Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 199 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Owen S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A TRIP NOT TO BE MISSED! Young or old there was so much to see and do. The feeding of the birds and our stop for billy tea was beautiful and tasty. The lunch at Fergusons Winery was delicious, sampling all the wines was made much easier knowing we had big comfortable coach ride home! Lets hope Puffing Billy is around for many years to come.

James W New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was very well planned. We had an excellent tour guide who seemed genuinely thrilled to show us the sites and tell us a few yarns. We learned a lot and had a really fantastic day topped off with a beautiful lunch and great wine.

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

We were really delighted with the whole experience. We had a great coach driver, and the train ride were great. The lunch was amazing, and we ended up buying some wine to bring home. The wine tasting was interesting and the champagne at Chardon was amazing. If we did it again, we would like to visit the animal park. We absolutely loved it and highly recommend it to everyone.

Bev R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This tour was excellent. I really enjoyed it.

Gary M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The whole trip was amazing. The tour guide was excellent, and the train was wonderful. Lunch was excellent, and the wineries were interesting and welcoming. Even the pouring rain didn't take the shine off this trip.

Shane S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Brilliant! This was my best trip ever.

Bruce A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Great trip, great driver, and good overall coverage, although at Domaine Chandon I would have liked to have been offered sparkling red as well as white with our snack. I'd recommend this to anyone. Go for it.

Sue H New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

This trip is awesome. My husband, myself and our 6 children had a wonderful day out. Puffing Billy is incredible, not to mention the scenery. The lunch at the winery is superb and the information gained on the tour, simply first class. Thanks, Graham & Sue & 6 kids.

Jeff C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

What can I say - Puffing Billy was the highlight for me and the vineyards for my wife. A wonderful day.

SHAMPA S India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

It was a great trip with an excellent guide.

Robyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was my second time taking this trip and I thoroughly enjoyed it again. The excellent commentary provided by our driver, feeding the birds at morning tea, riding the Puffing Billy, and an absolutely scrumptious lunch at the winery. After visiting two other wineries, we ended at Chandon Moet and were treated to an excellent tour and wine tasting, complimented by the fabulous views. This really made a great ending to the day before our trip back to Melbourne. I highly recommend this tour!

Catherine A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Easy, relaxed tour. The trip home could have been a lot quicker.

Colleen G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I forgot to say that there was an irritation related to the meal when it finally arrived after we waited in the sun for over half an hour. The winery meal was where we felt like second class citizens because parties arrived and were treated before us and we had an issue where we were given the wrong desert some of which was taken back by the servers. The meal was ok however albeit the wine tasting room was full and we could not gain access to it - I must say that the winery were embarrassed and gave the four of us two bottles of wine in apology!
Dennis

himikej

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good overall tour. Train ride was short but OK. Got to see the most 'scenic' portions of the railway. Lunch at winery was pretty good. Winery selection 3 total was good. Especially liked Portet.

MaryJo A United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very disappointed with first winery. Very commercial and lots of people. Lunch was unorganized and took forever. Tasting was rushed and I did not like the wines. 2nd tasting was at a family owned winery. French influence. Loved the presentation and wines. Made up for 1st tasting. 3rd tasting was okay. Again family owned, but they specialtied in apple cider. Wines were okay.

YIN PING H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was a Great tour. Will recommend for sure

vicki b

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The day trip was very good. Our Bus driver was excellent and very knowledgeable. We loved the Puffin Billy railway, and lunch at Rochford winery was excellent

Lindsay S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The pickup from the hotel was good. The run to Puffing Billy was good and the train trip was good. The winery tours were fine but went to long as the afternoon went on. Overall a good day!

Flashman

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The hotel bus pick up is a useful service but does make for a slow start to day. Luckily the seats are very comfortable. Finally left Federation Square after more than an hour on bus and headed to Dandenongs. Mark our driver was very friendly and well informed as well as being an excellent driver. The first stop at Granst Reserve worked well due to good organisation. The Puffing Billy train ride was next and was better than expected mainly because we could sit in the window! Met by bus at Menzies Creek and onto first of 3 excellent winery visits - Rochfords, Dominique Portet and Yering Farm. Once again good organisation ensured all ran smoothly and the lunch at Rochfords was very passable. Then it was on the road back home where we were able to get off in town centre for a quick dinner. The day was very enjoyable and as outlined but in future would probably do wineries as a separate tour to have more time

Dawn R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time on the trip - wineries were wonderful and the ride on the Puffing Billy was an awesome experience

Amanda T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This trip was a really good trip! The puffing billy steam train comes highly recommended!!! It was an amazing experience and really fun to do..

Mark tour guide for the day was really hyped and enthusiastic and I think that made us enjoy the trip alot... I have to give him so much credit that at the end of the day, on the way back to the city, his energy was still on a high and his positivity really spread to us.

The Yarra Valley Wineries were ok - would give Healesville a go instead next time. Perhaps it would be nicer to visit when I can actually see grapes. But that depends on when you go there too. : I thought the second and third wineries were much better than the Rochsford but it was a good start.
As an additional treat, Mark also brought us to the chocolate factory which was fun! AND DELICIOUS!

Seeing the birds and having tea was so-so. But bird-lovers might enjoy that more.

Soor grim Y

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Colin was entertaining ..pleasant and punctual ..great trip

Tommy Yeo Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time riding the steam train and went to 3 winery for tasting.

Twyla B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We stopped at Puffing Billy first and did the run to the first station. I lost my phone with all my photos on and was very upset. Suffice to say that while we were having lunch at Rochford Vineyard, our tour bus driver, Edward came to tell me it had been found - NOW THAT IS SERVICE WITH CAPITAL LETTERS!!
We could not have had a better driver, loved Edward and his droll sense of humour and his help in finding the phone. The Vineyards were good, the lunch nice, and as we finished a little early, Edward took us to a chocolate factory - what can one say by MMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmm.

Jenni A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a fantastic day - it was our daughter's 21st. The bus driver Rodger was so knowledgeable and shared a number of interesting features with us. We had our tour with lunch included and Rochford Estate went above and beyond to cater for our daughter's dietary requirements and also prepared a separate cake dessert for us to celebrate her birthday with. This day trip is fantastic value and well worth while - perhaps the company might consider having one less winery and instead doing another activitiy instead such as the chocolaterie.

Viewing 4 of 8

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 114.58

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message