4.5 star rating: Recommended 175 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 175 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Had a wonderful day. Adrian the bus driver was the best tour guide we've ever had. Friendly, informative kept disclosing interesting facts throughout the entire trip. Loved the wineries and thoroughly enjoyed the puffing billy. Thank you for a great day. Louise and Peter

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We absolutely loved our ride on Puffing Billy and the tour of the Yarra Valley Wineries. Geoff ,our bus driver, was fantastic! Very knowledgeable,considerate and friendly. The highlight of the day was definitely Puffing Billy. Even though it was raining ; it was so much fun. We did find morning tea was a bit lack lustre however lunch at the Winery was absolutely beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

this was a very relaxed day and well organised. The only thing we could fault was that, it said to wait at Federation Square but it didn't tell us that we needed to wait at the Russell St end so we were waiting at the Flinders Station end and with all the trains and trams I didn't hear my phone so we missed our bus. We were able to catch a later bus but missed the puffing billy ride. We would just like it to be made clear in the pick up details as not being local we didn't know all bus trips left at the other end. But it was still a great day out and very informative with very entertaining drivers. Very happy to help in anyway.

Would definitely go again or recommend it to my friends, (with instructions to wait at the correct end).

Perhaps the literature needs to be changed.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had a great time taking the steam train and visiting the wineries... Is a relaxing trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We missed the trip due to wrong information provided,but the local representative manage to get it reschedule to another day for us
After all the trip was quite fun

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Interesting tour with a visit to the wildlife sanctuary a bonus.

KeNelia
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Only visited two Wineries, one was just ok, but the other winery Chandon more then made up for it. We stopped at another Winery for lunch and the food was fine and we were also able to do some taste testing there. As far as the train is concerned, it was just ok as the views were continuously being blocked be dense vegetation and trees.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We had a great day. Bus drivers were informative and friendly. Next time I would elect to make my own way to Federation Square to catch the bus though. Waiting for the hotel transfer and collecting others throughout the CBD was a waste of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Enjoyed our trip to Yarra Valley. The steam ride only lasted about 20 minutes and we were hoping to be on the train a little longer, but we enjoyed it very much. The wineries were beautiful and I would go on this tour again. When you get to the Morning Tea location beware of the Cockatoos. They bite!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This was a fantastic day! Chandon winery absolutely beautiful and the puffy billy ride was great, wish it was a longer ride! Well worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

had a great time on this tour. great tour guide very informative. wineries where lovely. lunch was awesome. highlight for me was domaine chandon. would recommend this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a wonderful guide (Adrian from Australian Pacific Tours). If it wasn't for his amazing personality and commentary, the Puffing Billy part of the tour would have been a let down. Yarra Valley was a hit as expected. :) However, for us a family of 2 adults and 2 children, it worked out perfectly as the kids had their train ride and the adults had their wine tour and tastings.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

This was a good trip. However, the bus driver spent a significant amount of time talking about his personal and political beliefs. This wasn't the most comfortable situation since he continued to talk about the Chinese buying parts of Australia and there was a Chinese lady on the bus. He was knowledgable about the history and the region but should be counseled about expressing his beliefs.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

A great day the Puffing Billy was fun and the tour at Domaine Chandon was very interesting

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

This was my second time on this particular tour. Went to the Healesville Sanctuary instead of Domain Chandon. The Sanctuary is excellent! Especially the birds of prey show. Highly recommended if you aren't in the mood for a glass of bubbly.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Had a lovely time the tour was great

ALLAN K
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

VERY GOOD TOUR, GOOD WINERYS , VERY GOOD LUNCH

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

My hubby and I truly enjoyed the day trip.It's was excellent.It's wonderful.We definitely would recommend to our friends when they visit Melbourne.Thanks!

Ray L
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

What a great day to see Melbourne countryside. The Puffing Billy ride was enjoyable and fun. The drive through the Dandenongs was just beautiful. Our coach driver was courteous and very informative about the sights we were seeing, and he joked with us along the way. The Yarra Valley was great to see and the highlight was Chandon Winery - what a beautiful spot. And the tour at Chandon was so interesting. The only disappointment was lunch at Ferguson Valley winery - plain roast beef with boiled carrots and lettuce leaves - so unappetizing. Since when do wineries serve this sort of a meal!! If I had of known, I would have brought along my own lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Pick up worked and we found the right coach. The driver spoke a lot, but mainly about schools. It would have been good to hear more about Australia and Melbourne in particular. The train and the wineries were both interesting.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Had a wonderful day out. Enjoyed the scenery of the dandenong ranges and the puffing billy train. Good service was given by the touring company. The lunch at the winery was delicious. We did not have the ordered lunch but did have a separate order whch was great. Recomend the meat pie. The morning tea was great dispite the birds trying to take the food from your hands if you were not watching. To sum up the day it was very relaxing just what you need if on holidays.

Pat W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This day was excellent and well presented. Our tour guide / driver provided a good commentary throughout the day. I would have liked to have had more time at the Menzies Creek train station to take photos & check out the view instead of having to get straight on the bus after our short Puffing Billy trip. There could have been a bit more of a choice for morning tea at Grant's Cafe - not all Australians or even tourists want to have just a lamington to eat. A selection of cheeses or fruit might be nice. All in all well worth the trip and very enjoyable.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Bus Driver Garren was very informative and put humour in his commentary Well Done

Enrico N
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Very good. good Information allong the Way from the Driver... well done!

Jo K
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

Lovely day out really nice driver guide. Beautiful countryside and lovely wines. Lunch was good and we really apreciated the stop in the morning for tea with added cockatoos!

From USD $ 113.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message