Insider's Guide to Mexico City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 122 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Christina C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The cities are beautiful. A quick stop in Cuernavaca and a visit to the cathedral. Taxco is amazing. Lots of time here. Lots of travel. The lunch place is mediocre and no other choices unless you wait until Taxco. The van was cramped for 10 adults. Frank was very nice but hard to hear in the back.

Hans Guenter B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Too little time for sightseeing. Tour guide was more interested in his Sales than in showing us the sites.
In Cuernavaca we just had time for the Basilica, not for Maximilian's house, nor for the palace of Cortez.
A few years ago I did the same tour and the tour guide let us see all these sites. He gave us an hour and we could choose between these three: Basilica, Maximilian's house or Cortez's palace and we still had time for a cup of coffee at the Plaza afterwards. Same in Taxco. Sales was Nr. 1 but at least we had the time to stroll around the Plaza on our own. The only thing we were shown: The Basilica.

Maria Remedios N

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Trip was ok. The tour guide was very thorough in explaining everything. He was very funny. Not enough time to explore.

Romina G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Taxco is beautiful and well worth the trip, which takes around 2 hours. But as in other tours, the priority was to visit their silver shop and their restaurant first, I'd have preferred to have more time on my own, to explore the shops and restaurants in the town.

KRISTAL W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Vadsa

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Wasted too much time at one of those "lets explain silver mining" places which sold overpriced silver. It really took away from the amount of time we had to explore the town of Taxco. In addition they put us in a van which was not built to do the three plus hour drive back to Mexico City.

Dianne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A good trip but a very, very long day. Spent almost 2 hours getting out of Mexico City (zigzagging back and forth to pick up extra passengers) which put us behind schedule. Taxco is a beautiful town, wish we could have seen more of it. We got push/pulled/drawn into multiple silver shops instead of taking time to walk about to really see the 'village'. At lunch, sit out on balcony to eat -- the view is gorgeous! Fantastically beautiful church.

ashysc

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

What to say about this tour... Immediately after we were picked up from our hotel, the tour bus stopped along a back road with several other tour busses. No communication. No reason why given. So we all sat and waited... and waited. The bus itself was fairly uncomfortable - which was a significant complaint considering it's a 3 hour direct drive back to DF from Taxco. The quality of our stops in Cuernavaca and Taxco were mediocre at best. We stopped and spent 40 minutes at the cathedral in Cuernavaca. The cathedral in Cuernavaca is worth seeing. Very pretty, very unique. Cannot speak much about anything else in the city as we did not visit any other sites. Then back on the road to Taxco. The first stop was some place just outside of Taxco where you could buy silver. We were told the tour company was obligated to stop there -- which was obvious once you arrived inside the silver shop. The shop keepers followed you around like a hawk and were extremely pushy. Prices were so-so, nothing amazing. Then we drove on into to Taxco and stopped outside the cathedral and had lunch. The food was god-awful. Would have much rather we just found our own little family run cafe and called it good. Our tour guide was constantly rushing us. After leaving the restaurant, we were waiting on a particular couple of ladies who received their lunch later than everyone else. The tour guide asked where they were and out loud sighed, "Oh God, come on!" Then he dumped the group off on another tour guide for the cathedral. The tour for the cathedral was pitiful, rushed, and a discourtesy to the history of the cathedral. The tour guide could only repeat his memorized speech and could not answer questions. We were supposed to have an hour's free time in Taxco afterwards, but the cathedral tour guide rushed us all over into another silver shop. We ended up leaving on our own to explore the city. Overall, I'd say skip this tour. Instead hire your own cab and enjoy exploring these cities on your own.

Heather Q

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The guide provided excellent 1:1 English explanation of everything on the tour. The church and grounds in Cuernavaca were amazing. The courtyard in the centre of Taxco City was lovely. Had time to explore around on own and shop which was perfect to pick up small gifts. Great day

Shasha

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Taxco is very beautiful and definitely worth going to. The guides brought us to some gorgeous places and a restaurant with an excellent view of the city. Everyone was very, very nice, but we were brought to three silver shops that day and some of us wondered if the tour company actually takes commissions from any purchases we made and the tips we gave to entertainers, etc. This might be an unfair assessment, but it could have been avoided with more professionalism. The company also took a long time to respond to emails so I had to call them twice (the first time they told me to call again the next day before 2pm) to confirm the pick up time and place.

Heidi V

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It takes 3 hours from Mexico City to Taxco by bus but it is worth it. Taxco looks like the cities in southern Spain, something that you would not expect to find in Mexico. The stop in Cuernavaca is too short.

Petra K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Nice tour. It would be great to have more time to visit Taxco.

Zike Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

yeah

KANYA S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Taxco is an interesting and small hill town. The route to the town is itself very interesting and shows the country side of Mexico well. However we were not taken to Cuernavaca at all though we were promised even on the way back when we stopped to fill gas which was highly dissapointing. We were given one hour free in Taxco after lunch which can be reduced to half and hour and shown Cuernavaca. Otherwise trip was fine with many silver shops to visit and good cathedrals to see.

Yu Ying W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

Taxco is very beautiful. Unfortunately the tourist guide made us stay in the appointed souvenir shops for shopping that consumed most of our time that we found not enough free time to walk around in city. Plus we spent an hour to wait another customer which never showned up, who didn't really belong to our tour.

