4 star rating: Recommended 79 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mexico City, Mexico
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 79 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The tour guide Pepe was very knowledgeable , with very good attitude . We were picked up @ hotel later than we were expecting .

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

The tours were very nice but the traffic and distance were both almost too much. For the amount of time spent in the two cities it was al Ost not wirth the entire time invested. The guide was very good however

Jocelyn B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

A great trip, especially for those wanting to pick up some of the finest silver Mexico has to offer. Aside from the shopping aspect, the towns themselves are beautiful and well worth seeing, and the guide was highly knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

What to say about this tour... Immediately after we were picked up from our hotel, the tour bus stopped along a back road with several other tour busses. No communication. No reason why given. So we all sat and waited... and waited. The bus itself was fairly uncomfortable - which was a significant complaint considering it's a 3 hour direct drive back to DF from Taxco. The quality of our stops in Cuernavaca and Taxco were mediocre at best. We stopped and spent 40 minutes at the cathedral in Cuernavaca. The cathedral in Cuernavaca is worth seeing. Very pretty, very unique. Cannot speak much about anything else in the city as we did not visit any other sites. Then back on the road to Taxco. The first stop was some place just outside of Taxco where you could buy silver. We were told the tour company was obligated to stop there -- which was obvious once you arrived inside the silver shop. The shop keepers followed you around like a hawk and were extremely pushy. Prices were so-so, nothing amazing. Then we drove on into to Taxco and stopped outside the cathedral and had lunch. The food was god-awful. Would have much rather we just found our own little family run cafe and called it good. Our tour guide was constantly rushing us. After leaving the restaurant, we were waiting on a particular couple of ladies who received their lunch later than everyone else. The tour guide asked where they were and out loud sighed, "Oh God, come on!" Then he dumped the group off on another tour guide for the cathedral. The tour for the cathedral was pitiful, rushed, and a discourtesy to the history of the cathedral. The tour guide could only repeat his memorized speech and could not answer questions. We were supposed to have an hour's free time in Taxco afterwards, but the cathedral tour guide rushed us all over into another silver shop. We ended up leaving on our own to explore the city. Overall, I'd say skip this tour. Instead hire your own cab and enjoy exploring these cities on your own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide provided excellent 1:1 English explanation of everything on the tour. The church and grounds in Cuernavaca were amazing. The courtyard in the centre of Taxco City was lovely. Had time to explore around on own and shop which was perfect to pick up small gifts. Great day

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Taxco is very beautiful and definitely worth going to. The guides brought us to some gorgeous places and a restaurant with an excellent view of the city. Everyone was very, very nice, but we were brought to three silver shops that day and some of us wondered if the tour company actually takes commissions from any purchases we made and the tips we gave to entertainers, etc. This might be an unfair assessment, but it could have been avoided with more professionalism. The company also took a long time to respond to emails so I had to call them twice (the first time they told me to call again the next day before 2pm) to confirm the pick up time and place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It takes 3 hours from Mexico City to Taxco by bus but it is worth it. Taxco looks like the cities in southern Spain, something that you would not expect to find in Mexico. The stop in Cuernavaca is too short.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Nice tour. It would be great to have more time to visit Taxco.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

yeah

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Taxco is an interesting and small hill town. The route to the town is itself very interesting and shows the country side of Mexico well. However we were not taken to Cuernavaca at all though we were promised even on the way back when we stopped to fill gas which was highly dissapointing. We were given one hour free in Taxco after lunch which can be reduced to half and hour and shown Cuernavaca. Otherwise trip was fine with many silver shops to visit and good cathedrals to see.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Taxco is very beautiful. Unfortunately the tourist guide made us stay in the appointed souvenir shops for shopping that consumed most of our time that we found not enough free time to walk around in city. Plus we spent an hour to wait another customer which never showned up, who didn't really belong to our tour.

Adriana P
Costa Rica

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The trip is exhausting, it is long and hot. But it is worth it, as Taxco is one of the most beautiful little towns on earth, comparable to Peruvian Cusco and even Italian villages in its strong arquitecture style and identity. Sterling Silver is not as inexpensive as it used to be as the local silver mines are now closed, but stll a stron comercial spot, with a lovely vew, a magnificent church and even worth staying a few nights and taking a several days long tour if you have the time, you will never regret going to Taxco. Our guides were very friendly, funny and they really aim to please. there is a short stop in cuernavaca on the way to Taxco where you get to see a medieval church and monastery, which is pretty surprising to find in all colonial Mexico. The food at the place where we stoped for lunch was terrible though. It was a buffet composed by several dishes like pasta (completely bland) and cold mashed potatoes and a few meats, the Pok thoguh was very good, and the view from the restaurant almost makes up for the terrible food, but when in Mexico you expect to eat some tradictional dishes, not cold pasta and chicken. They really need to upgrade the food in this place, or just order from the menu, for the love of god don´t spoil your lunch by eating that terrible food. The van was not comfortable, it was crowded and could have been more spacious, it was very tiring to travel these distances without having enough space to stretch your legs. The trip is still worth it, but the basic comforts must be upgraded.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

pıck up took too long. some people were not ready we had to wait in a small bus for 20 minutes.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Again, our tour guide was late, but not as late as before. It was Javier. He took us to Cuernavaca and then Taxco. They are both beautiful towns. We had lunch at a restaurant in Taxco. Expect to pay around $15 per person for a meal. Also, they include gratuity if you sit in a large group. We had a very interesting group. It was a fun experience, but I did make evening plans that we missed (purchased tickets to the opera for two) because we were grossly late. We got back to the hotel after 9pm. Always expect delays in this city. And, don't make any evening plans before hand. Worth the trip though!

Special Offer
$70.00 Save $4.01

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2895MEX8

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message