4 star rating: Recommended 110 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Mexico City, Mexico
  • Duration:10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 110 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Beautiful towns and expect a long drive

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful! I met the nicest people from Peru and we did the whole tour in Spanish which was great to be so immersed! I want to live in Taxco! So beautiful and the people were so nice. Had an amazing time and great tour leaders who explained everything along the way. Definitely recommend this trip!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Lovely towns and enthusiastic tour guide. The restaurant that is recommended by the tour guide is good , the food, the view , and the service .

adriuy
Uruguay

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Buen viaje quiZas no vale la pena ir a Cuernavaca solo por la catedral , Taxco, un pueblo mágico. Es un paseo largo por lo que hay que ir preparado y con paciecia . El guía y chofer excelentes

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A worthwhile trip. Beautiful cities that are rich in history. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. If travelling alone one should be alert while walking the streets.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We really enjoyed this trip, although didn't enjoy all the van transferring before actually departing. Also, we didn't like that we had to spend a really awkward lunch together with the group where the food was less than stellar. The town of Taxco is really nice though, with all the white buildings on the hillside and narrow streets. Very picturesque.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

I really enjoyed the trip. Both cities are very beautiful. It was nice that we did not have a big group, only 10 people. However, I do wish there had been more free time in Taxco.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

While our guide was very knowledgeable, he did most of his speaking in Spanish and very little in translating into English. I understood most of the Spanish, but my son and my nephew did not. I did a lot of explaining to them what was being said in Spanish.
Cuernavaca and Taxco were beautiful towns.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Great Guide - had a lot to say and informative. I wish there was more guided tours around Taxco - and not just in the Cathedral, would have loved to hear more about the city

Joey
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Taxco was really beautiful. Cuernavaca was also interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable. The silver shop should be put at the end of the tour, so that one has the option to either spend time there or have more time to go around. But at least in my case, it was cut short by a brownout at the shop. And when the other tour members started shopping for silver first before checking out the church, the guide gave me a private tour about it so as not to waste my time.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The guide was friendly and knowledgeable, providing both historical facts about the towns and the cathedrals we visited, along with advice for buying silver. Lunch was delicious and the tour was scenic, although we suffered through terrible traffic on the way home. Although I was very pleased with my purchases of silver jewelry, families with children need to be alerted that it is primarily a shopping and sightseeing trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

I was surprised when I saw Taxco. It is like a vilage in Europe.

Chris T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fransisco was a great guide. Very patient and informative. We had a lovely day. Taxco was very enjoyable. Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

I particularly enjoyed that it was a small group of tourists (5) and that the guide was very friendly, despite his not so good English.

Taxco is very beautiful, a bit like Toledo I'd say. The scenery is just amazing. Perhaps a bit too commercial right now, but what can you do...

The trip is quite long, be prepared to spend around 5 hours in the car.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The tour guide Pepe was very knowledgeable , with very good attitude . We were picked up @ hotel later than we were expecting .

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

The tours were very nice but the traffic and distance were both almost too much. For the amount of time spent in the two cities it was al Ost not wirth the entire time invested. The guide was very good however

Jocelyn B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

A great trip, especially for those wanting to pick up some of the finest silver Mexico has to offer. Aside from the shopping aspect, the towns themselves are beautiful and well worth seeing, and the guide was highly knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Trip was ok. The tour guide was very thorough in explaining everything. He was very funny. Not enough time to explore.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Taxco is beautiful and well worth the trip, which takes around 2 hours. But as in other tours, the priority was to visit their silver shop and their restaurant first, I'd have preferred to have more time on my own, to explore the shops and restaurants in the town.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Wasted too much time at one of those "lets explain silver mining" places which sold overpriced silver. It really took away from the amount of time we had to explore the town of Taxco. In addition they put us in a van which was not built to do the three plus hour drive back to Mexico City.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A good trip but a very, very long day. Spent almost 2 hours getting out of Mexico City (zigzagging back and forth to pick up extra passengers) which put us behind schedule. Taxco is a beautiful town, wish we could have seen more of it. We got push/pulled/drawn into multiple silver shops instead of taking time to walk about to really see the 'village'. At lunch, sit out on balcony to eat -- the view is gorgeous! Fantastically beautiful church.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

What to say about this tour... Immediately after we were picked up from our hotel, the tour bus stopped along a back road with several other tour busses. No communication. No reason why given. So we all sat and waited... and waited. The bus itself was fairly uncomfortable - which was a significant complaint considering it's a 3 hour direct drive back to DF from Taxco. The quality of our stops in Cuernavaca and Taxco were mediocre at best. We stopped and spent 40 minutes at the cathedral in Cuernavaca. The cathedral in Cuernavaca is worth seeing. Very pretty, very unique. Cannot speak much about anything else in the city as we did not visit any other sites. Then back on the road to Taxco. The first stop was some place just outside of Taxco where you could buy silver. We were told the tour company was obligated to stop there -- which was obvious once you arrived inside the silver shop. The shop keepers followed you around like a hawk and were extremely pushy. Prices were so-so, nothing amazing. Then we drove on into to Taxco and stopped outside the cathedral and had lunch. The food was god-awful. Would have much rather we just found our own little family run cafe and called it good. Our tour guide was constantly rushing us. After leaving the restaurant, we were waiting on a particular couple of ladies who received their lunch later than everyone else. The tour guide asked where they were and out loud sighed, "Oh God, come on!" Then he dumped the group off on another tour guide for the cathedral. The tour for the cathedral was pitiful, rushed, and a discourtesy to the history of the cathedral. The tour guide could only repeat his memorized speech and could not answer questions. We were supposed to have an hour's free time in Taxco afterwards, but the cathedral tour guide rushed us all over into another silver shop. We ended up leaving on our own to explore the city. Overall, I'd say skip this tour. Instead hire your own cab and enjoy exploring these cities on your own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide provided excellent 1:1 English explanation of everything on the tour. The church and grounds in Cuernavaca were amazing. The courtyard in the centre of Taxco City was lovely. Had time to explore around on own and shop which was perfect to pick up small gifts. Great day

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2895MEX8

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message