4 star rating: Recommended 99 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Mexico City, Mexico
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 99 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

This was an interesting trip but the bus was very uncomfortable, especially for such a long trip and, as it was a small minibus, we could not see much from the windows when Sergio pointed out places of interest.
Although this was a trip to see the silver shops in Taxco, in the three shops that Sergio introduced us to, we felt under pressure to buy. This should not happen as it takes out enjoyment of browsing. Passengers should be allowed to go where they please and not be directed by the driver where to shop. This trip was of almost 14 hours duration and we felt it could have been undertaken in a shorter time frame.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Taxco silver prices are cheap cf. Aust. jewellry shop prices. But tour guide slept a lot of the way there and never offered information along the way except if awoken and asked a question. The driver would have made a better guide for those who could speak Spanish. 3.5 stars is an average of what we saw (5 stars) and the guideā€™s contribution. Had sufficient time in the places to see cf. souvenir shops (no issue there). Would have preferred a suggested lunch venue offering a more genuine mexican cuisine, although the place chosen was good value with ambiance.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Beautiful cities "spoke" for themselves. The guide was not as engaging and seemed more interested in promoting shopping in Taxco.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Cuernava and Taxco were amazing places I thank the tour guide for taking us there, what I did not like is that he was taking us to the most expensive silver shops and did not give us much time to visit the smaller business ones. Sight seeing was amazing!!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

I was a little disappointed because the only thing I saw from Cuernavaca was a cathedral but we indeed got good information/ Howver, in the description of the program it was written that we would be given a short sightseeing tour of Cuernavaca, too. I had hoped to see more of the city than a church. We spent most of the time in Taxco, more than I had wanted to spend there. It is a pretty little town, different because of all the narrow and very steep streets, but it consists mainly of shops where jewelry is sold. If you are interested in buying anything made out of silver it will be the perfect place for you. If you are not that interested in it, well, then I hope you don't get bored too easily. I would have liked the trip a lot better if the time spent in both cities would have been a little more even.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

A long trip, feeding us through tourist shops. Towns pretty though lots of traffic made walking through them more difficult. Pick up variable - told to be ready at 8 am and then transport arrives at 9... Excellent guide with good English, very knowledgable and accommodating.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

This trip was a disappointment. We were very late leaving the city. The van was very small and crowded. The whole purpose of this trip was to buy silver? I wish I would have known this, because I would have skipped this trip. What a disappointment.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Mostly shopping, so only book this tour if that is what you are interested in doing.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Taxco is the of the most charming little towns in world. Don't miss it But this tour misrepresents itself by claiming time in Cuernavaca - only 20 minutes is allocated to it. Our tour guide, Diana, insisted that everyone visit only a church, and made an issue of it when we wanted to look at the local items across the street instead. She also provided minimal commentary on the bus, mostly joking with Spanish speakers and leaving the others in the cold. She also took us a really terrible restaurant for lunch and did not herself eat there. The only bad meal we had in Mexico.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

We are Aussie travellers and was pleased with the tour to Taxco and Cuernavaca but were advised when we booked that we would have time to explore Taxco as this is what we went on this tour for But to much time wasted on stopping the tour to 4 silver shops and only a small amount of time in taxco very disappointed

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

Picked us up at our hotel right on time. Tour guide and driver great. Disappointed in the tour itself. Taxco visit was basically three stops at silver shops and a really lousy, expensive lunch. Viator needs to review other restaurants for a lunch stop. Would not recommend tour at this time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Waste of time - Spent less than 1 hr in the nice city of Cuernavaca - Didn't get to appreciate the beauty at all. Spent way too much time in Taxco - Lunch was crappy and WAY overpriced.....UGH...next time Im driving on my own

