5 star rating: Highly Recommended 94 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 94 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

Wonderful experience.

Rita A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2008

An excellent day. Only five people on the trip and we all got on very well. Our guide very knowledgeable and there was plenty of good wine to sample. Lunch in the Yarra Valley was first class.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

a very pleasant day. good company and informative and friendly host. Our only disappointment was discovering Domain Chandon not on the itinerary however the explanation was sufficient.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a nice tour that gave you a wonderful taste of the Yarra Valley. Wines matched with cheeses. A wonderful two course meal and flexibility to change plans during the day such as finish with a brewery rather than another winery. Tour guide was extremely knowledgable and made the day great!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Bill was great,very friendly ,patient and knowledgeable.He didnt rush anybody and still managed to keep the tour on time.The wineries we were taken to,were fantastic.A good variety.A pleasant day out,thanks to Bill.
Sandra,Kevin,Claire and Paul
From New Zealand and Brisbane

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was great! Given that it was a small, cozy group, we had the chance to interact and learn about wine from each other. The tour guide Bill was also great and entertaining, making the tour fun and enriching!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The tour was very good, the region is awsome and there is hundreds of winaries to visit, the selection of winaries the guide did for this tour was very well done for the time we have it and give us a good idea of the valley. Love the chance to meet and chat with Graeme Miller.
As a wine lover the only thing I can think that could be added to earn the fifth star could be to include, within this same tour, one tour inside one of the wineries, to see a bit closer the winemakeing process
Well done, thanks guys

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Frist time to the Yarra Valley, was a great day, we enjoyed the cellar doors and staff were very helpful with the different wines, lunch was at a great setting with friendly staff.Our bus driver Bill made the day with his knowledge of the area, tales of his adventures and safe travel to and from. All in all, a great day.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very good tour with quality wineries visited and a top notch 2 course lunch at "Chandon". Our Tour Guide was informative and friendly.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A small minivan picked us up spot on time from our hotel. The driver was very friendly. We visited 4 wineries, some large and some small. They were all great. I particularly liked Coldstream, great wines. We had lunch at Chandon and that was fabulous. It was a nice casual, pleasant drive through the Yarra valley, we enjoyed that. The cheese and wines at De Bortoli were delicious. We even bought some of their cheese for later. We both thoroughly enjoyed the day. Highly recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Best wine tour we've done

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

We had a terrific time and would recommend this trip to anyone interested in wine culture or in seeing the countryside.

Larissa H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Our driver was great. The wines were great, the food was great. It really is the way to go!

Edward W
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Very good personal attention. Very well organized. Excellent reception at each vineyard. Easy communication with driver. Wines available to taste varied and good. Particular mention of the excellence of the reception at de Bertoli wines, our first port of call. We appreciated the excellence of the wines, and the knowledge of purchase in N.Z.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

hi my daughter and i loved the day - visited some lovely wineries from the large to the new and up and coming.

My only comment is that we couldn't have lunch at Chandon - though your blurb says that could happen - I thought it would be to a COMPARABLE luncheon place - the replacement - though nice and friendly - they certainly tried hard and we enjoyed their wine - was certainly not in the same ball park as Chandon - so we were disappointed -I paid a lot of especially for the food part of the food and wine tour and was not impressed by the difference. - I certainly would think twice before booking such an expensive tour again - no offer for any back or etc... though a lovely day by our chaperone - Bill was excellent and couldn't do more for us. Adele so sorry because of the above I only put a 3 star :

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2012

The small group was great, other people coming to visit the winery during our tour would help themselves to our cheese and crackers! Not the friendly reception we had anticipated.

Manolita P
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

OK but not worth the $180, the driver was suffering from a late night etc......The food at the restaurant was very ordinary

Katalin N
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Departure was Tuesday, company called late Sunday night to change day. Driver was on time for pickup. Driving through the Yarra Valley was great. The first stop at De Bortoli was impressive but no departure time was given. Once the wine tasting at the bar was over we were rushed out without time to buy any cheese at their great cheese shop. There was no seating in the private tasting room nor any fruit as the brochure described. The stop at Yering Station winery was way too long. Lunch at Chandon was lovely though there was no time allowed to taste wines there after lunch as we were rushed off to Coldstream Hills. We were all looking for a cup of coffee after lunch but none was offered or available. Coldstream Hills was also impressive with good wine but we would have appreciated some fresh fruit or coffee. Coffee was to be had at the Yarra Valley Dairy. We arrived early so had to wait standing around while they prepared the tasting plates. Two dinner plates with some blobs of cheese were handed around without toothpicks or crackers.We did not get to sit down at the tables until we ordered coffee which we paid for since it was not included in our tour. At 180 per person I felt that morning or afternoon tea should have been supplied. The day was pleasant and two of the wineries were very good but the tour could have been a lot better. The last cheese tasting was woeful, having to pick up the soft cheese with fingers and no coffee, bottled water or fruit being included in a day that started at 9am and finished at 5pm. The fellow travelers were friendly and interesting but I don't think it was value for money.

From USD $ 156.60

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3667EYV01S

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message