4.5 star rating: Recommended 626 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Milan, Italy
  • Duration:  12 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 626 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Susan A
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fabulous tour! A prompt start at 7am, a wonderful guide, a comfy luxury coach and scenery to die for made for an outstanding and memorable day. Drove past Lake Como, wow, then through N Italy and a great coffee stop then reached Tirano where we had an hour free time, enjoyable in such a pretty town. An optional group lunch ( this wasnt so great....average food, upstairs of a restaurant, rather dull )...then onto the Bernina Express. This was simply amazing, a 2 hour train trip of magical, out of this world views, passing villages, lakes, glaciers, through mountains and forests and onto gorgeous St Moritz. Then free time to explore, sadly hopelessly too short... only had 40 minutes!! So a little taste, then back on the coach, and again sensational views driving through mountains and villages, over passes, and after the last coffee stop, a stunning sunset over lake Como, and a long comfy drive we returned to Milan by 8.30pm, exhilarated and enthralled by all we'd seen and experienced. An amazing tour and highly recommended, one of the best we've ever taken.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well organized. The tour guide was very friendly and informative. We really loved it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

awesome, loved the trip, well worth the money, our guide was great and even the trip back to Milan was impressive going down the west side of Lake Como.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Breathtaking train ride to the alps.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Train ride from Tirano, Italy to St Moritz was truly a remarkable and unforgettable experience. Both Tirano and St Moritz are interesting stops. If I could recommend finding a way to spend more time in St Moritz and less time in Tirano that would be my only change. The bus driver and tour guide were great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved our tour of the Swiss Alps
I would recommend this tour to anyone and everyone. Sonia was our tour guide. She was informative without being over the top with information. The views were unbelievable. Worth every dollar. I would go again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Outstanding tour. Absolutely beautiful scenery. Worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was my favorite tour we had done on our 2 week trip. The ride from Milan to Turino is long but the views are gorgeous. You do get to stop halfway and have a quick breakfast. In Turino you are left on your own for a bit and we walked around then had lunch. Then you get on the train for the ride up the alps. Be sure to have your cameras ready as the windows roll down and you can get some fantastic photos.
Once you reach St. Moritz we had about an hour (should be a little longer to see it all) but really it is expensive stores to go in. The lake there is gorgeous. I did go into the chocolate store and bought some chocolate.
Going back to Milan you take the bus from St. Moritz down a very winding road which is fun and you do see a beautiful waterfall along the way.
I found it worth every cent like I said and I hope one day I can get back in the winter and do the trip as it snows.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing! We had the best time on this tour! Beautiful scenery and just absolutely breathtaking views
The train ride was amazing but the drive back on the bus was exciting we had the best driver who was able to manoeuvre down the winding roads
Highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing and romantic... Would highly recommend and more than likely do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

very nice trip .
the guide was helplfull , caring and very knowledgible

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I would highly recommend this tour to everyone. The guide was great and very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful trip - scenery was amazing. The tour was in English and our guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Spectacular scenery, tour very well organised, great guide, and time to relax a=nd enjoy the day. Would recommend to anyone in the vacinity with the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The itinerary went as scheduled and we were informed and guided as we went along. Everyone on the trip was friendly and good. Ultimately the best aspects of the day were seeing the mountains and countryside and also St Moritz when we got there - Switzerland is truly an amazing place. As the train made its way further along more of the general public got on the train so it became more crowded so a bit more difficult to see as clearly and take photos but it was no big deal for me personally. The guide said we were lucky as it was a beautiful sunny day, all day, so everyone was very happy I think. I would recommend this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

If you have a full day (13 hours) to devote to seeing the most beautiful scenery, quaint villages and mountain vineyards and orchards, beautiful churches and an unbeatable mountain pass train ride that takes you within a 1/2 hour stroll from ancient glaciers and lakes, this is the trip for you. Bus coach return on a different route kept the entire day full of new sights. A picture-taking dream. Highlight of our
European trip. The group leader was well informed but didn't overwhelm us with information and constant chatter. A must see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is the second time I have done this tour - the first was in 2005. This time I did it with my husband and two English friends and enjoyed every minute of the tour. We were able to sit on the left hand side of the second to last coach of the train so we could see it going around the bends. Time spent in Tirano with a tour of the old town and St Moritz where we had time to buy chocolates was just right. St Moritz in summer is dead but at least the chocolate shop is open.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great experience well worth doing however on the day we took the trip, low mist and cloud prevented good photography. Apart from that, a thoroughly good tour well worth the cost.

Bob and Chris. New Zealand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was absolutely fabulous. The guide was full of information, and very friendly. I am so pleased i decided to go. Worth recommending!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Such a great tour! A long day but well worth it. The views were breathtaking. When heading on the bus, sit on the left hand side if you can, as this is where you get the best views of Lake Como etc.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing trip! Eddie was very knowledgeable and he went above and beyond to make sure we were all comfortable on our trip. Our group even had our own car on the Bernina Express!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!! Fantastic tour!!!! TRAIN RIDE IS THE HIGHLIGHT!!! St. Moritz, out of season, many shops are closed. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent day trip with spectacular views. Franco the guide was excellent. The train is amazing and the 2nd class carriage they choose with it's opening windows is far better than the 1st class carriages, with panoramic but fixed windows. I got some amazing photos. The bus drive back was unbelievable as well and our hats go off to the driver. I've never seen a road with such tight hairpin bends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

On time departure from Milan. The Swiss Alps are breathtaking. Our tour guide Laura was very friendly, knowledgable and kept the commentary interesting. We made several rest stops along the way. This allowed us the opportunity to use the restroom, have a snack or just stretch our legs. Ernesto proved to be an excellent driver as he maneuvered hairpin turns driving downhill. Unfortunately it was raining by the time we arrived in St Moritz and this put a damper on the time spent. Going by train and returning by bus allowed different views of the Swiss Alps....breathtaking from all sides.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth the money, outstanding scenery!

From USD $ 144.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2872ZV15

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message