4.5 star rating: Recommended 129 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 129 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Owen S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A TRIP NOT TO BE MISSED! Young or old there was so much to see and do. The feeding of the birds and our stop for billy tea was beautiful and tasty. The lunch at Fergusons Winery was delicious, sampling all the wines was made much easier knowing we had big comfortable coach ride home! Lets hope Puffing Billy is around for many years to come.

James W
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was very well planned. We had an excellent tour guide who seemed genuinely thrilled to show us the sites and tell us a few yarns. We learned a lot and had a really fantastic day topped off with a beautiful lunch and great wine.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

We were really delighted with the whole experience. We had a great coach driver, and the train ride were great. The lunch was amazing, and we ended up buying some wine to bring home. The wine tasting was interesting and the champagne at Chardon was amazing. If we did it again, we would like to visit the animal park. We absolutely loved it and highly recommend it to everyone.

Bev R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This tour was excellent. I really enjoyed it.

Gary M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

The whole trip was amazing. The tour guide was excellent, and the train was wonderful. Lunch was excellent, and the wineries were interesting and welcoming. Even the pouring rain didn't take the shine off this trip.

Shane S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2007

Brilliant! This was my best trip ever.

Bruce A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2007

Great trip, great driver, and good overall coverage, although at Domaine Chandon I would have liked to have been offered sparkling red as well as white with our snack. I'd recommend this to anyone. Go for it.

Sue H
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2007

This trip is awesome. My husband, myself and our 6 children had a wonderful day out. Puffing Billy is incredible, not to mention the scenery. The lunch at the winery is superb and the information gained on the tour, simply first class. Thanks, Graham & Sue & 6 kids.

Jeff C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2007

What can I say - Puffing Billy was the highlight for me and the vineyards for my wife. A wonderful day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

It was a great trip with an excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

This was my second time taking this trip and I thoroughly enjoyed it again. The excellent commentary provided by our driver, feeding the birds at morning tea, riding the Puffing Billy, and an absolutely scrumptious lunch at the winery. After visiting two other wineries, we ended at Chandon Moet and were treated to an excellent tour and wine tasting, complimented by the fabulous views. This really made a great ending to the day before our trip back to Melbourne. I highly recommend this tour!

Phillip R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was quite good. The staff at the Puffing Billy train station are very entertaining. The bus was very comfortable and the trip to the wineries was good. Maybe a few more wineries would have been good such as Coldstream Hills. We took our own lunch to Rochford winery and just bought a glass of wine. Thought the extra $40 pp for lunch was bit expensive. Some of the comments were not real good in regard to the food.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful day. The driver was knowledgeable, the lunch at the Winery was amazing and great scenery to enjoy. Loved the Puffing Billy Steam train ride. Would 100% recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A day of great variety from feeding wild cockatoos to riding a steam train to eating excellent food to tasting some amazing wines. Our bus driver was entertaining and informative. The day was let down by our last wine tasting. The hostess rushed us through the tastings and gave us no information about the wines at all - a total contrast to the first two wineries where the hosts showed good knowledge of their product and guided us through the tastings.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide cum driver is knowledgeable, pleasant, patience and ensuring that all under his care is taken care of 100%. This is because, Peter, the tour guide ensured that all of us in his tour are in the coach of the train reserved for us./p>

From USD $ 141.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message