4 star rating: Recommended 108 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mexico City, Mexico
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Nice tour. It would be great to have more time to visit Taxco.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

yeah

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Taxco is an interesting and small hill town. The route to the town is itself very interesting and shows the country side of Mexico well. However we were not taken to Cuernavaca at all though we were promised even on the way back when we stopped to fill gas which was highly dissapointing. We were given one hour free in Taxco after lunch which can be reduced to half and hour and shown Cuernavaca. Otherwise trip was fine with many silver shops to visit and good cathedrals to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Taxco is very beautiful. Unfortunately the tourist guide made us stay in the appointed souvenir shops for shopping that consumed most of our time that we found not enough free time to walk around in city. Plus we spent an hour to wait another customer which never showned up, who didn't really belong to our tour.

Adriana P
Costa Rica

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The trip is exhausting, it is long and hot. But it is worth it, as Taxco is one of the most beautiful little towns on earth, comparable to Peruvian Cusco and even Italian villages in its strong arquitecture style and identity. Sterling Silver is not as inexpensive as it used to be as the local silver mines are now closed, but stll a stron comercial spot, with a lovely vew, a magnificent church and even worth staying a few nights and taking a several days long tour if you have the time, you will never regret going to Taxco. Our guides were very friendly, funny and they really aim to please. there is a short stop in cuernavaca on the way to Taxco where you get to see a medieval church and monastery, which is pretty surprising to find in all colonial Mexico. The food at the place where we stoped for lunch was terrible though. It was a buffet composed by several dishes like pasta (completely bland) and cold mashed potatoes and a few meats, the Pok thoguh was very good, and the view from the restaurant almost makes up for the terrible food, but when in Mexico you expect to eat some tradictional dishes, not cold pasta and chicken. They really need to upgrade the food in this place, or just order from the menu, for the love of god don´t spoil your lunch by eating that terrible food. The van was not comfortable, it was crowded and could have been more spacious, it was very tiring to travel these distances without having enough space to stretch your legs. The trip is still worth it, but the basic comforts must be upgraded.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

pıck up took too long. some people were not ready we had to wait in a small bus for 20 minutes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Again, our tour guide was late, but not as late as before. It was Javier. He took us to Cuernavaca and then Taxco. They are both beautiful towns. We had lunch at a restaurant in Taxco. Expect to pay around $15 per person for a meal. Also, they include gratuity if you sit in a large group. We had a very interesting group. It was a fun experience, but I did make evening plans that we missed (purchased tickets to the opera for two) because we were grossly late. We got back to the hotel after 9pm. Always expect delays in this city. And, don't make any evening plans before hand. Worth the trip though!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

This was an interesting trip but the bus was very uncomfortable, especially for such a long trip and, as it was a small minibus, we could not see much from the windows when Sergio pointed out places of interest.
Although this was a trip to see the silver shops in Taxco, in the three shops that Sergio introduced us to, we felt under pressure to buy. This should not happen as it takes out enjoyment of browsing. Passengers should be allowed to go where they please and not be directed by the driver where to shop. This trip was of almost 14 hours duration and we felt it could have been undertaken in a shorter time frame.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Taxco silver prices are cheap cf. Aust. jewellry shop prices. But tour guide slept a lot of the way there and never offered information along the way except if awoken and asked a question. The driver would have made a better guide for those who could speak Spanish. 3.5 stars is an average of what we saw (5 stars) and the guide’s contribution. Had sufficient time in the places to see cf. souvenir shops (no issue there). Would have preferred a suggested lunch venue offering a more genuine mexican cuisine, although the place chosen was good value with ambiance.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Beautiful cities "spoke" for themselves. The guide was not as engaging and seemed more interested in promoting shopping in Taxco.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Cuernava and Taxco were amazing places I thank the tour guide for taking us there, what I did not like is that he was taking us to the most expensive silver shops and did not give us much time to visit the smaller business ones. Sight seeing was amazing!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

I was a little disappointed because the only thing I saw from Cuernavaca was a cathedral but we indeed got good information/ Howver, in the description of the program it was written that we would be given a short sightseeing tour of Cuernavaca, too. I had hoped to see more of the city than a church. We spent most of the time in Taxco, more than I had wanted to spend there. It is a pretty little town, different because of all the narrow and very steep streets, but it consists mainly of shops where jewelry is sold. If you are interested in buying anything made out of silver it will be the perfect place for you. If you are not that interested in it, well, then I hope you don't get bored too easily. I would have liked the trip a lot better if the time spent in both cities would have been a little more even.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Good points - We received transportation to a part of Mexico we would not have gotten to see. The driver was skillful. The guide was pleasant. The tour picked us right on time.

