4.5 star rating: Recommended 126 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Beautiful destination, more time at Puffing Billy to admire the train would be nice.The ' aussie morning tea ' was a let down ,the package lamingtons were particularly embarrassing as surely we can do better than that ! Other patrons were dismayed at having to pay for a coffee if they did not want tea.
Everyone enjoyed the bird feeding. Lunch at winery was pleasant and visiting three different places suited all tastes.Driver and coach were of a high standard but it was a shame we were asked to be at the pickup point almost an hour early as it was very cold whilst waiting.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The Coach is comfortable and excellent for the wifi service. The tour guide is humorous and kind to us. The food is very delicious at Rochford winery.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Had a wonderful day. Adrian the bus driver was the best tour guide we've ever had. Friendly, informative kept disclosing interesting facts throughout the entire trip. Loved the wineries and thoroughly enjoyed the puffing billy. Thank you for a great day. Louise and Peter

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

We absolutely loved our ride on Puffing Billy and the tour of the Yarra Valley Wineries. Geoff ,our bus driver, was fantastic! Very knowledgeable,considerate and friendly. The highlight of the day was definitely Puffing Billy. Even though it was raining ; it was so much fun. We did find morning tea was a bit lack lustre however lunch at the Winery was absolutely beautiful.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

this was a very relaxed day and well organised. The only thing we could fault was that, it said to wait at Federation Square but it didn't tell us that we needed to wait at the Russell St end so we were waiting at the Flinders Station end and with all the trains and trams I didn't hear my phone so we missed our bus. We were able to catch a later bus but missed the puffing billy ride. We would just like it to be made clear in the pick up details as not being local we didn't know all bus trips left at the other end. But it was still a great day out and very informative with very entertaining drivers. Very happy to help in anyway.

Would definitely go again or recommend it to my friends, (with instructions to wait at the correct end).

Perhaps the literature needs to be changed.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Had a great time taking the steam train and visiting the wineries... Is a relaxing trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We missed the trip due to wrong information provided,but the local representative manage to get it reschedule to another day for us
After all the trip was quite fun

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Interesting tour with a visit to the wildlife sanctuary a bonus.

KeNelia
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Only visited two Wineries, one was just ok, but the other winery Chandon more then made up for it. We stopped at another Winery for lunch and the food was fine and we were also able to do some taste testing there. As far as the train is concerned, it was just ok as the views were continuously being blocked be dense vegetation and trees.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We had a great day. Bus drivers were informative and friendly. Next time I would elect to make my own way to Federation Square to catch the bus though. Waiting for the hotel transfer and collecting others throughout the CBD was a waste of time.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Enjoyed our trip to Yarra Valley. The steam ride only lasted about 20 minutes and we were hoping to be on the train a little longer, but we enjoyed it very much. The wineries were beautiful and I would go on this tour again. When you get to the Morning Tea location beware of the Cockatoos. They bite!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This was a fantastic day! Chandon winery absolutely beautiful and the puffy billy ride was great, wish it was a longer ride! Well worth doing.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

had a great time on this tour. great tour guide very informative. wineries where lovely. lunch was awesome. highlight for me was domaine chandon. would recommend this tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

We had a wonderful guide (Adrian from Australian Pacific Tours). If it wasn't for his amazing personality and commentary, the Puffing Billy part of the tour would have been a let down. Yarra Valley was a hit as expected. :) However, for us a family of 2 adults and 2 children, it worked out perfectly as the kids had their train ride and the adults had their wine tour and tastings.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

This was a good trip. However, the bus driver spent a significant amount of time talking about his personal and political beliefs. This wasn't the most comfortable situation since he continued to talk about the Chinese buying parts of Australia and there was a Chinese lady on the bus. He was knowledgable about the history and the region but should be counseled about expressing his beliefs.

From USD $ 146.52

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 16+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2230M35

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message