4.5 star rating: Recommended 163 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 163 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This was a fantastic day! Chandon winery absolutely beautiful and the puffy billy ride was great, wish it was a longer ride! Well worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

had a great time on this tour. great tour guide very informative. wineries where lovely. lunch was awesome. highlight for me was domaine chandon. would recommend this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a wonderful guide (Adrian from Australian Pacific Tours). If it wasn't for his amazing personality and commentary, the Puffing Billy part of the tour would have been a let down. Yarra Valley was a hit as expected. :) However, for us a family of 2 adults and 2 children, it worked out perfectly as the kids had their train ride and the adults had their wine tour and tastings.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

This was a good trip. However, the bus driver spent a significant amount of time talking about his personal and political beliefs. This wasn't the most comfortable situation since he continued to talk about the Chinese buying parts of Australia and there was a Chinese lady on the bus. He was knowledgable about the history and the region but should be counseled about expressing his beliefs.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

A great day the Puffing Billy was fun and the tour at Domaine Chandon was very interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

This was my second time on this particular tour. Went to the Healesville Sanctuary instead of Domain Chandon. The Sanctuary is excellent! Especially the birds of prey show. Highly recommended if you aren't in the mood for a glass of bubbly.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Had a lovely time the tour was great

ALLAN K
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

VERY GOOD TOUR, GOOD WINERYS , VERY GOOD LUNCH

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

My hubby and I truly enjoyed the day trip.It's was excellent.It's wonderful.We definitely would recommend to our friends when they visit Melbourne.Thanks!

Ray L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

What a great day to see Melbourne countryside. The Puffing Billy ride was enjoyable and fun. The drive through the Dandenongs was just beautiful. Our coach driver was courteous and very informative about the sights we were seeing, and he joked with us along the way. The Yarra Valley was great to see and the highlight was Chandon Winery - what a beautiful spot. And the tour at Chandon was so interesting. The only disappointment was lunch at Ferguson Valley winery - plain roast beef with boiled carrots and lettuce leaves - so unappetizing. Since when do wineries serve this sort of a meal!! If I had of known, I would have brought along my own lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Pick up worked and we found the right coach. The driver spoke a lot, but mainly about schools. It would have been good to hear more about Australia and Melbourne in particular. The train and the wineries were both interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Had a wonderful day out. Enjoyed the scenery of the dandenong ranges and the puffing billy train. Good service was given by the touring company. The lunch at the winery was delicious. We did not have the ordered lunch but did have a separate order whch was great. Recomend the meat pie. The morning tea was great dispite the birds trying to take the food from your hands if you were not watching. To sum up the day it was very relaxing just what you need if on holidays.

Pat W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This day was excellent and well presented. Our tour guide / driver provided a good commentary throughout the day. I would have liked to have had more time at the Menzies Creek train station to take photos & check out the view instead of having to get straight on the bus after our short Puffing Billy trip. There could have been a bit more of a choice for morning tea at Grant's Cafe - not all Australians or even tourists want to have just a lamington to eat. A selection of cheeses or fruit might be nice. All in all well worth the trip and very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Bus Driver Garren was very informative and put humour in his commentary Well Done

Enrico N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very good. good Information allong the Way from the Driver... well done!

Jo K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Lovely day out really nice driver guide. Beautiful countryside and lovely wines. Lunch was good and we really apreciated the stop in the morning for tea with added cockatoos!

Claire M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Firstly, i enjoyed the tour. The coach driver was excellent. However, i was told that i needed to be ready to be picked up at 7.05am from my hotel. What i wasn't told was that the actual tour bus was leaving only a few hundred meters away in Federation Square after 8.00am. I could have walked straight there instead of sitting on a bus for over 45 mins picking up other people from hotels. Maybe i missed some instructions that told me this - i don't know. But when i phoned the day before to confirm the pick up time it would have been good to have been told this. I did not know where the tour left from and had assumed that it must be further away.

Robin H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

We had a great day out, lovely weather, the Buffing Billy could have been longer than one stop! Billy tea and Lamingtons a nice idea.

SIMNEE P
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

Were picked up at our hotel by a shuttle at around 720am, only to be told that we would need to hang around at Federation Square till 820am. Although it was OK for us as we could grab some coffee, might be good if the agency told us earlier of such an arrangement. It could give travellers the choice whether they want to take the early shutter or make their own way to Federation Square. Would have preferred a longer stay at Domaine Chandon.

KEN P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Had a wonderful day! Interesting, informative and fun!

Isabel P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Great trip doing several different things. Feeding the native birds was a lovely thing to do. The train ride allows for spectacular views. The winery trail was magic for someone who likes wine. My sister didn't do that bit but went to the animal park, which she found disappointing because of the long wait to see one of the shows.

Dan F
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2009

Trip was excellent; however, I stood for over one hour waiting for my pick up. When I called them, they said to get to Melbourne Centre. Bad start to the day, but good trip.

Delma S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Most enjoyable day. Meal was good. Our driver kept us informed and was very helpful and courteous. We did find the stairs on the bus steep and difficult to negotiate.

Pam W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

Loved the day, wish the train ride was a bit longer.

Dawn E
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

My daughter enjoyed the train, and we enjoyed the wineries. Very good tour guides at each winery.

From USD $ 126.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message