4.5 star rating: Recommended 164 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 164 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A good fun coach tour that has the added interest of the Puffing Billy steam train segment in the middle, that helps break up the travel. The coach driver and tour guide, Roger, gave interesting and entertaining travelogue dialog along the way. We opted for the lunch at the Rochford Winery and were not disappointed, the food was delicious. At each of the 3 winderies we visited the exclusive wine tasting demonstrations were informative. And of course we bought a few bottles along the way to take back to Brisbane. Recommended.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very chilled trip and the tour guide explain everything really well.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Yarra Valley was great and vineries good. Puffing Billy Steam Train was okey.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great trip---prebooked on line but everything was on time- even the train !! Visited 3 wineries and tasted 17 samples--excellent experience!!! Very knowledgable drivers and we met some interesting fellow travellers. Linda and Jeff

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I must say it was a great tour. I was worried initially because it was going to be a long day. My husband and i found the tour guide informative and fun. Each stop had plenty of time to enjoy what they had to offer and relaxing at the same time. We would definitely consider another tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgable. Loved puffing billy and wineries were very nice. Would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Had a wonderful time on this tour! short time on the Train but was a nice experience. Im not a great fan of wine but it was nice discovering so much on wineries and wine tasting was awesome.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip is value for money. The sceneries along the way were appealing. The wineries offering a range of wines for tasting was very generous indeed. The service was fantastic. The puffing train ride was enjoyable and fun.

Phillip R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was quite good. The staff at the Puffing Billy train station are very entertaining. The bus was very comfortable and the trip to the wineries was good. Maybe a few more wineries would have been good such as Coldstream Hills. We took our own lunch to Rochford winery and just bought a glass of wine. Thought the extra $40 pp for lunch was bit expensive. Some of the comments were not real good in regard to the food.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful day. The driver was knowledgeable, the lunch at the Winery was amazing and great scenery to enjoy. Loved the Puffing Billy Steam train ride. Would 100% recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A day of great variety from feeding wild cockatoos to riding a steam train to eating excellent food to tasting some amazing wines. Our bus driver was entertaining and informative. The day was let down by our last wine tasting. The hostess rushed us through the tastings and gave us no information about the wines at all - a total contrast to the first two wineries where the hosts showed good knowledge of their product and guided us through the tastings.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide cum driver is knowledgeable, pleasant, patience and ensuring that all under his care is taken care of 100%. This is because, Peter, the tour guide ensured that all of us in his tour are in the coach of the train reserved for us./p>

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It had enough elements in the day to keep the day interesting. The bus driver gave us interesting commentary and each element of the trip went smoothly. We would recommend this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus guild was great nice and relaxing and the driver kept you entertained. Will do again when the weather is a bit warmer.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful destination, more time at Puffing Billy to admire the train would be nice.The ' aussie morning tea ' was a let down ,the package lamingtons were particularly embarrassing as surely we can do better than that ! Other patrons were dismayed at having to pay for a coffee if they did not want tea.
Everyone enjoyed the bird feeding. Lunch at winery was pleasant and visiting three different places suited all tastes.Driver and coach were of a high standard but it was a shame we were asked to be at the pickup point almost an hour early as it was very cold whilst waiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The Coach is comfortable and excellent for the wifi service. The tour guide is humorous and kind to us. The food is very delicious at Rochford winery.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Had a wonderful day. Adrian the bus driver was the best tour guide we've ever had. Friendly, informative kept disclosing interesting facts throughout the entire trip. Loved the wineries and thoroughly enjoyed the puffing billy. Thank you for a great day. Louise and Peter

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We absolutely loved our ride on Puffing Billy and the tour of the Yarra Valley Wineries. Geoff ,our bus driver, was fantastic! Very knowledgeable,considerate and friendly. The highlight of the day was definitely Puffing Billy. Even though it was raining ; it was so much fun. We did find morning tea was a bit lack lustre however lunch at the Winery was absolutely beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

this was a very relaxed day and well organised. The only thing we could fault was that, it said to wait at Federation Square but it didn't tell us that we needed to wait at the Russell St end so we were waiting at the Flinders Station end and with all the trains and trams I didn't hear my phone so we missed our bus. We were able to catch a later bus but missed the puffing billy ride. We would just like it to be made clear in the pick up details as not being local we didn't know all bus trips left at the other end. But it was still a great day out and very informative with very entertaining drivers. Very happy to help in anyway.

Would definitely go again or recommend it to my friends, (with instructions to wait at the correct end).

Perhaps the literature needs to be changed.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had a great time taking the steam train and visiting the wineries... Is a relaxing trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We missed the trip due to wrong information provided,but the local representative manage to get it reschedule to another day for us
After all the trip was quite fun

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Interesting tour with a visit to the wildlife sanctuary a bonus.

KeNelia
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Only visited two Wineries, one was just ok, but the other winery Chandon more then made up for it. We stopped at another Winery for lunch and the food was fine and we were also able to do some taste testing there. As far as the train is concerned, it was just ok as the views were continuously being blocked be dense vegetation and trees.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We had a great day. Bus drivers were informative and friendly. Next time I would elect to make my own way to Federation Square to catch the bus though. Waiting for the hotel transfer and collecting others throughout the CBD was a waste of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Enjoyed our trip to Yarra Valley. The steam ride only lasted about 20 minutes and we were hoping to be on the train a little longer, but we enjoyed it very much. The wineries were beautiful and I would go on this tour again. When you get to the Morning Tea location beware of the Cockatoos. They bite!

From USD $ 126.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message