4.5 star rating: Recommended 185 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Milan, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cinque Terre Day Trip from Milan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 185 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice tour....friendly and knowledgeable tour guide....

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Unfortunately we did this tour on 01 August, the day that the majority of Milan residents leave the city for their summer holidays so there were huge traffic delays on the way to Cinque Terra. The trip took over 4 hrs to reach La Spezia and we had to reverse the itinerary as we missed the boat transfers. Cinque Terra is a beautiful area and I would recommend a visit, but for more than one day. This day trip gave us an insight into the region and I would like to return for a longer visit. The tour was meant to take 12 hours but due to the traffic delays, it took 14 hours.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour was great but ferry ride was canceled due to the bad weather. Everyone was disappointed cause it was supposed to be a nice view of villages from the water.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A long day with the trip to and from Milan but the destination was certainly worth visiting. Clinique Terre, whilst crowded with tourists, is something special.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

It is a long day trip from Milan but this trip is worth it. You get a lovely overview of the whole Cinque Terre.
We left Milan at 7am and arrived back at 8.30pm. We did this trip in June and the whole area was very busy but the weather was fantastic. Our tour guide was lovely and very helpful all day. Well worth the long day so plan ahead and give yourself a spare day after.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

First let me say that Franco did a bang up job under difficult circumstances. The trip involves the use of a lot of public transportation, much of it crowded. Our weather was also a little wet . Having said all that...if you are physically up to shifting around on a moving boat to get a good look at the coastal hamlets, thumbs up. It seems to be a difficult coastline to visit and is extremely popular for reasons that are obvious once there. The trip from Milan is a quick and efficient way to check this off your bucket list. As nice as it is though it is probably worth a longer look.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great!! Will do it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great trip. The only thing wrong is that we weren't able to see it from the ocean because the water was choppy. That was really why I booked the trip. Our guide was great however

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Enjoyable

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

an unusual experience from bus to ferry to walking to train connections all in one day to get a good overview of what Cinque Terre is all about. Tour guide very good about caring for her group.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was very well organised but for us coming from Lake Como it was a bit to much in one day.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide Sonia was excellent and very informative of the history and geography of the area. She also kept the group together and was very professional and organised the group very well. Only disappointment was it was very crowded at the two villages we stopped at and disappointed that the description of the tour on the website should be updated as the lovers walk was closed since 2011.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Great trip!!! The bus was very comfortable. The Cinque Terre is absolutely gorgeous and well worth the trip. I am sure everyone would agree when we say we just wished we could have stayed longer, but we got to see a lot in one day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The five lands, leaving MIlan by bus we arrive at one of the five villages, from there we took a very comfortable boat which serves as a Hop-On-Hop-Off boat between villages, we stopped at all five villages to disembark and embark passengers. Once at the last villages we disembrak and spend the day walking, eating and more eating those Italian chocolates. On these villages time stood still although we spend just one day but is worth it to spend several days in the area, since for transportation you have the boat, you can walk or get the train between some the villages. It was a very good enjoyable tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We found there was too much free time.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A fairly long day with the travel distance. The colours were not that grea on an overcast day, and we did not have alot of time anywhere especially on our last stop on the main Terre. Our tour guide was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was a great trip. The guided as well as alone time offered a nice mix of activities.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Overall it's well organized. Be prepared you have to spend 6-7 hours on the bus. Cinque Terre is beautiful and we got spend around 2 hours in total in the towns. The other option is to take the train which I think is more comfortable than the bus.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Interesting look at pretty fishing villages--kind of 'touristy'.
Tour guide was very good.
Had to rely solely on train travel as bad weather prevented the boat ride portion of the tour...the boat ride portion turned out to be an integral portion of the trip--obviously not Viator's responsibility.
The relationship of 'time-over-target' to the effort necessary to reach Cinque Terra should be taken into consideration.
Long trip from Milan for a 2-3 hour visit....

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Worth doing once the boat trip is the best way to see the towns very touristy but our guide did a great job

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Long day but the scenery is well worth it. Only drawback is the ferry trip is too overcrowded together with other groups

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We took the Cinque Terre trip on May 9,2013 with a group of 22 other visitors. The tour bus and director were very good, and the scenery was beautiful! However, there were so many people in the small villages that you couldn't move. Thankfully our guide made lunch reservations as every seat in town was full. As my husband said, it looked like someone kicked over an ant hill! This beautiful spot has been so overrun with tourists that we were glad to leave. There was no opportunity to shop due to the crowds and little time to navigate through town. Perhaps this tour should operate on another day or at another time. It was a very long and tedious day. Even our guide was surprised by the crowds but did a good job of keeping the group together and on a timely agenda. Would not recommend this in the summer or during peak tourist season!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Fantastic day trip albeit a very long day (13 hours or so) involving coaches, boat and trains. The guide was great and also gave a very good geography talk about Italy on the way. That helped pass the time as the initial coach trip was 3 hours duration.
Visiting The villages was like going back in time and it was a pity we couldn't go for a walk due to landslides but as it was raining it probably didn't matter. Great day but I wish we could have stayed longer!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

If you don't have your own car, this is an excellent way to visit Cinque Terre. Bus is comfortable, guide interesting, provided just the right amount of info. Great Day Trip. We found a restaurant for lunch right on the beachfront in Monterosso, had decided not to follow the crowd. Tour gives you a good introduction to this lovely area of Italy.

Cath
Austria

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

The tour guide was very helpful and kept the day organised and interesting.The day itself was a very full agenda but well worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed the views, the walk from one village to the next and ate at the recommended restuarant. Very enjoyable day.

From USD $ 135.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2872ZV13

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message