Adriana P Costa Rica

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

The trip is exhausting, it is long and hot. But it is worth it, as Taxco is one of the most beautiful little towns on earth, comparable to Peruvian Cusco and even Italian villages in its strong arquitecture style and identity. Sterling Silver is not as inexpensive as it used to be as the local silver mines are now closed, but stll a stron comercial spot, with a lovely vew, a magnificent church and even worth staying a few nights and taking a several days long tour if you have the time, you will never regret going to Taxco. Our guides were very friendly, funny and they really aim to please. there is a short stop in cuernavaca on the way to Taxco where you get to see a medieval church and monastery, which is pretty surprising to find in all colonial Mexico. The food at the place where we stoped for lunch was terrible though. It was a buffet composed by several dishes like pasta (completely bland) and cold mashed potatoes and a few meats, the Pok thoguh was very good, and the view from the restaurant almost makes up for the terrible food, but when in Mexico you expect to eat some tradictional dishes, not cold pasta and chicken. They really need to upgrade the food in this place, or just order from the menu, for the love of god don´t spoil your lunch by eating that terrible food. The van was not comfortable, it was crowded and could have been more spacious, it was very tiring to travel these distances without having enough space to stretch your legs. The trip is still worth it, but the basic comforts must be upgraded.

Mehmet C

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

pıck up took too long. some people were not ready we had to wait in a small bus for 20 minutes.

hilda1295

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Again, our tour guide was late, but not as late as before. It was Javier. He took us to Cuernavaca and then Taxco. They are both beautiful towns. We had lunch at a restaurant in Taxco. Expect to pay around $15 per person for a meal. Also, they include gratuity if you sit in a large group. We had a very interesting group. It was a fun experience, but I did make evening plans that we missed (purchased tickets to the opera for two) because we were grossly late. We got back to the hotel after 9pm. Always expect delays in this city. And, don't make any evening plans before hand. Worth the trip though!

Stephen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

This was an interesting trip but the bus was very uncomfortable, especially for such a long trip and, as it was a small minibus, we could not see much from the windows when Sergio pointed out places of interest.
Although this was a trip to see the silver shops in Taxco, in the three shops that Sergio introduced us to, we felt under pressure to buy. This should not happen as it takes out enjoyment of browsing. Passengers should be allowed to go where they please and not be directed by the driver where to shop. This trip was of almost 14 hours duration and we felt it could have been undertaken in a shorter time frame.

Robert B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Taxco silver prices are cheap cf. Aust. jewellry shop prices. But tour guide slept a lot of the way there and never offered information along the way except if awoken and asked a question. The driver would have made a better guide for those who could speak Spanish. 3.5 stars is an average of what we saw (5 stars) and the guide’s contribution. Had sufficient time in the places to see cf. souvenir shops (no issue there). Would have preferred a suggested lunch venue offering a more genuine mexican cuisine, although the place chosen was good value with ambiance.

Richard H USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Beautiful cities "spoke" for themselves. The guide was not as engaging and seemed more interested in promoting shopping in Taxco.

Mirna

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Cuernava and Taxco were amazing places I thank the tour guide for taking us there, what I did not like is that he was taking us to the most expensive silver shops and did not give us much time to visit the smaller business ones. Sight seeing was amazing!!!

Yvonne D Germany

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

I was a little disappointed because the only thing I saw from Cuernavaca was a cathedral but we indeed got good information/ Howver, in the description of the program it was written that we would be given a short sightseeing tour of Cuernavaca, too. I had hoped to see more of the city than a church. We spent most of the time in Taxco, more than I had wanted to spend there. It is a pretty little town, different because of all the narrow and very steep streets, but it consists mainly of shops where jewelry is sold. If you are interested in buying anything made out of silver it will be the perfect place for you. If you are not that interested in it, well, then I hope you don't get bored too easily. I would have liked the trip a lot better if the time spent in both cities would have been a little more even.

Jose C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Muy regular. El guia no hacia tour ni paseo por los puntos turísticos. Solamente pasaba por sitios de compras. Falta de conocimiento del guía en temas históricos. El manejo del grupo muy malo. El guía muy mal presentado, sin autoridad, nada agradable. En los recorridos de bus no ponen buena músico ni hablan nada durante los trayectos.

Christine S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Good points - We received transportation to a part of Mexico we would not have gotten to see. The driver was skillful. The guide was pleasant. The tour picked us right on time.

Bad points - It seemed like a sales push for us to purchase silver items. We wondered if a kickback was being given to tour company. We were taken to a place for lunch that had horribly expensive food for what it was. The food was the worst food we had on our entire trip. Very poor quality. Actually food was downright bad. The view at the restaurant was good however. Would have been nice if we could have chosen to eat elsewhere. The service at the restaurant was poor as well and the tip was included. The restaurant also did not accept credit cards which we felt we should have been advised of before we began the trip. We wish we would have realized that we would spend over seven hours driving. It is our fault we did not understand how far Taxco was from Mexico City. Almost no time spent in Cuernavaca which is part of the trip we were most interested in.

Best part of trip was the last hour in Taxco where we got to walk around by ourselves and just experience the city. Our family has two parents age 50 and our kids age 20 and 16. This trip may be okay for older travelers, but not for people in our situation.

We also took trip to Teotihuacan Pyramids and Shrine of Guadalupe through Viator two days after this trip. Now that trip was worth the time and money!

The Stratmann Family

Viewing 4 of 5

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 65.99

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2895MEX8

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message