Bad points - It seemed like a sales push for us to purchase silver items. We wondered if a kickback was being given to tour company. We were taken to a place for lunch that had horribly expensive food for what it was. The food was the worst food we had on our entire trip. Very poor quality. Actually food was downright bad. The view at the restaurant was good however. Would have been nice if we could have chosen to eat elsewhere. The service at the restaurant was poor as well and the tip was included. The restaurant also did not accept credit cards which we felt we should have been advised of before we began the trip. We wish we would have realized that we would spend over seven hours driving. It is our fault we did not understand how far Taxco was from Mexico City. Almost no time spent in Cuernavaca which is part of the trip we were most interested in.

Best part of trip was the last hour in Taxco where we got to walk around by ourselves and just experience the city. Our family has two parents age 50 and our kids age 20 and 16. This trip may be okay for older travelers, but not for people in our situation.

We also took trip to Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe through Viator two days after this trip. Now that trip was worth the time and money!

The Stratmann Family

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

A long trip, feeding us through tourist shops. Towns pretty though lots of traffic made walking through them more difficult. Pick up variable - told to be ready at 8 am and then transport arrives at 9... Excellent guide with good English, very knowledgable and accommodating.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip was a disappointment. We were very late leaving the city. The van was very small and crowded. The whole purpose of this trip was to buy silver? I wish I would have known this, because I would have skipped this trip. What a disappointment.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Mostly shopping, so only book this tour if that is what you are interested in doing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Taxco is the of the most charming little towns in world. Don't miss it But this tour misrepresents itself by claiming time in Cuernavaca - only 20 minutes is allocated to it. Our tour guide, Diana, insisted that everyone visit only a church, and made an issue of it when we wanted to look at the local items across the street instead. She also provided minimal commentary on the bus, mostly joking with Spanish speakers and leaving the others in the cold. She also took us a really terrible restaurant for lunch and did not herself eat there. The only bad meal we had in Mexico.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

We are Aussie travellers and was pleased with the tour to Taxco and Cuernavaca but were advised when we booked that we would have time to explore Taxco as this is what we went on this tour for But to much time wasted on stopping the tour to 4 silver shops and only a small amount of time in taxco very disappointed

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Picked us up at our hotel right on time. Tour guide and driver great. Disappointed in the tour itself. Taxco visit was basically three stops at silver shops and a really lousy, expensive lunch. Viator needs to review other restaurants for a lunch stop. Would not recommend tour at this time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Waste of time - Spent less than 1 hr in the nice city of Cuernavaca - Didn't get to appreciate the beauty at all. Spent way too much time in Taxco - Lunch was crappy and WAY overpriced.....UGH...next time Im driving on my own

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2012

Too much time spent in "pre-chosen" stores in Taxco; there was much pressure to stay in these stores and not nearly enough time to explore Taxco. Didn't really get much time to explore Cuernavaca either. I would not recommend this tour to anyone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Both places are absolutely beautiful. What was unnacceptable is the fact that we had to spend one hour ina silver shop that was outside of Taxco. This left us only 2 hours in Taxco after wasting over 3 hours on the road to get there, and another 2.5 hours to get back. Basically we spent more time in the bus and shop than visiting the sites.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

I felt that we were rushed the entire trip. The guides did not give us enough time to see the towns.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I feel that I was to robbed. I purchased tickets for all 7 of us and we didn't go to Cuernavaca because the guide fell asleep on the way back from Taxco and the driver didn't bother to wake him up. They decided that we weren't going visit even though we paid for it already. Terrible!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

tour guide in a hurry to get home just wanted to show us the shops he wanted to see he was rude and didnt want to answer questions

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2895MEX8

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message