Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 207 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Flashman

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The hotel bus pick up is a useful service but does make for a slow start to day. Luckily the seats are very comfortable. Finally left Federation Square after more than an hour on bus and headed to Dandenongs. Mark our driver was very friendly and well informed as well as being an excellent driver. The first stop at Granst Reserve worked well due to good organisation. The Puffing Billy train ride was next and was better than expected mainly because we could sit in the window! Met by bus at Menzies Creek and onto first of 3 excellent winery visits - Rochfords, Dominique Portet and Yering Farm. Once again good organisation ensured all ran smoothly and the lunch at Rochfords was very passable. Then it was on the road back home where we were able to get off in town centre for a quick dinner. The day was very enjoyable and as outlined but in future would probably do wineries as a separate tour to have more time

Dawn R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time on the trip - wineries were wonderful and the ride on the Puffing Billy was an awesome experience

Amanda T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This trip was a really good trip! The puffing billy steam train comes highly recommended!!! It was an amazing experience and really fun to do..

Mark tour guide for the day was really hyped and enthusiastic and I think that made us enjoy the trip alot... I have to give him so much credit that at the end of the day, on the way back to the city, his energy was still on a high and his positivity really spread to us.

The Yarra Valley Wineries were ok - would give Healesville a go instead next time. Perhaps it would be nicer to visit when I can actually see grapes. But that depends on when you go there too. : I thought the second and third wineries were much better than the Rochsford but it was a good start.
As an additional treat, Mark also brought us to the chocolate factory which was fun! AND DELICIOUS!

Seeing the birds and having tea was so-so. But bird-lovers might enjoy that more.

Soor grim Y

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Colin was entertaining ..pleasant and punctual ..great trip

Tommy Yeo Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time riding the steam train and went to 3 winery for tasting.

Twyla B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We stopped at Puffing Billy first and did the run to the first station. I lost my phone with all my photos on and was very upset. Suffice to say that while we were having lunch at Rochford Vineyard, our tour bus driver, Edward came to tell me it had been found - NOW THAT IS SERVICE WITH CAPITAL LETTERS!!
We could not have had a better driver, loved Edward and his droll sense of humour and his help in finding the phone. The Vineyards were good, the lunch nice, and as we finished a little early, Edward took us to a chocolate factory - what can one say by MMMMMMMMMMMMmmmmmmmm.

Jenni A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We had a fantastic day - it was our daughter's 21st. The bus driver Rodger was so knowledgeable and shared a number of interesting features with us. We had our tour with lunch included and Rochford Estate went above and beyond to cater for our daughter's dietary requirements and also prepared a separate cake dessert for us to celebrate her birthday with. This day trip is fantastic value and well worth while - perhaps the company might consider having one less winery and instead doing another activitiy instead such as the chocolaterie.

Winifred H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable day. Particularly enjoyed Puffing Billy, Very good lunch, the winery visits were very much the same and a bit rushed because we were delayed at the first lunch stop.

Paul L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great day out and very enjoyable. Really enjoyed the chance to see a bit of Yarra valley and to taste the local wines. Only negative was the meal at the first winery, Rochford, which imho was not up to much and not worth the money.

Puffing Billy was a bit of fun too and a nice alternative for the first half of the day.

Credit to the organizing team and to the driver, Colin, who were very professional and made the whole day very relaxed.

Wai Kit L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Neil M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Loved the Puffing Billy experience and good wine tasting tour which followed.

poh_lh_t

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Nice and friendly guide!

Stephen S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A good fun coach tour that has the added interest of the Puffing Billy steam train segment in the middle, that helps break up the travel. The coach driver and tour guide, Roger, gave interesting and entertaining travelogue dialog along the way. We opted for the lunch at the Rochford Winery and were not disappointed, the food was delicious. At each of the 3 winderies we visited the exclusive wine tasting demonstrations were informative. And of course we bought a few bottles along the way to take back to Brisbane. Recommended.

YAWEN W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very chilled trip and the tour guide explain everything really well.

Tero K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Yarra Valley was great and vineries good. Puffing Billy Steam Train was okey.

MS L A R J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great trip---prebooked on line but everything was on time- even the train !! Visited 3 wineries and tasted 17 samples--excellent experience!!! Very knowledgable drivers and we met some interesting fellow travellers. Linda and Jeff

Connie H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I must say it was a great tour. I was worried initially because it was going to be a long day. My husband and i found the tour guide informative and fun. Each stop had plenty of time to enjoy what they had to offer and relaxing at the same time. We would definitely consider another tour.

Katelyn Joyk D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The tour was great. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgable. Loved puffing billy and wineries were very nice. Would recommend.

P N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Had a wonderful time on this tour! short time on the Train but was a nice experience. Im not a great fan of wine but it was nice discovering so much on wineries and wine tasting was awesome.

Matthi'as C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip is value for money. The sceneries along the way were appealing. The wineries offering a range of wines for tasting was very generous indeed. The service was fantastic. The puffing train ride was enjoyable and fun.

Phillip R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was quite good. The staff at the Puffing Billy train station are very entertaining. The bus was very comfortable and the trip to the wineries was good. Maybe a few more wineries would have been good such as Coldstream Hills. We took our own lunch to Rochford winery and just bought a glass of wine. Thought the extra $40 pp for lunch was bit expensive. Some of the comments were not real good in regard to the food.

BEVERLEY

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful day. The driver was knowledgeable, the lunch at the Winery was amazing and great scenery to enjoy. Loved the Puffing Billy Steam train ride. Would 100% recommend this tour.

Rowena J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A day of great variety from feeding wild cockatoos to riding a steam train to eating excellent food to tasting some amazing wines. Our bus driver was entertaining and informative. The day was let down by our last wine tasting. The hostess rushed us through the tastings and gave us no information about the wines at all - a total contrast to the first two wineries where the hosts showed good knowledge of their product and guided us through the tastings.

LEE FONG W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide cum driver is knowledgeable, pleasant, patience and ensuring that all under his care is taken care of 100%. This is because, Peter, the tour guide ensured that all of us in his tour are in the coach of the train reserved for us./p>

Carole O

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. It had enough elements in the day to keep the day interesting. The bus driver gave us interesting commentary and each element of the trip went smoothly. We would recommend this trip.

Viewing 5 of 9

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 127.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message