4.5 star rating: Recommended 136 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Milan, Italy
  • Duration:  14 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Venice Day Trip from Milan. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

I was really impressed by the tour. Our tour guide was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely go on another tour like this!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

This was one of many trips we arranged with Viator. We enjoyed them all, especially Cinque Terre!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

Great trip, good amount of time exposure to Venice. The water taxi over and back was very scenic.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

It was great for a glimpse of Venice. Would love to come back and stay a bit longer!

Nicola G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Gondola trip is extra and is a must!

Michael T
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Excellent tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Bus was very comfortable and spacious! Franco our tour guide spoke good English, funny and nice. 3-hour bus ride w/rest stop in between. In Venice, you take a boat to mainland (20 minutes). Beware, Venice is very crowded! Local tour guide was boring, she talked too much and glass blowing demo was great!

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Easter Day, holiday very crowded...

Liza S
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We did not want to stay in Venice during our nine week trip...just too much luggage but we had to see so thought that this day trip from Milan would be a good way. I am happy that I did it because I'm not sure that I could have navigated the day trip on my own via train?? However, it's a long day. When I read the website I got the impression that we boarded the bus and traveled for 2 hours and we would be there hy 9.30am. No. The bus ride alone is 3 hours and then there is the boat ride to the islands so arrive around 11am...departing 4.30pm. Factor in a walking tour, a glass blowing exhibition, lunch and a gondola ride and there was very little free time. A very long day...home 8.15pm.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Good tour to Venice. Very well organised and on time.
Bus tour guide very accommodating and knowledgeable.
Tour at Venice was a bit short - but to be expected with such a long drive.
Overall a good experience.

One point to note - the boat trip from St Marks Square back to bus felt a bit overloaded. This is more a safety concern than comfort.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Nice trip though the journey from Mlan to Venice is pretty long (3 and half hour). Venice gets extremely hot and humid in summer so dont forget to bring your hats and sun lotions. the guide Sonia was wonder, special thanks to her. ALso the walking tour guide in venice was extremely knowledgeable. No rushing or running.
Only draw back was that due to long journey form Milan to venice, the stay in venice was pretty short. The tour starts at 7.00 am and for those who are staying away from castello and wish to catch the Metro to get to the starting point need to be quick as the Metro only starts after 6 am.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Luckily I came to Venice to shop (as I have already been there twice before), because the tour guide we were given seemed very uninterested in his job and I felt sorry for those travelling to the island for the first time. He didn't explain the history of the place and basically left us there. It is a very long day with 6 hours in the bus. Also wouldn't recommend travelling in August as it was incredibly hot.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It would be perfect if more time were given to explore the city.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The weather was bad and the city was so crowded. The tour itself was OK.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

It a very tourist place, food is also expensive .But the place is nice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Good day trip to see Venice for the first time especially for single female traveller. Only grouse was the travelling is too long (6 hours from Milan). Walking tour was too brief.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

I really enjoyed Venice. Unfortunately the rain was so heavy and most establishments would not allow people to stand inside near the docks and we were soaked to the skin.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

This is a very long day. The tour guides were great and the guide doing the walking tour in venice was interesting and was not rushed. The trip to the glass blowing demo is worth it. On the day the crowds were huge but I guess that is typical Venice. We went on a Sunday and St marks was closed in the morning and the queue very long in the afternoon, we also got caught in Sunday evening traffic coming back into Milan which added 2 hours to the journey. If you are going I would avoid Sundays.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Logistics and bus very well organized. However, tour in Venice was too brief, with a viist to a store where Murano artifacts could be bought; that time should have utilized shwoig more of Venice. We went on our own at a later date (by train) and enjoyed better the city

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Venice is just full of too many people, very noisy and dirty.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Interesting Day Trip from Milan. Since it was a long ride the Bus did have a stop both ways.
Guide in Venice gave us lots of info .(Outside of buildings only.) Easy to hear as group was small, and she had a microphone----but jammed with Tourist.
Had a Time change so some missed the Trip. This happened to us once, so now we make special note to check before leaving home. I wish Viator could notify somehow. I did send an e-mail to Viator requesting confirmation of time change--- but did not get a reply. It's difficult if you don't speak the language and are concentrating on your itinerary.
Take Gondola if you must, but such a traffic jam---it was not the relaxing jaunt you expect.
Murano Glass blowing demonstration was a waste of time, but again I know these "Shopping " opportunities" are part of the Deal. Skip if you have seen one before.
Finding that no Pamphlets are" Free" anymore, so bring a Map for most Attractions and City's
Just so little time, but isn't that just the way !!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Tour was just okay. Guide was not organized at all.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The city is beatiful but on such short time a few activities could be suppressed in order to enjoy the city more. Amongst them, the glass 'factory'. It should be optional at best. And the gondola ride is highly overrated not to mention over-priced. You could hire it for less than the tour guide.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

It took 3 hours to get to venice due to a 30 minute stop for food. The place we stopped was so crowded. The whole parking lot was full of tour buses, and everyone was pushing to get to the bathroom and grab some food. This should been explained to us so we could prepare for the shoulder to shoulder experience. Half of those waiting for food to understand the process of paying for your meal at one place and taking your receipt to the counter for food. All of this should have been explained along with some survival tips to at least allow us to laugh at this horrible experience. We spent more time walking and stopping just to make sure the tour guide had all the group instead of learning about the city. I booked the trip since I was afraid of getting lost in venice. I wish we had done this without the tour. Just go for the day and stay along the coast if your afraid of getting lost. Everything is right there anyway if your just going for the day. Lots of gondola trips and cafés right there. It was neat to see and ride the gondolas, but that is it! Glass blow thing was a waste of time. It was very rushed and I have never been so hot in all my life in that tiny room!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

I SAW VENICE THAT I WAS DREAMING TO SEE BUT I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED. VENICE IS NOT WORTH VISITING!!!!

From USD $ 144.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2872ZV12

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message