas is a spiritual wonder. I was aware that living in a city, the beauty of nature is lost and misunderstood. The clouds against the sky above the distant hills and the green fields below, falcons playing overhead, the almost statuesque stillness of standing kangaroos watching us and observing our moves should they feel threatened, the quiet and almost isolated aloneness of the koalas in their wind-swept trees has been a wondrous gift.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

They were wonderful, informative, and lunch was great. They do koala research in addition to tours. These formidable creatures are threatened and very reclusive but they were able to search out 2 for us to see only 30 are in the sanctuary park we toured, and we saw lots of roos and emus too. A really fantastic experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Savannah Walkabout is a great way to see Australian wildlife. Our guide did his best to ensure we saw many wild kangaroos and Koalas. We had a great lunch with Billy tea and traditional Australian cookies. This was one of my favorite experiences in Australia.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Having been this my first trip abroad, I found that this site offered good site seeing options and the Walkabout tour I did was well thought out. Our Guide was very personable and interacted with everyone on the tour. We even had some good questions for him.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Outstanding. Our guide went out of her way to ensure we got to see all the animals. She even went running through the Outback to bring them into the field.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great guide and very informative!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This was an excellent tour. The guide was very personable yet highly professional and extremely knowledgeable of the area and the animals seen during the tour. This tour exceeded my expectations - I was able to see koalas, kangaroos, emus, wallabies and several bird species I have never seen before and will likely never see again (I am from Canada). The tour was wonderful and was definitely one of the great highlights of my entire trip. Really, if you do not enjoy this tour it is your own fault!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent nature tour. We got to see many kangaroos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

Excellent trip! Guide was fantastic!

Jens S
Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Great tour, liked all the animals we saw!

From USD $ 181.71

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 14+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3343SW

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message