• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 75 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mexico City, Mexico
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 75 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

The tours were very nice but the traffic and distance were both almost too much. For the amount of time spent in the two cities it was al Ost not wirth the entire time invested. The guide was very good however

Jocelyn B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

A great trip, especially for those wanting to pick up some of the finest silver Mexico has to offer. Aside from the shopping aspect, the towns themselves are beautiful and well worth seeing, and the guide was highly knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It takes 3 hours from Mexico City to Taxco by bus but it is worth it. Taxco looks like the cities in southern Spain, something that you would not expect to find in Mexico. The stop in Cuernavaca is too short.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Nice tour. It would be great to have more time to visit Taxco.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

yeah

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Taxco is an interesting and small hill town. The route to the town is itself very interesting and shows the country side of Mexico well. However we were not taken to Cuernavaca at all though we were promised even on the way back when we stopped to fill gas which was highly dissapointing. We were given one hour free in Taxco after lunch which can be reduced to half and hour and shown Cuernavaca. Otherwise trip was fine with many silver shops to visit and good cathedrals to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Taxco is very beautiful. Unfortunately the tourist guide made us stay in the appointed souvenir shops for shopping that consumed most of our time that we found not enough free time to walk around in city. Plus we spent an hour to wait another customer which never showned up, who didn't really belong to our tour.

Adriana P
Costa Rica

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The trip is exhausting, it is long and hot. But it is worth it, as Taxco is one of the most beautiful little towns on earth, comparable to Peruvian Cusco and even Italian villages in its strong arquitecture style and identity. Sterling Silver is not as inexpensive as it used to be as the local silver mines are now closed, but stll a stron comercial spot, with a lovely vew, a magnificent church and even worth staying a few nights and taking a several days long tour if you have the time, you will never regret going to Taxco. Our guides were very friendly, funny and they really aim to please. there is a short stop in cuernavaca on the way to Taxco where you get to see a medieval church and monastery, which is pretty surprising to find in all colonial Mexico. The food at the place where we stoped for lunch was terrible though. It was a buffet composed by several dishes like pasta (completely bland) and cold mashed potatoes and a few meats, the Pok thoguh was very good, and the view from the restaurant almost makes up for the terrible food, but when in Mexico you expect to eat some tradictional dishes, not cold pasta and chicken. They really need to upgrade the food in this place, or just order from the menu, for the love of god don´t spoil your lunch by eating that terrible food. The van was not comfortable, it was crowded and could have been more spacious, it was very tiring to travel these distances without having enough space to stretch your legs. The trip is still worth it, but the basic comforts must be upgraded.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

pıck up took too long. some people were not ready we had to wait in a small bus for 20 minutes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Again, our tour guide was late, but not as late as before. It was Javier. He took us to Cuernavaca and then Taxco. They are both beautiful towns. We had lunch at a restaurant in Taxco. Expect to pay around $15 per person for a meal. Also, they include gratuity if you sit in a large group. We had a very interesting group. It was a fun experience, but I did make evening plans that we missed (purchased tickets to the opera for two) because we were grossly late. We got back to the hotel after 9pm. Always expect delays in this city. And, don't make any evening plans before hand. Worth the trip though!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

This was an interesting trip but the bus was very uncomfortable, especially for such a long trip and, as it was a small minibus, we could not see much from the windows when Sergio pointed out places of interest.
Although this was a trip to see the silver shops in Taxco, in the three shops that Sergio introduced us to, we felt under pressure to buy. This should not happen as it takes out enjoyment of browsing. Passengers should be allowed to go where they please and not be directed by the driver where to shop. This trip was of almost 14 hours duration and we felt it could have been undertaken in a shorter time frame.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Taxco silver prices are cheap cf. Aust. jewellry shop prices. But tour guide slept a lot of the way there and never offered information along the way except if awoken and asked a question. The driver would have made a better guide for those who could speak Spanish. 3.5 stars is an average of what we saw (5 stars) and the guide’s contribution. Had sufficient time in the places to see cf. souvenir shops (no issue there). Would have preferred a suggested lunch venue offering a more genuine mexican cuisine, although the place chosen was good value with ambiance.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Beautiful cities "spoke" for themselves. The guide was not as engaging and seemed more interested in promoting shopping in Taxco.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Cuernava and Taxco were amazing places I thank the tour guide for taking us there, what I did not like is that he was taking us to the most expensive silver shops and did not give us much time to visit the smaller business ones. Sight seeing was amazing!!!

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2895MEX8

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message