4.5 star rating: Recommended 164 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 164 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Colin L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

A great day out, but if you stay near the Square walk there and then you will not be bussed around Melbourne only to wait for 3-4 hours until the coach departs. Hotel pickup was a joke, we had to hunt for the coach as they parked around the corner and did not come to the concierge desk for us.

Rachel M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Although we were the youngest couple there, 23 and 26, everyone else was at least 50, and we still had a great day! The tour guide was fantastic with lots of little interesting facts and very polite. The wineries were beautiful and the tastings a new experience. At the beginning of the day I thought we had chosen the wrong tour, we were so young compared to everyone else and thought it might be boring and unadventurous for us. Boy, were we wrong! I will recommend it to all my friends. Thank you for a fun, new, and yummy experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The tour was awesome and the guide very helpful!

Bruce P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A great day out! Highly recommend!

ROBYN B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The day was fantastic, from the moment we were picked up we had a running commentary on Melbourne and the Yarra Valley. It was very informative and I must admit for me, very welcoming The lunch option was well worth the extra money and thoroughly enjoyable. Puffing Billy ride brought back memories and was great, but I really enjoyed the trips to the wineries!

Glenis W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We had a fantastic time. Maybe could have been longer on Puffing Billy. Our coach driver did a wonderful job. Would recommend anyone going to Melbourne to do this tour.

Rhian V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Great trip to the beautiful Yarra Valley, we liked breaking the day with the Puffing Billy train ride, fabulous day. Many thanks.

Anne C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

The highlight of the tour was definitely the Puffing Billy ride - we had a "wow" of a time. Lunch at Fergussons Winery was pretty good too - yummy roast, and a bottle of excellent wine - what more could you ask!

Douglas K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Great.

Mary W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Excellent day out even though it rained for part of the time. The company was great and the guide superb!

Owen S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A TRIP NOT TO BE MISSED! Young or old there was so much to see and do. The feeding of the birds and our stop for billy tea was beautiful and tasty. The lunch at Fergusons Winery was delicious, sampling all the wines was made much easier knowing we had big comfortable coach ride home! Lets hope Puffing Billy is around for many years to come.

James W
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was very well planned. We had an excellent tour guide who seemed genuinely thrilled to show us the sites and tell us a few yarns. We learned a lot and had a really fantastic day topped off with a beautiful lunch and great wine.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

We were really delighted with the whole experience. We had a great coach driver, and the train ride were great. The lunch was amazing, and we ended up buying some wine to bring home. The wine tasting was interesting and the champagne at Chardon was amazing. If we did it again, we would like to visit the animal park. We absolutely loved it and highly recommend it to everyone.

Bev R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This tour was excellent. I really enjoyed it.

Gary M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The whole trip was amazing. The tour guide was excellent, and the train was wonderful. Lunch was excellent, and the wineries were interesting and welcoming. Even the pouring rain didn't take the shine off this trip.

Shane S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Brilliant! This was my best trip ever.

Bruce A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Great trip, great driver, and good overall coverage, although at Domaine Chandon I would have liked to have been offered sparkling red as well as white with our snack. I'd recommend this to anyone. Go for it.

Sue H
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

This trip is awesome. My husband, myself and our 6 children had a wonderful day out. Puffing Billy is incredible, not to mention the scenery. The lunch at the winery is superb and the information gained on the tour, simply first class. Thanks, Graham & Sue & 6 kids.

Jeff C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

What can I say - Puffing Billy was the highlight for me and the vineyards for my wife. A wonderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

It was a great trip with an excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was my second time taking this trip and I thoroughly enjoyed it again. The excellent commentary provided by our driver, feeding the birds at morning tea, riding the Puffing Billy, and an absolutely scrumptious lunch at the winery. After visiting two other wineries, we ended at Chandon Moet and were treated to an excellent tour and wine tasting, complimented by the fabulous views. This really made a great ending to the day before our trip back to Melbourne. I highly recommend this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable day. Particularly enjoyed Puffing Billy, Very good lunch, the winery visits were very much the same and a bit rushed because we were delayed at the first lunch stop.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Loved the Puffing Billy experience and good wine tasting tour which followed.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Nice and friendly guide!

From USD $ 124.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message