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2012

Too much time spent in "pre-chosen" stores in Taxco; there was much pressure to stay in these stores and not nearly enough time to explore Taxco. Didn't really get much time to explore Cuernavaca either. I would not recommend this tour to anyone.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Both places are absolutely beautiful. What was unnacceptable is the fact that we had to spend one hour ina silver shop that was outside of Taxco. This left us only 2 hours in Taxco after wasting over 3 hours on the road to get there, and another 2.5 hours to get back. Basically we spent more time in the bus and shop than visiting the sites.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

I felt that we were rushed the entire trip. The guides did not give us enough time to see the towns.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

tour guide in a hurry to get home just wanted to show us the shops he wanted to see he was rude and didnt want to answer questions

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

Knowledge of the tour guide is poor. Too many jewelry shops that we have to go and they provide jewelry of bad quality.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Not a great tour at all. Heaps of mucking around at the beginning...changed coaches 3 times until we finally got going. Two suitcases were jammed in the back seat - leaving barely any room to sit! The guide gave only limited commentary - we drove a long distance with none at all. He tried to take us to a 'nice place' for lunch...but by then everyone was worried he was getting a commission from the restaurant and everyone refused to go with him. The most amusing part of the trip! Would never book with this tour company again.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

The guides (3) collected us on time but we were taken to another area to have us divided into the correct buses, our bus was late and small so we were all separated for the 2 hours drive. The tour guide managed our expectations very well but it is clear that he gets commission from all the stores in Taxco if they see him with us. Our first three stops were in silver stores, we would be better off not to have stopped there as it made our lunch delayed and almost all the products were the same. We didn't get to see the town itself up until after lunch at around 4pm. The guide did not want to stop at Cuernavaca to see the chapel as he identified that Taxco was much prettier r and we should have free time in tiny Taxco buying silver goods. We changed his mind and had 45 minutes in Cuernavaca on the return, I wish we could have been there longer. There was no explanation of the buildings or the area as the other tours did. I suggest that a guided walking tour would be much more beneficial in both Taxco and Cuernavaca. Also it would be good to include other activities rather than shopping, like ride the cable car or explore the caves or point out the museum or the look out point on top of the city. All things that the tour guide could have shared but didnt. I feel I paid a lot of money for something I could have done on my own and there was no added value or benefit from a tour guide.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Spent way too much time listening to sales pitches than seeing sites. Guide was informative, but wasted way too much time.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2012

The tour guide was nice. However, it was difficult to understand him. The 500-year old monastery and church in Cuernavaca was interesting but the city itself disappointing. Taxco was cute--but full of jewelry shops selling the same thing. The trip was not worth doing.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

I can not recommend this tour as both the transportation and bi-lingual guide were 3rd rate. 14 of us were squeezed into a shuttle van for this trip which was clearly not designed to be a sightseeing vehicle. We were stuck in the back and could not hear the various comments of our guide throughtout the trip. Departure from Mexico City was delayed at least an hour while we sat around waiting for another couple to show up. The ride to Cuenavaca was okay but no actual touring of the city was done. When we arrived at Taxco the vehicle parked at a local restaurant which the guide selected and led us to believe was included in the tour. The food was very poor and expensive. We would not have chosen this restaurant on our own as there were many options as it turned out. We were then marched up the hilly streets to the church for a tour from a local guide (Alex) who was great. After a shopping time, all on our tour were asked to meet to depart. Rather than the lazy van driver go down to the bottom of the hill to drive up to pick us up, we were marched down the hilly streets to the spot where the van was parked. The 3 hour ride home was awful with no stops and we arrived back at our hotel 1.5 hours late. It felt like we paid for a 1st class bus ticket but got a 3rd class shuttle van ride!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2011

Unfortunately, I would have to rate this experience as horrible! Our tour van broke down and our tour guide refused to call the tour operator for back up assistance. It took 4 hrs stranded on the side of the road before our tour guide after constant urging by us customers to call for help, finally called for a van to rescue us. Viator does not run the tour, it was contracted out to a another tour vendor. If I had known this, I would not have booked the tour.

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2895MEX8

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message