4 star rating: Recommended 86 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mexico City, Mexico
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 86 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Joey
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Taxco was really beautiful. Cuernavaca was also interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable. The silver shop should be put at the end of the tour, so that one has the option to either spend time there or have more time to go around. But at least in my case, it was cut short by a brownout at the shop. And when the other tour members started shopping for silver first before checking out the church, the guide gave me a private tour about it so as not to waste my time.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The guide was friendly and knowledgeable, providing both historical facts about the towns and the cathedrals we visited, along with advice for buying silver. Lunch was delicious and the tour was scenic, although we suffered through terrible traffic on the way home. Although I was very pleased with my purchases of silver jewelry, families with children need to be alerted that it is primarily a shopping and sightseeing trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

I was surprised when I saw Taxco. It is like a vilage in Europe.

Chris T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Fransisco was a great guide. Very patient and informative. We had a lovely day. Taxco was very enjoyable. Thanks

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

I particularly enjoyed that it was a small group of tourists (5) and that the guide was very friendly, despite his not so good English.

Taxco is very beautiful, a bit like Toledo I'd say. The scenery is just amazing. Perhaps a bit too commercial right now, but what can you do...

The trip is quite long, be prepared to spend around 5 hours in the car.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The tour guide Pepe was very knowledgeable , with very good attitude . We were picked up @ hotel later than we were expecting .

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2010

The tours were very nice but the traffic and distance were both almost too much. For the amount of time spent in the two cities it was al Ost not wirth the entire time invested. The guide was very good however

Jocelyn B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2009

A great trip, especially for those wanting to pick up some of the finest silver Mexico has to offer. Aside from the shopping aspect, the towns themselves are beautiful and well worth seeing, and the guide was highly knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Very good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A good trip but a very, very long day. Spent almost 2 hours getting out of Mexico City (zigzagging back and forth to pick up extra passengers) which put us behind schedule. Taxco is a beautiful town, wish we could have seen more of it. We got push/pulled/drawn into multiple silver shops instead of taking time to walk about to really see the 'village'. At lunch, sit out on balcony to eat -- the view is gorgeous! Fantastically beautiful church.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

What to say about this tour... Immediately after we were picked up from our hotel, the tour bus stopped along a back road with several other tour busses. No communication. No reason why given. So we all sat and waited... and waited. The bus itself was fairly uncomfortable - which was a significant complaint considering it's a 3 hour direct drive back to DF from Taxco. The quality of our stops in Cuernavaca and Taxco were mediocre at best. We stopped and spent 40 minutes at the cathedral in Cuernavaca. The cathedral in Cuernavaca is worth seeing. Very pretty, very unique. Cannot speak much about anything else in the city as we did not visit any other sites. Then back on the road to Taxco. The first stop was some place just outside of Taxco where you could buy silver. We were told the tour company was obligated to stop there -- which was obvious once you arrived inside the silver shop. The shop keepers followed you around like a hawk and were extremely pushy. Prices were so-so, nothing amazing. Then we drove on into to Taxco and stopped outside the cathedral and had lunch. The food was god-awful. Would have much rather we just found our own little family run cafe and called it good. Our tour guide was constantly rushing us. After leaving the restaurant, we were waiting on a particular couple of ladies who received their lunch later than everyone else. The tour guide asked where they were and out loud sighed, "Oh God, come on!" Then he dumped the group off on another tour guide for the cathedral. The tour for the cathedral was pitiful, rushed, and a discourtesy to the history of the cathedral. The tour guide could only repeat his memorized speech and could not answer questions. We were supposed to have an hour's free time in Taxco afterwards, but the cathedral tour guide rushed us all over into another silver shop. We ended up leaving on our own to explore the city. Overall, I'd say skip this tour. Instead hire your own cab and enjoy exploring these cities on your own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide provided excellent 1:1 English explanation of everything on the tour. The church and grounds in Cuernavaca were amazing. The courtyard in the centre of Taxco City was lovely. Had time to explore around on own and shop which was perfect to pick up small gifts. Great day

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Taxco is very beautiful and definitely worth going to. The guides brought us to some gorgeous places and a restaurant with an excellent view of the city. Everyone was very, very nice, but we were brought to three silver shops that day and some of us wondered if the tour company actually takes commissions from any purchases we made and the tips we gave to entertainers, etc. This might be an unfair assessment, but it could have been avoided with more professionalism. The company also took a long time to respond to emails so I had to call them twice (the first time they told me to call again the next day before 2pm) to confirm the pick up time and place.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It takes 3 hours from Mexico City to Taxco by bus but it is worth it. Taxco looks like the cities in southern Spain, something that you would not expect to find in Mexico. The stop in Cuernavaca is too short.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Nice tour. It would be great to have more time to visit Taxco.

Special Offer
$70.00 Save $4.01

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 3+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2895MEX8

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message